We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Albona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Albona
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent have just got back from spending 10 days at the Albona, on a skiing trip, and everything about this hotel was of the highest quality. The rooms, the service and the food were all outstanding. It is the second time we have stayed at the hotel (the last time being in 2012) and although our first stay was really enjoyable, the hotel has managed to improve their offering, especially in the quality of the food that they offer. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you don't want a basement room (category 1) then select a category 2 or 3 room, which will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambler220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth Z, Inhaber at Hotel Albona, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We would like to thank you for dedicating your time to reviewing our hotel.
We experienced you as very pleasant guests. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Family Zangerl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
24
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have just returned from a ski holiday to Ischgl with three friends.
We stayed at the Albona,and has a wonderful experience.
The owners and staff were superb hosts.I have read some negative comments and can
only assume that the authors have little experience of Austrian people and their manner.
The owners Elizabeth and Andrea if they were approached were very helpful and humorous,however they were very reserved if you did not approach them.
This is typical of Austrian demeanour and is professional and unassuming,it is respectful
of guests who wish to enjoy the hotel and surroundings without interference.Austrian people generally are matter of fact and this may appear to be blunt,but this is not their intention.
We had great fun and banter with them with attempts at communicating in spite of finding the language barrier a little difficult.
We had a junior suite on the 4th floor and it was immaculate.
Breakfast was everything you could wish for and as good as any on offer at any hotel I have stayed in.
We had a very early flight and were treated to a packed breakfast freshly made and left in our rooms the night before our departure.
The service at the bar and prices were very good and were better than many of the surrounding bars.
The location could not be better as the main lift is but a minutes walk away, and the best restaurants and bars are surrounding the Albona.
I have stayed many many times in Austria at different resorts but this is as good an hotel as many of the more expensive on offer in fact probably better.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone,and advise people to make an effort to speak to and engage with the owners ,who are delightful ladies once they realise you wish for them to chat with you and get to know them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells,kent,england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I and a party of friends have stayed at the Albona many times over the last 15 years and totally disagree with all the negative feedback.Elisabeth and Andrea who own the hotel do their level best to always make us welcome.Yes,the hotel has many German speaking guests but , we as Brits have never been made to feel uncomfortable.The food is excellent and the quantities wonderful.Bar prices are typical hotel prices.My first visit there was on a Inghams ski holiday and yes,we stayed in the basement rooms.They are adequate,but I never experienced any noise or smells.After all,you get what you pay for.Since that holiday we have upgraded to rooms upstairs and ,of course,they are more expensive ,but still good value for Ischgl.
The hotel has an excellent location ,a superb new boot-room and wonderful staff ,from the cleaners right through to the bar and waiting staff.Not everyone will agree with my view but thats what Trip Advisor is all about...differring opinions.
Try this hotel the next time you visit Ischgl..you will not be disappointed
David W

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webbski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked this hotel as a ski package. On arrival we found the rooms to be in the basement. There was a constant smell of bins at one time and the sauna at the other. The walls were paper thin and we were kept wake by the noise from nextdoor. We asked for alternative rooms and were told we had these because we had asked for a bath- not the case!
There was a charge made for tap water and a fizzy drink came flat and was sent back. It was not replaced. The food was poor.
At the end if the week, we were charged for wi fi usage. When this was queried it was reluctantly refunded. The flat drink was charged for. When I queried this, the waiter was summonsed and told me he had replaced the drink. In light of the rudeness following the wi fi issue , I just paid it to avoid further rudeness.
Clearly the English are not welcome here. It's a shame because the location is good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I've waited a full 24 hours since returning from an Inghams ski trip to Ischgl in Austria to try and ensure that what I write is balanced and fair (I own a 90 bedroom hotel and so know how unfair reviews can be!)The hotel had a reputation - or at least its spinster sisters Elizabet and Angela did and our stay got off on the wrong foot long before we arrived at the hotel when our resort rep handed us 10 welcome packs for the 11 rooms we had reserved and paid for.....She was so worried that she came in to the hotel and spoke to the hosts herself - they were rudely absolute in their assertion that they had not made a mistake (and in fairness the error was on the part of Inghams who have finally undertaken to provide a full refund for the room which was paid for but not provided)I was particularly saddened by the fact that I had taken the trouble to provide them with a rooming list a week before our arrival showing number of rooms, details of sharers and full passport details - this was totally ignored, they had the list on our arrival but clearly had not even bothered to contact InghamsThere were no spare rooms anywhere in resort so one couple had to split up and two twins had to become triples - not the best of starts - not the hotels fault but frosty, hard faced, blunt and in total contrast to other guests who received a warm reception, welcome drinks and chocolates.The difference? These were German (or at least German speaking)The week progressed in much the same vein - I could write a book but will concentrate on the highlights:*very expensive bar - not the least bit welcoming to our party of 23 - in the end, we would stay out as long as the temperature permitted only then returning to eat*charged €3 for a carafe of tapwater - when challenged, told it was free if we purchased a bottle of overpriced wine from the restaurant, otherwise the charge was for "service"*young lady member of our party was told her shiny tights (worn under shorts) were unacceptable and she should change before she could enter the restaurant*blatently hostile on 2 occasions when party members asked for additional key cards - one of the sisters told one 50 year old businessman that he was a liar when he said he had lost his keycard in the sauna (it was later found there)*pursued party members on the odd occasion that a drink was missed from the tab (error of the staff not our party)*shouted openly at their own staff who generally were excellent (we gave them a tip on our last night - it was amazing how grateful they were)*were totally disinterested in our party on departure - we did receive our "food packages"the night before - these included ham sandwiches and were left in a warm room until collected. Parties in other hotels were offered a hot drink before departure I got a terse message to make sure the party left their keycards on the reception desk.The hotel itself is well appointed, clean and modern.However it is seemingly not for the Englishand should be dropped by Inghams Immediately as the owners were scarcely able to conceal their dislike for our party - we thoughtthis the norm until we saw the vastly different way in which the German speaking guests were treated!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endsleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have visited this hotel before and have experienced the bar scam. Due to the popularity of Ischgl and its excellent skiing we were unable to get other accomodation for our party of 23. The positives are, good food, location excellent and Joseph, our waiter a little gem. We paid cash when we ordered our drinks unfortunately one of our party forgot and was charged for 2 G & Ts 2 bloody marys and 2 coffees when he only ordered a beer. Our welcome from the owner was stalag 13 style. The hotel provides a substantial buffet breakfast, and a good five course evening meal. This of course is outweighed by the icy reception from the sisters grim who are very rude. Please do not lose your room key or you will be sorry you did. We will not be going back to this hotel. Our friend stayed in the Martha and had a fantastic time as the staff there could not do enough to make him welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The location is just off the town centre, about 5 mins walk to the main cable car but only 30 yards walk from taking skis off at the end of the day. Ideally situated for the Trofana Alm apres ski bar (you must go, but be there by 4.00 to have any chance of a seat) and the champagnebar.

Now, the hotel. What it lacked was any form of warmth or welcome from the owners who were evidently after every cent. Don't expect it to be smoke free, both the bar and the restaurant allowed smoking. Unlike other Austrian hotels, no afternoon tea and cakes or high tea. No wine included with the meal , and boy do they know how to charge for wine and no complimentary coffee/tea after the meal, and they weren't cheap either, so by the time you've added all those in it's certainly another 150 euros on your spending money.
What you got was generally good. The breakfast was excellent every day, the hotel was clean the room spacious (you get what you pay for) but beware the sleeping arrangements - we were a group of eight men and finished up with four double beds, OK there were sofas that extended into a single bed, but not what we expected.

The evening meal was plentiful but on odd occasions didn't meet expectations (a tendency to overcook the meat). The restaurant staff were good and friendly, well done Fessi, Ziggi and Appi.
The spa is fantastic and a great way to relax at the end of the day albeit that the steam room was one of the hottest I've been in in the world. plenty of towels, two saunas and a hotbed and solarium.

When, and if you book, make sure you double check everything - the lift pass discount isn't worth it if you are going to ski Galtur as it isn't included. Check to see if you have a basement room or one on the upper levels. Also if you order them through the hotel, when you get your lift passes check the dates, one of our chaps had an error and it cost him his ticket depost of 5 euros , no danger of the sisters accepting responsiblity for the error.

Last thing, the best black run in the resort is down into the boot room! Take extreme care if it's the least bit icy or snowy. Once inside it's a bit cramped, they should put a couple of benches in the corridoor to ease the congestion in the morning.

Would I go back there - probably not under the current management, I like to feel welcome and valued and that my custom is appreciated and that I'm not an annoying customer interfereing with the clinical efficiancy of the hotel administration. We did get the sisters to smile once - what a difference.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the upper levels and that you are certain that it is a double or singles you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billpex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischgl hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fliana
Hotel Fliana
#1 of 43 in Ischgl
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#2 of 43 in Ischgl
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Post Ischgl
Hotel Post Ischgl
#5 of 43 in Ischgl
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Arthotel
Elizabeth Arthotel
#9 of 43 in Ischgl
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel Romantica
Schlosshotel Romantica
#23 of 43 in Ischgl
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpVita Piz Tasna
AlpVita Piz Tasna
#4 of 43 in Ischgl
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albona

Property: Hotel Albona
Address: Dorfstrasse 96, Ischgl 6561, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ischgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ischgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albona 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Albona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albona Hotel Ischgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing