We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alpine Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenpension Claudia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenpension Claudia
Ranked #1 of 31 Ellmau B&B and Inns
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Alpine Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Pension Claudia which is part of the Hotel Hochfilzer, and is located towards the end of Ellmau in a pretty location. The pension is set in its own grounds with comfortable seating and loungers.The views to the front are lovely, and the 'Wilder Kaiser' mountain range fills the stair windows admirably.

The building is of an age but has been modernised, and is clean and welcoming. One mystery is that although there is a no smoking policy, there does seem to be a faint whiff of cigarette smoke when you enter the property. Nothing bad, but strange.

Our room was clean, with Austrain twinn beds, a spacious living area, ensuite facilities and a balcony with a great view. The rooms were cleaned every day whilst we were at breakfast.

Breakfast is continental style with meats, cheese, eggs spreads, great breads and cereals etc. The friendly staff speak excellent English, but as always a little of the local language is met with enthusiasm.

Evening meals are taken at the Hochfilzer hotel, a short walk up the road and you have full access to that hotels facilities, a real bonus. Just ask at the hotel reception and they will advise you.

One point is that there is no real communal area in the pension and in bad weather this means either retreating to your room, or preferably the hotels lovely wellness centre!

One problem my partner had, was the location to the Ellmau Alm, next door which on a Friday had a 'late revellers' problem. I slept through most of it however and it was a one off.

An excellent choice, in a good location. We will be back in January for the Skiing.

Room Tip: The front rooms get the sun and have the benefit of the alpine views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Excellent value Pension in a pretty location toward end of village Evening meals taken at main Hochfilzer Hotel a short walk away - where leisure facilities are also available. Excellent food and choice - with friendly, helpful service. Breakfast buffet served at Pension where there is a pretty garden. The village is set in beautiful surroundings - great for walkers of all ages and abilities. Many other activities/excursions available.
Like myself MANY guests return year after year - appreciating the welcome of the staff - and the "homely" atmosphere.

Room Tip: Single room has balcony and lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornacarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed with my wife for week on an Inghams super late deal. Good option to consider as well positioned in village and has a nice garden surrounding to sit out in. Breakfasts were fine and reasonable choice, whereas the dinners enjoyed in the main 4* Hochfilzer hotel itself were excellent. Service was first rate. Bus stops were located almost outside and opposite the hotel.
Had a really good deal by staying in the Claudia, but at normal tariff rates would be more likely to pay the extra 20% premium and stay in the main Hotel Hochfilzer building.
There is a good consideration by staying in the Pension Claudia in that surrounding lawns and trees made it look very pleasant, but for us there were two disadvantages. Firstly, although our room was large, well furnished and comfortable it suffered a damp problem throughout our stay. Room was positioned at back of hotel,at ground level and despite very warm weather during our week, both bedding and our clothing constantly absorbed quite a high level of moisture. Thought initially, it was because room had been unused, but by end of our week still no improvement. Chose room on basis that it also had a bath and was larger to accommodate 3 people, but suggest the higher level rooms with a balcony probably do not suffer same problem - and extra surcharge is only nominal. The other minor point is that the Pension in being just an easy 5 minutes walk from main hotel, is not a difficulty whilst weather good, but then when rains. Became lulled by a week of sun into not taking coat nor umbrella when going for dinner, but then on our last evening the skies very surprisingly opened up and heavy rain stopped our being able to return to the Claudia for quite awhile. Only once a problem for us, but could be more so in another week.
Ellmau is a good choice to stay, and the now free bus trips between Going and Soll, and up to Hintersteinersee are a bonus.

Room Tip: Avoid having a room at ground level. At the front, with a balcony is the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had the most enjoyable stay at "Claudia", simple, clean, well located pension, rooms are spacious and cheerfully decorated. As we went during high season it was fully booked everywhere, but " Claudia" turned out to be a good choice. Recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YanushkaEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is the second time we have stayed in this part of Austria in the summer.
The hotel was clean inexpensive and with all the facilities (including swimming pool) that you would expect. of a 4star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenHavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Just stayed here for a week, it was fine for a skiing holiday where you are out most of the time. Good points - located right opposite ski school and nursery slopes, rooms clean, decor new (although style a bit dated!), cleaned daily, only two minutes walk to the Hotel Hochfilzer, spa area there is great (12 meter pool, 2 jacuzzis, 3 saunas), evening meal taken at the hotel is good quality (salad starter, soup course, main choice of fish/meat/vet, desert), everyone eats in various dining rooms, waiters are good, drinks are reasonably priced. Free wireless in hotel lobby.

Bad points - no communal area in the pension so if you are not skiing or out the only place to sit is on your bed. We tried the hotel bar a couple of evenings but it was full of children charging around. Hotel reception will give you a travel kettle if you ask so at least you can get a drink as there is no other drink facility in the pension. There is a lot of noise in the corridors, and a strong smell of cigarette smoke even though it is no smoking. Our room was very small (double bed pushed up against the wall so you had to climb over the other person to get out, and one person had to sit on the bed whilst the other dressed then swap over) but there were bigger rooms. Cold breakfast buffet in pension was pretty standard fayre. Evening meal in the hotel was beautifully presented but it wasnt really skiing food - one night we went out for a pizza just to fill up on some carbs!

Chalet is advertised as ski in/ski out. Technically its true but in reality its just a narrow cut out route which crosses three roads. Skied back that way, but in the morning it was easier to get the bus from just down the road to the funicular lift (takes about 30 mins from front door to top of funicular, bus runs every 20 mins).

Ellmau is very small (can walk one end to the other in ten mins) but has four or five good bars (very smoky) and a good supermarket plus the usual sports shops but not much else. Overall I think you could do much better for a little bit more money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank splodgeness999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We are currently staying at Claudia on a ski vacation and I already have many things to complain about. Hopefully management will read this and fix few things. Would like to see some changes while we are still here.
Pros:
Location is magnificent. Right in front of the lifts.
Room is clean, large bathroom with bath tub.
Friendly staff.
Bed is pretty comfortable.
Nice jacuzzi outside, specially when it's snowing. Too bad it fits not more then 5 people.
Cons:
Paper thin walls,you can hear anything and everything that is going on in the hotel. Very noisy place.
Breakfast is very poor. Perhaps the poorest breakfast I ever had in Austria or Germany. Very limited choice of cold cuts and the ones offered are too salty. Poor selection of cheeses, and most of the time, at 9:00 AM selection is never replenished, even though breakfast is seared until 10:30 AM. This morning I found 1 slice of Bree and that was the last of it.
Yesterday at 9:00 they ran out of muesli and when my husband asked for it specifically he was told that there is no more.
The entire selection is very very basic. NO pastry, no fruit.
Even thought this is not a smoking hotel, somebody keeps smoking, stinking up entire place and nobody cares to stop it. I am sure that cleaning people notice the smell.
Claudia is an offspring of Hotel Hochfilzer and dinner is seared in the main hotel. We were told that food is exactly the same for both Hotel and Claudia. However people from Claudia are seated in the different dining room and I am not totally sure if food is the same or not, but we are quite disappointed with dinner. There is nice salad bar, then 2 choices of soups as well as 3 choices for entrée and desert. However portions are so small, if there is a fish, it's 1 small slice. If it's meat, it's perhaps 100-150 grams per portion, totally not enough for a men. Thus most people load up on salad and bread.
We had read reviews which said that this is family owned hotel and the owner talks to people at dinner, which is a very nice touch. We first hand experiences this at the other hotels in Austria and this was one of the things that drew us to this hotel. However, we saw the owner ones in 4 days. Nobody comes to our table and nobody talks to us or anybody else at our dining room.
No internet at all at the Claudia, only inside the Hochfilzer hotel's lobby.

Overall opinion. Not too impressed. Will not stay again. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kisyulja06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ellmau hotels
0.2 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 14 in Ellmau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Baer Hotel
Der Baer Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#2 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alte Post
Alte Post
#8 of 14 in Ellmau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ferienappartements Landhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenpension Claudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenpension Claudia

Property: Alpenpension Claudia
Address: Alte Strasse 4, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ellmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenpension Claudia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claudia guesthouse is in a quiet garden setting about a 5 minute walk from the Hochfilzer Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenpension Claudia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing