We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but make sure you get decent rooms, not the 'english allocation'.”
Review of Hotel Solaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Solaria
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
cornwall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good, but make sure you get decent rooms, not the 'english allocation'.”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Read mixed reviews of the Solaria, so when booking, specified a high floor as previous reviews suggested the street level rooms were small and noisy.
On arrival, we were shown to our room - small and on the ground floor.
We rejected this room and were shown another in the attic, which we also rejected. Reception advised that these rooms 'were allocated to the english package tours'. Eventually paid a premium for a first floor two bedroom suite which was much, much better with lounge/dining room and two balconies.
That apart, our stay for a weeks skiing holiday was very good. The staff were helpful, the restaurant was comfortable with good five course meals and the location reasonably convenient for the lifts up to Idalp station.
Ischgl is a serious ski destination, but not for beginners as the blue runs would be red runs elsewhere. It's very modern with quality facilities and prices to match. The exchange rate from sterling to euros does us no favours though.
All in all, an enjoyable week but make sure you dont get the 'british' rooms.
(English package firms take note).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastyfaceCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    30
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
36
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Upon arrival very impressed as Hotel seemed light and airy, however, after being allocated our room on level -2, accessed via the ski shop our expectations began to dwain. We had to walk past the swimming pool area which smelt unpleasant. Our room was large but looked out on to the main road via 2 windows (no balcony). Cars parked outside (usually 4x4's size) our windows & blocked any view. The noise of the traffic plus passing revellers at 4.00 a.m. meant we could not open our windows but were still woken with the noise. The curtains fell off the rail as there were no stoppers when trying to close them. There was a constant drone every 30/40 seconds which sounded like a mobile phone on vibrate on a wooden night stand (i believe this was coming from the boiler). The food was below 4* standard, the salad buffet was very basic and some evenings the rolls were stale. The dining area was very dark with little or no light. The staff were pleasant and worked very hard but were run ragged in the restaurant. On average our dinner took 1.5 hours. The staff/owners were warm and friendly but this was not enough when faced with everything above.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diveruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

After great time in Italy (Selva) we decided to move to Ischgl, Solaria. We had tiny, stinking room, close to garage!! and ski room on level -2, with some nice very small window. We were there only 2 nights and were very glad to leave the place. Never again!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skier81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Stayed in January at the hotel Solaria in Ischgl. Well we had a brilliant time. Firstly the check in was so friendly that we felt at home. Room was superb. Breakfast large selection and dinner great. If you did not like anything on the menu, you could choose something else. Great job!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone. See it yourself and experience the friendliness and hospitality of the staff as well as family kathrein.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinegroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Booked the hotel following a brief social visit there on an earlier ski trip. A little walk from the lifts but after apres ski at the Hotel Elizabeth it was good to get to a more peaceful area of the village. Very nice hotel - good food and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Stayed here as part of a 2 centre package. Initial room offered was the one another reviewer had - at street basement level, accessed through ski-shop, no view, very noisy and felt like you were not in the hotel! Shifted to an attic room which was delightful, with view of the piste and the spiral staircase was memorable! This is offered at a small discount by the company we used, but much preferable to the standard basement room. The main disappointment was the restaurant. Standard of food significantly lower than other Austrian 4* hotels I have used, more 3*. The dining room is very large due to the size of the hotel but there were never more than 5 table staff on for 150 guests so they were run ragged, but very pleasant and helpful. Felt like eating in a canteen at times however. The bar was rather dark and gloomy with no windows or external lighting. Didn´t use pool/ spa area as always very busy. Couldn´t fault staff throughout hotel, friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_and_k-deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I chose the Solaria, partly on account that it was No1 hotel in Ischgl according to Tripadvisor, and I wanted to go somewhere really good.

The Solaria is a very clean hotel, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are good. I was on the first floor - equivalent of second floor. I wouldn't like a room at ground or lower ground level. The swimming pool was much smaller than I expected. The wellness suite has a number of various saunas, all in good condition. However, I was a little disappointed in the suite - it didn't quite live up to the photographs on the hotel web-site.

The attractive if somewhat strange barmaid Lena was helpful, and the bar was fine for those who didn't want to venture out at night.

The food was a tad disappointing. Certainly from the photo's on the web-site one is given the impression of gourmet level cooking. It's certainly not that. 3 star at best (and I don't mean Michelin!) There was nothing I had to send back, but nothing remotely inspiring. Also DON'T ask them to do porridge in the morning - they haven't got a clue. Wine was excellent but very expensive.

Ischgl itself is famous for its apres - the place is rammed with germans and the bars from 4pm onwards are extremely lively - if that's what you want. The Pascha club at the Hotel Madlein is two minutes walk away. A classy club, excellent DJ and superb sound. Unfortunately it is almost entirely attended by men (it's not a gay club). Fortunately for me on the two nights I attended four lovely polish women from the Solaria asked me to go with them, and we had a great time. Much to the chagrin of the on-looking german and british guys!

Finally, for two weeks it hardly stopped snowing. By the end of the second week you're really begging for some sun!

In conclusion a good hotel, but suprised it's your number 1!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudleyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischgl hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fliana
Hotel Fliana
#1 of 43 in Ischgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#2 of 43 in Ischgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madlein
Hotel Madlein
#28 of 43 in Ischgl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trofana Royal
Hotel Trofana Royal
#12 of 43 in Ischgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brigitte
Hotel Brigitte
#6 of 43 in Ischgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Arthotel
Elizabeth Arthotel
#10 of 43 in Ischgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solaria

Property: Hotel Solaria
Address: Dorfstrasse 39 | 6561 Ischgl, Ischgl 6561, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ischgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ischgl
#7 Spa Hotel in Ischgl
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ischgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solaria 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Griass enk': Tyrolean greetings from Ischgl & the Hotel Solaria! Passion, humour and warmth: a few qualities that pertain to the 4-star Hotel Solaria in Ischgl as well as its team. At least that's what all the many guests say who regularly come to the hotel in the heart of Ischgl in Tyrol in beautiful Austria. And after all, who knows best what's so special about the Solaria, if not them? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Solaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaria Hotel Ischgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing