We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value ski hotel - homely food and almost ski in / ski out”
Review of Hotel Schonblick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellmau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Schonblick
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay. Booked last minute with Crystal. Like anything depends what you looking for but if skiing and a good nights sleep are what you are after - can't go far wrong here. Not great for nightlife (as out of town) or luxury. The location is about 15 mins walk from town. Downhill going and uphill coming back but was no hassle to is. About 5 euros in a taxi - taxis seem easy to find by the tourist information office. If you cross the car park belonging to the Berghof hotel opposite you get onto a red run which takes you to the main funicular. Not an easy run for beginners but no problem if you can do reds. The ski bus stops outside for those who prefer to bus to the funicular. There are about 16 rooms at the hotel - ours was room 7. Decent size, lots of hanging space, comfy beds, warm, balcony, good powerful shower.....all in all pretty pleased with the room which was clean. The towels are ancient but that was the only criticism of the room. Breakfast was fairly limited to cereal, fruit, cheese, ham, bread and yoghurt. Evening meals were home cooked - generally soup to start, 3 main options (including veggie for evening meal) and a fruit, ice cream or cake dessert. The restaurant is pretty basic but everyone was sat close together which helped conversation flow. 2 nights we ate out and some drinks were then given to us for free when we got out final bill - a lovely touch! We were a little concerned about hiring skis and getting them to the hotel to ski in and out. We ended up just getting a taxi on the first day after we had hired our skis and on the last day when we dropped our skis off. At 5 euros worked out fine. Overall a basic but clean and well located hotel. So quiet at night unlike other places we have stayed in the centre of ski towns. Ellmau is a nice town - a few nice places bar 66 and Chevys good for a drink (or après ski - albeit that was quite sedate!). Mexican was a nice place to eat and we enjoyed fab pizza and pasta before 2pm at memory bar for 5 Euros. We also did the Crystal fondue night (good food) and the quiz night. The ski conditions weren't great due to limited snow but all main runs
open and snow cannons keep the resort going. Was easy to ski to Soll and Scheffau. Black 60 is a lovely wide black - our favourite run of week!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our first real trip abroad as a couple since our children were little. The setting was amazing with beautiful views of the Wilder Kaiser mountain range from the hotel veranda. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, the food was traditional and the atmosphere of the place was friendly - both Maria and Erika were very friendly and helpful. Ellmau itself is a nice sized village - not too big or commercialized but big enough to have a couple of supermarkets, lots of places to eat out and bars etc. We were there in summer and enjoyed using the ski lifts to get to the tops of the local hills/mountains - there are plenty of walking opportunities on either side of the valley. There are lots of restaurants on the summits and if you take young children the area has lots for them to do - there were children's activity parks everywhere ! There is also a swimming /activity centre called the Kaiser Bad just in case you have a rainy day !
We took the free bus ( the Kaiser Jet) on most days to get along the valley and visit the other little villages which we found very useful. We spent a lot of time hiking and walking around both sides of the valley - there are leisurely walks for those who want an easy day or have children with them and more strenuous walks in the Kaiser mountains for those who want more of a challenge. The hotel is up a hill at the end of the Ellmau , so if your legs are a bit tired after a long day's walking, you can treat yourself to a taxi from the village centre for a mere 6 Euros !!
All in all a lovely place to stay and we would heartily recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

OK. you've read the other reviews, it really is a choice thing. If you want 5* treatment stay in a 5*, if you want a homely, welcoming Austrian Gasthof with friendly people (thank you Erika and Maria) with direct access to the skiing - stay here. Bedrooms very comfortable and you are able to control the temperature so can get it to suit you, comfy beds with super fluffy duvets made for great nights sleeping (or was that all the skiing). Breakfast is adequate to set you up for the day and we really enjoy the food up the mountain so were not too full for that at lunch. Evening meals start with self-service salad option, followed by soup then a choice (made at breakfast) of 3 homemade main course options including a vege one, plus a light desert. Favourites: chicken, vege pizza(homemade), apfelstrudel on last night!! The meatloaf is something of a misnomer as it is more like spam - just so you know. You can sit and drink and chat at tables for as long as you want - do try the Austrian black/red wine. Dinner sounds early 6-7 but it worked fine after a hard day on the slopes. It gives you time to relax and drink or walk into the village (yes you may want a taxi back - we paid €2 each, 4 of us). If you run up a bar bill in the hotel be aware that you will need to settle it in cash on your last night. We met some really nice people and as Erika noticed we chatted to them on the first night she put us with them on the same table. Do be aware if you travel as 2 you will be on a table with others, worked well for us as we made new friends, thank you Erika. We had a corner room(6) with double aspect windows - great for watching the mountain change colour as the sun faded away. There is a hair dryer and although no room safe the bedside drawer had a lock and removable key. As with most Austrian hotels they do not supply soap so bring a bar with you. Rooms very clean and cleaned well every day. It is so quiet we were awoken by birdsong!! Be aware that the balcony runs continually around the hotel with no barriers so other guests can wander past your windows - bit of a shock if you are changing - for you and them! We walked into and village 4 times and back twice, it's doable and a good stretch for the legs. The location is magnificent for ski in and out, which is why we chose it. It is a red run and the first day people looked a tad nervously at the little link onto the slope - but it is fine just not for beginners. Easy red run down to Hartkaiserbahn or Hausbergbahn chair lift to get over to Going. We did not need the ski bus at all as skied in/out and had own equipment. Good secure ski locker, there is a boot room but we took our boots to our room to dry them - just take them off and remove the snow first. We love Ellmau and this is our third visit, the ski area is vast - remember to note the serial number of your lift pass and enter it in to the skiwelt website (look for skiline section) as it gives you kms covered and elevations etc. we had a great time atbthis hotel and will return. Previously we stayed at the Sporthotel which is great too but we will return here not there, why? The location being up the mountain with direct ski access, restaurant here is warm not hot, this amount of food suits us better, no road noise, we like walk out some evenings and after skiing we are happy with less facilities. What did we miss from the Sporthotel - oh yes the heated boot rack!

Stayed: February 2013
4  Thank KasSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Have just returned from a week, staying at the The Schonblick. This was the first time in Austrua for 30 yrs and I travelled with family and friends. The hotel itself itself is what ii would interpret as quite traditIonal. It was spotlessly clean and felt very homely and welcoming from the start of our holiday. The bedrooms were all different and although I think we had prob one of the smallest, it was quite adequate for 2 adults. Again it was spotlesly clean with lovely comfortable beds, plenty of storage and sockets. Bathroom was again clean and modern which was maintained everyday to the same standard. Plenty of hot water for baths. The meals were quite basic I would say to some people's taste but the food was traditional and homely and very enjoyable after a hard days skiing, but 4 courses in the evening and continental with plenty of fruit, cereals etc for breakfast Ericka and Maria worked very hard to meet all of our needs and the standard of service with drinks and food was tops. She was very helpful and gave us plenty of info. there is really nothing negative to say about the schonblick other than the location. It's at the top of a long and steep hill. Beautiful views of the valleys and mountains. if you don't mind a long walk its ok but the ski buses that run are reliable and prompt and get you to where u need to be on time. Alternatively there's taxis which cost approx 5 euros one way down into Ellmau village which takes only 5 mins. Again Ericka was always happy to ring for taxis for us. Location wise for skiing its a lovely place with so many different runs and locations with beautiful scenery. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask Ericka when you arrive. Rooms facing the valley have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WILMA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Wonderful week at the Schonblick, again. Maria and Erica recognised us from last year and made us all very welcome, well worth making an effort and getting to Know them and enjoying their sense of humour, making a great atmosphere for the rest of our stay. Considering all rooms where fully booked and a regular passing trade of locals every evening, this was never a problem for Erica or staff (how hard they work)
The Schonblick is a typical small Austrian hotel, in a superb location, ski out ski in not a problem. There is a regular ski bus (this year it was far more reliable) that takes you down into Ellmau, three minute journey .
The bedrooms are warm comfortable and clean, not all rooms have a balcony.
The food is tasty wholesome and filling, as you would expect typically Austrian (yes we had the peaches) There was a small bar but the majority of drinks where brought to the table.
This is a lovely scenic area very traditional and mostly unspoilt. Overall we had little to complian about, if you do ski down into village for apre-ski, after five you will have to pay for a taxi back up to the Schonblick, for a three star hotel it was all that we expected and more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

stayed at the schonblick ellmau feb 2013.not very good at all.avoid rooms in basement 1 2 and 3.breakfast.no toaster.no eggs.not much to ask for.location.3/4 of the way up a very steep hill,dont atempt to walk up with ski boots on.evenging meal.salad with the odd hair thrown in.main meal cheese on toast followed by pizza with cheese on.resort fine.but would not stay at the schonblick again.not one too moan but this is a 2 star hotel.stayed in austria a lot of tmes worst yet.have fun if you go.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Location was fine with nice views, the room was spacious,comfortable and clean, beds were a little hard but that was expected. Some of the staff were pleasant, but the place lacked atmosphere The food was not very good. It was generally poorly cooked and of low quality. We even had tinned peaches served up. Not that I have anything against them of course. In fact they tasted better than most of the home cooked food. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chianti1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ellmau hotels
0.5 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Der Baer
Hotel Der Baer
#4 of 15 in Ellmau
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel LANDHOF
Hotel LANDHOF
#6 of 15 in Ellmau
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Christoph
Hotel Christoph
#9 of 15 in Ellmau
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schonblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schonblick

Address: Kirchbichl 70, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing