We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great for a return to ski-ing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantikhotel Boglerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Alpbach
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great for a return to ski-ing”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

First off and having read some of the reviews: to clarify about 'Romantikhotels'. In the bar we found a comprehensive history of the hotel and (with my school-German) I learned that the word Romantik tends to mislead English speakers. It is more (I think) about the heritage and atmosphere of the place, and certainly does not mean it is especially suitable for couples. That said, as a couple we DID enjoy our stay. It is very family-friendly and, if we had not been out ski-ing all day, we could have become tired of children running noisily in the corridors. But they were not doing it at night, so no problemn for us.

My 4/5 rating is definitely a 4+. The owners staff and make every effort to ensure guests are happy. We arrived about 9pm and found a big plate of cold meats, cheese etc in our room - very welcome after tiny food on the plane. Every evening there was something special: live music in the dining rooms, fondue evenings, free drink with owner, or special food like starters buffet (fabulous) or puddings buffet. Breakfasts were great too, lots of choice and every morning a mini-newsletter in English with what's-on, attractions in the area, history of Alpbach etc. (Perhaps some room for improvement with this - and translation of the 24/hr clock, e.g. 03pm just confused more than 15.00 would have!) but a nice touch & marks for effort.

So why not 5/5? The beds were a bit hard for our liking. There was no kettle, so no early morning tea - my husband was disappointed, having brought teabags from home! There is a no-textiles rule in the saunas/steam room, so my new tummy-flattering cozzie was only of use in the pool. Mixed naked saunas: a challenge for Brits I think. But the facilties are there and we did use them. Staff were smiling, friendly and efficient but busy bustling about - not the sort of place where they can stop and chat. On our final night we were woken up by loud noise close by, so the walls must be quite thin but the rest of the week it was fine. If we had been in more in the afternoons the children thundering about would have grated.

Tip re. dining rooms: a table is allocated for the week, but if you don't like where you are sitting on the first day, ask to be moved. We met someone who did this on the last day, a lone traveller who had been all week in with huge noisy groups. But if you ask they will sort it.

Overall it was ideal for us, our first ski trip in 20 yrs for me, 30 for him. We had the spa and pool for those first few days when we only wanted a short day ski-ing. The nursery slope (for our first day) is right by the hotel. It was very convenient for the ski bus. Plenty of intermediate runs for 1 week. Ate too much. Lovely Austrian red wine at dinner. And Alpbach has some nice bars! So very positive, we had a great time in a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the second-cheapest, not the cheapest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDUF, Manager at Romantikhotel Boglerhof, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Liz C!

Thank you for taking your time to send us such a nice and detailled review! We are very glad, that you have spent an excellent stay in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof, which you did fully enjoy.Lovely, that you have even taken your time to read the history of the Böglerhof!

Thank you for giving us a 4+. It is a big pleasure for us and all our staff that you were very happy with all the different areas in the Böglerhof. Certainly we´ll work on our English translations...! At your next visit we kindly ask you to tell us at the beginnig of your stay, that you would like softer matresses - we have different ones to choose for our guests. Further we also have kettles at the reception and will be pleased to bring one up to your room for your early morning tea.

Dear Mrs. Liz C we are looking forward to welcome you again in our house and hope that it will not take another 20 years until your coming skiing trip. We are very much looking forward to welcome you in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof again and remain with kindest regards from Alpbach,
Family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    47
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
124
144
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orkney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Firstly let me say that this is a beautiful hotel.

We stayed here 3 years ago to celebrate our 25th anniversary and enjoyed it very much. We returned to Alpbach this year and booked dinner in this hotel to celebrate our anniversary - what a total let down!

We had booked on a Wednesday night as they told us they had an extensive "Italian style starter buffet" - when we arrived at 8pm it was as though a plague of locusts had swarmed on the buffet, with only a few scraps left.

The main courses were bland in flavour though nicely presented.

WORST of all was the service, no wine list offered, plates left for 20 minutes between courses and it took us over 30 minutes to get the bill and we gave up trying to pay instead we had to walk out to the hotel reception before the waitress even tried to get our money.

if there had been anyone on reception we would have complained but instead we will vote with our feet and wallet and NEVER eat here again. Such a pity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank orkneypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDUF, Manager at Romantikhotel Boglerhof, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear orkneypat!

Thank you for your review and your impressions of your anniversary dinner. It makes us very sad, that you have obviously not spent a very delightful evening in our restaurant. We are deeply sorry for that and believe me, we will work hard, that something like this will not happen again.

It is lovely though that you have had some excellent memories from 3 years ago, when you have stayed in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof and that you are still thinking that the Böglerhof is a beautiful hotel.

Yours, family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

How amazing is this hotel! The food is 5-star, the staff fall over themselves to help you out, Santa arrives on Christmas eve on a tractor!, Christmas is everywhere, the rooms are perfect - we just loved our first white Christmas here. There could not have been a more perfect place to stay. Thanks so much for making our Christmas so special

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92Karen_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDUF, Manager at Romantikhotel Boglerhof, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear 92Karen_C!

Thank you for your review - it makes us very happy, that you have had a wonderful white Christmas...! We did our best and it is very lovely that it has worked out! You came a long way from Australia and therefore it is double nice that you´ve spent perfect winter holidays in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof! Great, that you have fully enjoyed our food, the staff and even Santa Claus.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof and remain with kind regards from Alpbach,
the Duftner family & the Böglerhof staff....as well as Santa...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

In twenty years of visiting ski hotels across Europe, we found this the best one we have stayed in. The accommodation and food are both excellent. There is a lovely spa area, swimming pool and bar, but what sets this hotel apart is the excellent level of service. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDUF, Manager at Romantikhotel Boglerhof, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Mr. Grant W!

We are very glad that you have found the Böglerhof after many years of skiing and would like to say thank you for your visit and lovely review! It is superb that you have liked our staff, the food, the room and that you have fully enjoyed the Böglerhof services! It makes us very excited to hear that!

We hope that we may welcome you again in our house and remain with kind regards from Alpbach,
family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We returned again. Another wonderful stay in the Boeglerhof. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Thank you for careering for my gluten, dairy intolerances, but still making the food delicious. All the facilities in the hotel are great. We will certainly return for another visit

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Viv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDUF, Manager at Romantikhotel Boglerhof, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Viv E!

Thank you a lot for your review! It makes us very happy to hear, that you have had another enjoyable stay in our house the Romantikhotel Böglerhof! It is lovely that you were happy with our staff, the glutenfree meals and all the other facilities in the hotel.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon and remain with kindest regards from Alpbach,
Yours, family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Böglerhof is one of my favourite spots in Tyrol.

Alpbach is a very nice valley and now even offers a rather large ski area being connected to Wildschönau. With most slopes being exposed to the north, Snow conditions are even acceptable in bad Winters like this one is. We've also been there in the summer and there are a lot of activities for the summer, too.

Böglerhof also offers top-notch childcare with a Belgian nanny taking care of children on 6 out of 7 afternoons until late night, and even has a special chidlren dinner (hence keeping the children out of the main dinner area, mostly)

Overall, the staff and management are very friendly, the house is beautiful, and food is of high standards - I can recommend it more than anything in its price range.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 320ies (probably X20ies) have just enough wireless coverage to operate an ipad. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisender020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDUF, Manager at Romantikhotel Boglerhof, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Böglerhof Guest!

Thank you for your nice review! We are very, very happy to hear, that you have spent some excellent holidays in our house - and that you like Winter and Summer in Alpbach!

It is a great pleasure for us, that you have liked skiing a lot and also the staff of the Böglerhof!

We are looking forward to see you again - either in the Summer or Winter - and remain with kindest regards from Alpbach,
Family Duftner & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A charming hotel with excellent service, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff and great facilities in a beautiful village. There was a well equipped breakfast buffet, ample afternoon snacks and excellent evening meals. The lovely weather for most of the week meant I was out most of the time so didn't make use of the spa or gym but enjoyed the swimming pool, (indoor and outdoor). Numerous loungers were available in the pool garden area. The bathrobes and slippers provided were used to get to the pool and were acceptable to wear to collect afternoon snacks. The garden on the other side of the hotel was quieter, also with comfortable loungers and sunshades. My room was at the front overlooking the churchyard, the bells start at 7am - not noticed if the window was shut, but otherwise time to get up and enjoy the beautiful countryside! The only problem I had here was I found the bedroom too warm with no way to adjust the temperature apart from the window. I did have maintenance to try and adjust it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supergranbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDUF, Manager at Romantikhotel Boglerhof, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Supergranbee!

Thank you for your review! We are very, very happy to hear, that you have found your stay in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof "wunderbar"! It is a big pleasure for us that you have fully enjoyed the hotel, the gardens, the pool, the landscape...!!
Kindly come back soon - we are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards from the Romantikhotel Böglerhof,
Family Duftner & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpbach
0.1 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#6 of 9 in Alpbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kirchenwirt
Hotel Kirchenwirt
#1 of 6 in Reith im Alpbachtal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantikhotel Boglerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantikhotel Boglerhof

Property: Romantikhotel Boglerhof
Address: Nr. 166, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alpbach
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Alpbach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alpbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantikhotel Boglerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boeglerhof is more than a place to relax: it combines tradition with modern comfort. Enjoy lovely evenings in our typical restaurants and let our chef pamper you with exquisite menus. A beautiful pool area, romantic gardens, sports program as well as a gym, tennis....is awaiting you. We are looking forward to welcome you! Fam. Duftner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Romantikhotel Boglerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantikhotel Boeglerhof Hotel Alpbach
Romantikhotel Boglerhof Alpbach
Romantikhotel Boglerhof Hotel Alpbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing