We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a chalet”
Review of Gradiva Apartments

Gradiva Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gradiva Apartments
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Great appartments, very nicely finished and maintained. The bedrooms are spacious which is unusual for ski accomodation and the kitchen/lounge area's are well equipped.

The service is good, you can order fresh bread delivered to your door each morning and the sauna/steam room facilities are again well finished.

We stayed in the penthouse which was very good.

It's slightly outside the main high street but it's no more than a couple of minutes walk to the main cable car.

It's the second time our group has stayed at these apartments and my first time, and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apk_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We where staying at Gravida for a week. The apartments is nice and clean. The sauna area is also fine. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We hired a box in Intersport for the skies and booths, because the apartments is not close to the lifts. It worked very well. There is a kitchen in the apartments, but not a lot of thinks for doing food, we missed basic thinks as a big knife for the bread and a big spoon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed for a pre-season week of skiing at Gradiva Apartments.

Overall, our stay was a very pleasant experience. Gradiva is new and functionally built, just opposite the gas station as you enter the village of Ischgl. It's close enough to walk to two of the gondolas, however, I would always recommend to store your gear at one of depots.

Our apartment had everything you need for preparing a simple meal (kitchenette, microwave, small fridge) so we stayed in most of the time. We enjoyed using the spa and sauna facilities (again functional, clean, very well kept).

Except maybe that Gradiva is no ski-in, ski-out hotel there is very little we missed. Could be a bit closer to town and gondolas, yes, but the price was simply unbeatable compared to many other options in Ischgl.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeenThereAlready_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Positives:
-The penthouse apartment is big, modern, bright, clean. Two floors, the second with a wall entirely of glass. We loved it.
-Entire building is clean.
-Staff friendly
-dedicated Ski Room, for boots, boards, skis, poles.
-across from gas station, good for buying snacks/drinks
-underground parking included

Negative:
-slightly far 10min walk in ski boots to nearest lift. But not terrible.

Room Tip: Penthouse top big apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The Gradiva Apartments are on the eastern edge of Ischgl, on the way in to the village from the Landeck/Innsbruck side. Explaining the layout of Ischgl is hard, and the maps don't help! The village is split by a hill: the Pardatschgrat and Fimba lifts (both gondolas) are on the south eastern side, the main street and Silvrettabahn (larger 20 person gondola) are on the north western side. These two sides are linked by a tunnel which makes getting around easier.

The Gradiva is closest to the Pardatschgrat lift, which is less than 10 mins walk away in boots and skis (most Ischgl accommodation involves a walk). It is possible to ski back to the bottom of the Pardatschgrat lift, but the final section of the slope is steep, and taking the lift down from the top or mid-station is an option. It is also possible to ski back in to the other side of town. Although the Gradiva is situated on the quieter side of town, I think that it may be better for getting up the mountain as the two lifts effectively split the morning queues. There are a number of apres ski spots on the way home: the Icebar at the Hotel Elizabeth, Nikkis, Kitzloch, Tonis. The Billa supermarket is situated just before the lifts and is very well stocked. There is also an Intersport rental shop close by the lifts.

We stayed as a group of 4 in apartment 330. It was spacious with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a living/kitchen area plus a large balcony facing up the valley with a pretty view of the village. I think that it probably is one of the better spots - from looking at the building many apartments do not have as many windows and some I think may be in the lower ground level. I'd recommend checking the plans on the website carefully before booking.

Overall the building is modern with good quality finishes - however some of the apartment fittings are a little bit like office furniture: you can see this on the website pictures. Its all more than adequate and in good condition, but more city apart-hotel than alpine charm! The kitchenette area is small: two rings, microwave, dishwasher, sink and fridge, but well equipped and enough to cook basic ski fodder on. There is excellent storage space, both in the living area and in the bedrooms. The bathrooms are very high quality. In addition, the building is very quiet - we didn't hear our neighbours once.

The apartments have a good sized boot room with heated racks, there is a luggage room and WC/Shower on the ground floor (which we used after a morning's ski-ing the day we left). There is also a "wellness" area (sauna, steam room, showers, kneipp foot baths and relaxation area) - again beautifully fitted out, but remember that the Austrians don't do swimsuits in sauna areas!

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our apartment bins were emptied and some vacuuming done most days which was unexpected.

My only criticism would be that it felt very expensive for a self catering apartment - even taking into account the EUR/GBP exchange rate and the fact we were under-occupying it still felt about 25% dearer than other similar quality places we have stayed. I would recommend the Gradiva, I think it would be a very reliable option, but I'm sure that there are cheaper self catering options in Ischgl.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonStravaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Dont be fooled by the online photos! Yes the spa/Wellness is good and looks like the photos, the staff are friendly, but for that price i was expecting more from the apartments. The furniture is largely very cheap mdf stuff, formica, etc, although the ensuite bathroom was very nice and up to expectation. Bed linen was a good standard but there is not even breakfast included and the word on the ground here is that we should have been getting half board for that price. I've seen other appts more central, more stylish and less utilitarian for that price. And no oven, but had a dishwasher and internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mojitolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We went on a ski holiday in Ischgl with a group of friends and were looking for a comfortable apartment which was close to the lifts. Altogther we were 15 people in the group. The apartment was recently renovated and everyone in the group had nothing but praise for the apartments. We booked several studios, one and two bedrooms apartments. The spa facilities and rooms were very modern and comfortable. Its about 5 minutes walk away from the ski lifts but yet it was quiet in the night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and you had an option to order fresh rolls for breakfast which was delivered to your door every morning. We will be booking the same apartments on our next ski trip to Ischgl. You can check out the photos of the rooms at their website : http://www.gradiva.at

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SelinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischgl hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Albona
Hotel Albona
#21 of 43 in Ischgl
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Alpenstern
Hotel Garni Alpenstern
#30 of 43 in Ischgl
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chasa Sulai
Hotel Chasa Sulai
#18 of 43 in Ischgl
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#2 of 43 in Ischgl
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fliana
Hotel Fliana
#1 of 43 in Ischgl
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garni Angela
Hotel Garni Angela
#17 of 43 in Ischgl
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gradiva Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gradiva Apartments

Address: Dorfstrasse 3, Ischgl 6561, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ischgl
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
Price Range: £119 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gradiva Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gradiva Apartments Hotel Ischgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing