We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cell Block H”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Two main problems with this hotel are it's 4 star rating (it's a very poor 3 star) and it's owner who thinks he is a celebrity and that you are there to please him and not the other way around. The food ranges from very good to appalling, with daily repetition of shredded veg as the salad course bowls of instant whip as the dessert and main courses made up of the leftovers (seriously). The décor hasn't been updated since the great war (see photos) and finally, how difficult is it to get a pint of beer which is full to the mark? especially when the mark on the glass leaves a good inch for a large head, not once did I get one and felt liking asking for a flake to be added to finish the effect. The same guy (and his family) owns the ski rental place and at least on other hotel nearby so I will be giving this resort a miss in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G1llTh4l3r, Owner at Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

My response to the review "Absolute Nightmare" also applies to this review as this is the same family of three who really went beyond the boundries of how normal people act abroad.
The wording is almost identical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel was in a great location for skiing and was very clean. Breakfast was good but the evening meals were dreadful. Very little choice, salty and not always warm.
Neiderau was brilliant for beginners and intermediate skiers and there is a good bus service to other local resorts with longer and harder runs.
We would not return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My first review on Trip Advisor, but this hotel and terrible atmosphere has made my mind up to share my (our) views.
We have just returned from a family ski holiday and we were all disappointed with the hotel.
The food is often not hot and of a poor quality and very unappetising.
A round if drinks at our evening meal would often be 24 Euros but a request for tap water was met with 'this is verboten' which didn't help our mood.
The owner stalks around with in a supposed genial mood, but we found him to be a miserable old man.
We all enjoyed Niederau, but we will NEVER return I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
7  Thank Davekelly533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in the annexe in Feb 2011, and reading these amusing reviews, brings back the memories.

Herbert does appear abrupt, but that's just him, and I warmed to him as the holiday progressed. He is actually quite charming and can be especially kind to the children (and not in a Jimmy Saville kind of way). He is actually quite a talented man with his harp playing, and think he was quite a sportsman in his younger days.

The hotel evening meals were basic but fine. Just what you need after a days skiing. The breakfasts were especially good with plenty of choice. Obtaining a drink could be a bit of lottery though!

It was quite a family affair, with Herbert's brother, and sister Maria, joining in with the running of the hotel. The hotel was very clean and the pool and sauna areas spotless.

The hotel was very well situation for the lifts. Out of the door, over the road, and on with skis. My family were beginners, and it was good for them with the nursery slopes and ski school. I am intermediate, and found it a bit limiting. Night life...quieter than most in comparison with some of the more higher profile Tyrolean ski resorts. They are trying in this regard though, with various flourishing little bars.

Well worth a visit in my opinion...especially with a young family.

AB - East Yorkshire

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

we stayed here as a first time ski trip with our 5 year old son. we had a fab time excellent for 1st time skier but not too good for us as intermediate snowboarders. room was excellent but we stayed in the new annex and paid extra for an upgrade which was worth it. ski to door and ski school on doorstep which was ideal with a 5 year old. we chose this resort for its compactness and not having to walk far with a young child-this was ideal as it means not having to travel too far with heavy equipment but you are very restricted on the runs. hotel facilities are fantastic but not much on the apres ski front so be prepared to bring some cards/games. hotel facilities are fab. be prepared to be restricted on where you sit at dinner-you are allocated a table at the beginning of the holiday which you share with another family and are unable to change this. we were lucky as met a lovely couple with a child of similar age who we got on with well luckily. food was a disappointment though. everything we ate was very salty which spoilt the holiday a little.

Room Tip: stay in the new annex rooms are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flame017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Harfenwirt (literally Harp Inn), named for it's owner's playing of that instrument and with a picture of him doing so on the side of the hotel, is a family run hotel. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Accomodation is good, as is the food (especially as we had a fixed choice as part of the half board package we had). The well organised staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel owner, Herbert, together with his sister Maria, who runs the neighbouring Birchlwiirt guest house but assists as the Harfenwirt, are attentive and find time to chat with each guest during the day. This friendliness makes you feel more a family member rather than just a guest. A high spot is the meal and harp playing by Herbert at the family farm. Downsides are lack of a safe and the fact that bedsheets are changed only once a week.

On your arrival (during the summer months anyway) each guest is given a Wildschonau card, which allows free use of the gondola lift to top of the Markbachjoch mountain, from where you can choose different walks to visit local farms, enjoy panoramic views and taste cheese, honey and other culinary specialities. The same card allows free entrance to the nearby farmers museum and discounted entrance to the wood museum. An alternative to walking is use of the bummelbahn "train" that trundles back and forth each day from one end of the Wildschonau valley to the other. The "train" runs from outside the Harfenwirt and runs though Niederau and the other 4 villages of the valley.

There are a choice of excursions available, which can either be booked through your tour company rep or direct through the village travel agent. The advantage of having a rep as we did is that she visits the hotel a few times each week.

We met a number of guests who return each year. We intend to return also. The only word of caution I would add is that if visiting during the summer take both insect repellent and antiseptic with you as the horseflies bite!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just returned from Leger coach holiday to Austria (10th-17th June). And although we went on Silver service, it is a trip we wouldnt do again. It took us 27hrs to arrive at our hotel, and although we had rest stops on the journey, THIS TRIP NEEDS AN OVERNIGHT STOP on way to Austria. We had problems with the feeder coaches and they also lost 1 of our cases but did find it on a coach going to France. BUT MY REVIEW IS ABOUT THE HOTEL.
I have stayed in many 3* hotels but never one that is as "shabby" as this. We stayed in the main part of hotel, so everything is "on hand" as they say. Our room was large enough with a lovely view, but had many broken features. The plugs in both sink and bath were broken, the hair dryer didnt work, and lights had bulbs missing. Also towel rails and tiles are broken. It was obvious that they room hadnt been cleaned before we arrived , as we had to wipe everything over with baby wipes to clear the dust. Although our bed was made up everyday ,our sheets WASNT changed, (left mark on bottom sheet on 1st day to check). The worse thing about hotel is the meals. the breakfast is as expected, basic continental and I mean BASIC. Evening meals, there is no choice, you eat what your given or do without. You cant even have choice of sweets.The hotel does have Sauna/whirlpool etc but try getting the owner to turn them on LOL. I asked him everyday but to no avail. You can only use the pool after 8am so no early morning swim.There is not 1 big thing wrong with this hotel, just lots of little things that spoil it. Take your own kettle & CUPS,if you want a drink in your room. BE WARNED. the owner will close the bar when he feels tired, which on 1st day was 9.30, normally about 10ish tho. The hotel does put on a show on 1 night but you will have to pay extra to see it. 10euros, but its worth it. they also offer horse & cart trips, these cost extra also. My main advise, expect a poor quality 3*, coz that is what you will get.

Room Tip: we had room 118, this overlooked the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalesManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
86 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
145 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#4 of 25 in Wildschonau
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Address: Grafenweg 325, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition mixed with modern. Superb family hotel direct on the piste. Breathtaking views from all rooms. New large heated indoor pool (80m²) with sauna and steam bath overlooking the cross country tracks. Large sun terrace facing the Tennladen slopes Ski Arena race track and paragliders landing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfenwirt Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing