We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best people and place! :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Auhof

The Auhof
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Auhof
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best people and place! :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wow what a place! Have travelled all over the world but the views from this place over the valley & ski areas are just amazing! And that's not even the best thing either - talk about great customer service from the owners - although we didn't feel like customers as were made to feel more like family :-) Nothing was too much trouble for them from putting the snow chains on our car (we'd never have got the awkward things on!) to skiing with us on the nearby glacier as friends! The most flexible hosts ever experienced! Also they know everybody & everything about the local area it seems so always recommended & found us all the best things to do! Ever since finding the Auhof (by chance) we go back every year & will be seeing them again this season - we recommend everyone else do the same too!! Massive thanks to all the team/family, keep up the good work & we'll see you soon! :-D

Room Tip: All rooms face the valley & ski area and have a balcony so you can't go wrong with any we th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have been to niederau many times before, normally staying in one of the bigger hotels, but the previous 2 winters i have stayed in 'The Auhof'. from now on this will be my first choice accomodation when going back! we have even booked up for a week in the summer so that we can see the village without snow.(and see our friends in the auhof).The owners are very friendly and whenever you have any requests they are always happy to help. they let you know when the road conditions are bad and even took us to the ski lift in the morning and picked us up at the end of the day. we were not expecting this kind of service to be available, its perfect when we wanted a few drinks in the afternoon. the second time we were there was for christmas/new year 2013/14 and we felt so comfortable and welcomed. the newly opened bar was visited most days, good priced beer and cold Jagermeister welcomed us every time.

we cant wait to go back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10andy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Who wouldn't love to wake up to the views over the beautiful views over the valley offered from the Auhof. Couple this with a warm friendly welcome from the owners / managers, shuttle service to and from the slopes if required and all of the other little extras makes for a relaxing break.
As a solo traveller I had a small apartment but even this could easily sleep 3 in comfort. The kitchen is recently refurbished with a proper oven and halogen hob, plenty of storage space and a large fridge. The bathroom was also recently refurbished with a spacious shower cubicle and a large towel radiator to keep the room warm and the towels dry. No sign of any curfew at 21:30 or any other time come to that! I haven't marked fitness centre in the ratings as there isn't one but there is a recently refurbished sauna for all guests to use.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Having stayed in Neiderau previously, we decided to go again over new year, this year we chose the Auhof based on their very low prices, The accommodation was very nice and cosy, perfect for the 3 of us, what really struck me was the friendliness of the owners/managers they were great hosts that made everything easy, they delivered bread daily drove us to the slopes daily, I would defiantly recommend staying here if you want good value, the only criticism of this property would be the location, however they make up for this with the shuttle service provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehutchm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Curfew at 21:30, not later than 22:00 is a must; if you don’t, you will disturb the owners. They make you feel it’s them who make you a big favor to have you there and you can really have the feeling you are disturbing them. The owners does not clean or spread some gravels on his access road (50 m) so, if you have the bad luck to have some snow fall, you are either stuck on the hill or you have to put snow chains 2 times per day for only 50 meters. The rest of the road is OK like in most places in Austria. But I forgot to mention: the owner family is not Austrian, is British. The mountain cabin is very nice, apartments are ok, there is even a bar and a food serving area and also a sauna and some fitness equipment but they are not accessible by the tourists.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuhofNiederau, Manager at The Auhof, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Hello Adrian,
I am the new manager of the Auhof in Niederau. Although your stay was a long time ago, I have read each one of your comments and agree with you, the Auhof has changed under new management. If you would be so kind as to remove your bad review so as not to put other people off the Auhof about issues that have been adressed it would be much appreciated and if you chose to come back for a holiday we would be sure to give you a nice discount.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

Being a family run apartment block, the atmosphere at the Auhof is personal without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and you are made to feel very welcome. I took one of the smaller apartments for myself and two children aged 12 and 9. The apartment itself was cozy and comfortable. The bathroom with shower was roomy and modern with plentiful hot water. The kitchen area was functional and adequate for cooking simple meals - there was no oven just a hob but in the village there are numerous family friendly restaurants to cater for most needs at reasonable prices. Not being a 'ski purest' the village offers slopes for all abilities from extensive nursery slopes - which is good if you have young children just starting out - to challenging black runs. Even during half term week in February there were no big queues to speak of and the ski passes and hire charges were not as steep as some of the major resorts. I would say the area itself is a bit of a gem as it lacks the usual crowds and hassle of the major resorts but still offers extensive skiing. If you tire of the slopes on offer in the village there are at least two further resorts offering further challenges within 10km - easilly reachable on the local bus or by car if you drive which offer a broad spectrum of skiing for all abilities. Up the mountain there are many bars and cafes which again are not over priced for lunches out, coffees, hot chocolate and gluvine as required!
The Auhof is perfectly placed to provide comfortable, good value accomodation which can act as a base to visit both the local slopes and those nearby in the region. In the past I have been on organised package ski trips and spent three times as much money being herded from place to place and standing in queues! Nice touches include a mini bus service down to the ski lift every morning ( we paid 1 euro per person per day), the owner popping to the bakers every morning to get bread, pain chocolate and croissants and the hot tub of an evening (I think there was a small charge).

Fantastic people, fantastic region - we will be going back next year!

  • Liked — Homely, cosy and modern and its location
  • Disliked — It was all fine!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

After skiing in Switzerland for a few years we fancied somewhere different - we have been totally converted and feel that perhaps we should give a bad review so as to protect this skiing heaven and keep it for ourselves!

We drove from England to Austria which although seems a long way was great - the kids measured it in terms of dvd films watched (about 5). The benefit of having your own car was that you can take all you need for self-catering however the owners of the Auhof offer a shuttle service to the village where there are excellent shops including a general grocery store.

The apartments were very clean, spacious and reasonably equipped. We stayed in one of the larger apartments and my initial disappointment of there not being a bath was soon replaced by the delight of a hot tub in the garden! The owners are very accomodating without being intrusive and were more than happy to advise us where to go to eat and other day trips.

The owners offer a shuttle service to the gondola station and the slopes are excellent for all abilities as they seem to have a bit of everything. It is a particularly good place to learn to ski as they have fantastic nursey slopes and one of the best ski schools I have come across in all my years of skiing. Infact the whole experience of the family-run apartments to the friendliness of everyone in the village has made this a firm favourite with all the family. We will be skiing here again next year and hopefully the year after if they'll have us!

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SamHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.8 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#9 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apparthotel Talhof
Apparthotel Talhof
#1 of 5 in Oberau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auhof

Property: The Auhof
Address: Sonnbergweg 225, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Auhof 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Auhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing