We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”
Review of Hotel Der Baer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Der Baer
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was our 1st visit to this hotel. Although the friends we went with had been before, they enjoyed it even more this time. The new refurbishment is of a high standard, we had a junior suite which was very spacious. The food was exceptional with plenty of choice. With very friendly and helpful staff it made this a very nice and relaxing holiday. The Wilder Kaiser area has much to offer. Already booked for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our 6th visit to this hotel. It may be hard to believe but it just gets better every visit. The new refurbishment is the icing on the cake. The food has always been exceptional and a big thank you to Josef and his team. The family are hands on with a great support from the very friendly staff. All in all a truly lovely place to visit. We have tried many hotels and will continue to do so but cannot imagine anything better than staying at the friendly Der Baer.The area itself is beautiful and has so much to offer for all ages. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Der Bar is an excellent hotel. It is very well run, very friendly with spacious rooms. The food served at the hotel is of a very high standard and very plentiful. The scenery all around is breathtaking and there is a lot to do in the Wilder Kaiser area. I would recommend this hotel for both couples and families. If you push the boat out a bit and go for one of the Fire Place suites, you will enjoy one of the most spacious and well appointed hotel rooms that can be found anywhere. One small practical point, the hotel is about 200 meters up a hill from the centre of the village of Ellmau, while this is no problem for the able bodied it might be tricky for the elderly or infirm visitor.

Room Tip: Fire place suites are very spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have been visiting this hotel on and off for over ten years. We were last there is January this year when it was excellent! After such a nice break we decided to try Ellmau in the summer, I would highly recommend! A lovely relaxing break with lots to do in the area and a surprising amount for children. My daughter is 8 and absolutely loves this hotel and destination. All the food is excellent, my daughter loves to try the many courses and has become a much better eater after her positive experiences at the Der Bear - thank you! The hotel facilities are fantastic with a beautiful spa area, lovely gardens and pool. The bar and restaurant are lovely and you are always made to feel welcome and relaxed. Rooms are brilliant too!

Can't wait to go back and will choose a summer break over winter when everything is quieter. Can't recommend highly enough!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank langshott02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week in August.We have been to many different locations in Austria and stayed in many hotels,not all good.The Der Baer hotel however was truly fantastic.We had a junior suite,very modern and clean.The food quality and service was extremely good as well.It is a family run hotel ,who are very involved and friendly which is a personal touch which we liked.,It made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: room 10 is a junior suite with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda jane and... p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having had such a great time during the winter in Ellmau we decided to go back this summer. Ellmau and Hotel Der Bar did not disappoint again. It was lovely to see familiar faces working at the hotel and quality of the rooms, service and the food were as excellent as the last time we stayed. The design of the hotel is traditional with a bright and airy modern twist. It is situated just a 10 min walk up a hill from the town centre.

The hotel provides a fabulous breakfast buffet catering to all tastes whether you want bacon and eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese or cocopops. At lunchtime a buffet is served in the bar which is available all afternoon to everyone and in the evening they serve an excellent 4 or 5 course meal!

Our daughter, aged 3, was fabulously looked after in the mini club where she was more than happy to play with the other children and take part in craft activities during the late afternoon and have dinner with them at 6pm. This left us time to enjoy the "wellness" or spa facilities which includes a pine steam room, saunas, indoor pool as well as the outdoor pool which has a view over to the Wilde Kaiser mountain range. For us prudey English the sauna can be a bit of a shock as everyone is naked but you soon get in to the flow!

There is plenty to do in and around Ellmau with children including swimming lakes, swimming pools with big slides, hiking (we hired a back pack to put our daughter in), mountain playgrounds at the top of ski lifts (no walking too far with children required!), guesthouse restaurants with small farms where you can pet the animals. We also went mountain biking one afternoon when our daughter was in the Mini Club. No need to be super fit for this as you can take the train up the mountain and just wizz down or rent e-bikes. We also did a hot air balloon ride at sunrise. Wow.

The hotel also organised a trip to their mountain hut (Baren Alm) which we hiked to and were greeted by hotel staff in traditional dress. They served a cold lunch buffet with drinks and schnapps on arrival! There were cows with bells on grazing in the fields around us and mountains as far as the eye could see. I felt like Heidi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Possibly our best hotel experience ever. Ellmau itself is a lovely place to stay, a typically alpine village, but with the dramatic Kaiserwild range as a backdrop. We rented a junior suite which had great views of the mountain. The room was spacious, very clean and tastefully and recently decorated - all to a very high standard. Breakfasts were generous and tasty, with everything on offer from a continental style breakfast to scrambled eggs and bacon. The dinners were sublime, and at €25 to residents (for 4+courses) were a bargain. The hotel is family run with the owners much in evidence around the hotel. The service was excellent without being overbearing. The scale of the hotel also helped, big enough to provide good facilities, but small enough to retain it's family feel.

I would definitely visit again and unreservedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you book a suite ask for one with a patio facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nergelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellmau
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#2 of 15 in Ellmau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel LANDHOF
Hotel LANDHOF
#6 of 15 in Ellmau
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordial Familien & Sporthotel Going
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Baer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Baer

Address: Kirchbichl 9 | Foot of Wilden Kaiser Mountain, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Price Range: £184 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Der Baer 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Der Baer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing