We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Alpbach”
Review of Haus Sonnwend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haus Sonnwend
Ranked #2 of 46 Alpbach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Haus Sonnwend is certainly THE place to stay in Alpbach. Bang in the centre of the most beautiful village in Austria, Gitti makes you so welcome. Her breakfasts are legendary and nothing is too much trouble for her and daughter Sophie. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: At the front facing the mountain, on first or second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolineh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Haus Sonnwend
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

All the ingredients to allow you to relax and enjoy your holiday. This is however, for real - unlike many claims made by the leisure industry...
A superb host who remembers your name, what is important to you and pours a wonderful schnapps on arrival. Surroundings that are both traditional and up-to-date as they can be. Powerful wifi, organised and well-considered spaces. A venue in the centre of this working and truly pretty, Tirolean ski village.
High quality, fresh produce provides a sumptuous pre-skiing breakfast.
Bookings for restaurants and taxis made on your behalf and the whole village knows when Gitti calls - it happens.
You know when you arrive all will be under control and all you have to do is unpack and go ski - a rare peace of mind these days...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Another wonderful week with Gitti at Sonnwend. Have stayed here many times and have always felt spoilt and looked after. The rooms are spotless, mainly large and comfortable. All on- suite. Some are set up for self catering, but with an amazing buffet breakfast choice including "speck mit ei", scrambled or various omelets.

Gitti will happily book taxis or sort out any other of your needs whilst there. The rooms at the front and the lovely south facing veranda have wonderful view of the Wiederberger Horn and the Inner Alpbach valley. the House itself is pretty much in the centre of the village with all amenities very close by.

You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Front, South facing rooms have great views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent 9 wonderful days in the splendid Alpbach and Haus Sonnwend seemed the perfect place for us. Gitti, the owner and the soul of the house, makes you feel at home (or better... :)...) every step of the way. The place is very clean, the rooms are spacious and have lovely views of the mountains, the breakfast is wonderful, free wi fi . We would recommend it to anyone wishing to spent some time in Alpbach. Thanks once again Gitti!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank bebelutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If only other hotels looked after their guests like Gitti does. The genuine attentive and warm service throughout is fab, the rooms very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was relaxed and yummy. Our family including teenagers enjoyed our stay hugely.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Sonnwend is easily the best place to stay while skiing or walking in Alpbach. Gitti's care and dedication to her guests is truly fantastic. We have stayed at the Sonnwend every year in our ski trips to Alpbach, in our latest trip we stayed in one of the Sonnwend apartments and it was superb. Very well equipped, spacious and light. The changes made downstairs to the reception and ski room take the Sonnwend to the next level. I can't wait to come back to Alpbach and the Sonnwend next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Sonnwend's greatest asset is owner/manager, Gitti, who combines efficiency and energy with warmth and friendliness - and a delightful sense of humour. She knows how to make guests feel comfortable and welcome and she does it to perfection. (Gitti speaks perfect English.) Her attention to detail ensures the rooms and apartments are practical and appealing. We spent a few days in the small but compact apartment on the top floor with its own balcony. The bathroom is spacious with double vanity basins and heated floor. Then we had over a week in the new ground floor apartment. Although close to the road the insulation is very good and we were not disturbed by outside noise. Plenty of storage, full kitchen, spacious bathroom with heated floor. Very comfortable beds. The whole house is sparkling clean and attractively decorated with the traditional Austrian accent on wood. After weeks of travelling we were pleased to be able to use the washing machine, dryer and drying room. Breakfast was my idea of perfection, all fresh, tempting and, where possible, local produce. Meats, cheeses, muesli (with optional additions of pumpkin, sesame and sun flour seeds etc) fruit, freshly baked bread, local jams, eggs cooked to your liking, tea, coffee - including cappuccino. The guesthouse is right in the middle of the village. Free and very effective wifi. The whole two week stay met all our expectations and exceeded them. We will definitely return. It is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alpbach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boglerhof
Hotel Boglerhof
#1 of 9 in Alpbach
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rossmoos Gasthof
Rossmoos Gasthof
#3 of 46 in Alpbach
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bergwald
Bergwald
#1 of 46 in Alpbach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Sonnwend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Sonnwend

Address: Alpbach 244, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Alpbach
Price Range: £72 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Sonnwend 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haus Sonnwend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing