We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at Kaiserhof Ellmau”
Review of Kaiserhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaiserhof
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

very well situated hotel on the skiing slopes. Direct access to slopes and Hartkaiserbahn. Superb food (6 course meal evenings, very large choice for breakfast). Super service and very friendly staff. Very clean, but the older part of the hotel needs some updating. Big diversity off wellness treatments.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henkNiederlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

The Kaiserhof is a fab hotel, incredibly friendly, gorgeous food, excellent wine ( always ask Karl for his recommendation).
Nothing is too much trouble, we can not rate this hotel enough. Oh and it is ski in ski out, what could be better. See you next year M

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjgcrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We just came back from hotel Kaiserhof... Everything was perfect!!! Spectacular location, delicious food ( maybe the service at the restaurant was too slow but I guess because everything was prepared expressely at the moment!). Huge and beautiful room... To sum up... Perfect! I miss it already!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gael06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

If you ever need to stay somewhere and want perfect service...this is the place to be! Wonderful location, fantastic cuisine, superb wellness area and indoor pool. Outside is a natural pool with sun beds around it. The staff are well trained and make you feel absolutely at home, friendly and observant.
Frau Lampert the hotel director is just built for her job, she is always ready to offer her guests a happy smiling face, is totally involved and you can tell that she wants her guests to feel 100% comfortable in her hotel. I raise my hat to her and the staff. Thanks for a short but fantastic sojourn.
Richard & Kirsten
Zürich, Switzerland

Room Tip: My advice if you want to have a room with best views, book as early as possible. This is a hot spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnotlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Kaiserhof Hotel in Ellmau during a two week skiing holiday in January 2012. The hotel is located high above the town and has magnificent views of the Wilder Kaiser mountain range.

The hotel rooms are exceptional, the staff are all so very friendly, and the food was as to be expected of a five star hotel. However, we thought the prices of most of the offerings on the wine card were excessive, this opinion is not from a frugal perspective, as we were already lodging in the Kaiser Suite, one of the best rooms in the hotel.

The pool area is of a reasonable size, and is clean, with comfortable loungers. We did not use the spa area although this looked very professional.

This is definitely a genuine ski-out, ski in hotel, although if any of your ski party is hung over or nervous after breakfast, the downhill trip to the funicular lift will wake them up.

Annoying Problems:

1. Our balcony was not cleared of masses of snow during our stay, so could not be used.

2. No real use was made of the fabulous patio area as with other "5 Star" hotels. Check out the Sporthotel Stock (4*S) at Finkenberg to see how this is achieved.

3. The nightly entertainment was of poor quality, if provided at all.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay irrespective of our personal disappointments, and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wishing for a superior quality, genuine ski hotel with great views and very friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Book the Kaiser Suite which has panoramic views of the complete Wilder Kaiser mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

profesional service, good food ( breakfast and dinner), nice wine card ( top Austria sommelier ) a little old and small SPA but they just start with big renovation, good massage, quiet place, in fact very friendly for guests

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Couple45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Only 6 Table a La Carle restaurant Open 3 days a Week.
Only 2 Menu offered but all combinations are possible.
Everything was Perfect!
Nice dishes prepared with fresh Ingredients.
Nice Wine Card As well And a good sommelier helping to Select.
A splurge!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellmau
1.1 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Der Baer
Hotel Der Baer
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cordial Familien & Sporthotel Going
6.3 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserhof

Address: Harmstaett 8, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Price Range: £314 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaiserhof 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kaiserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing