We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Friendly and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This is the fifth time my wife and I have stayed in the Harfenwirt ( literally the Harp playing Landlord ). We stay here because we like Herbert, we like his hotel, we always get a good deal and the skiing suits me.
I am pleased to see that recent reviews are all very positive because Herbert and his staff work very hard to give everyone an enjoyable holiday and I have never met anyone who has had a major issue staying here.

Please ignore the few bad reviews they are either ignorant or even worse malicious.

I won't repeat what has recently been said about the hotel facilities except it's very warm and comfortable with good food. However do make sure you attend the ski school presentation on Thursday evenings as you will have a good laugh with the show the instructors put on. Also check with Herbert to see when he will be playing the harp at the Bichlwirt up the road. This is the Thaler family home, parts of which are 500 years old, Herbert's sister Maria runs a comfortable bar there.

For non skiers like my wife there are plenty of places to get a drink any time of day, some good low level walks, two supermarkets, a Tourist Information between Niederau and Oberhau who will also arrange free snowshoeing tours, an interesting farming museum only open on Wednesdays in winter and further up the valley at Auffach a quirky wood museum. Worgl in the Inns valley is a working town with some reasonable shopping and Innsbruck is about an hour away. Make sure you get your Wildschonau guest card for free travel in the valley and discounts.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BFGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    157
    85
    43
    21
See reviews for
165
160
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Well, just back from the 1st of our 2 regular ski holidays with crystal ski, Austria again but Niederau this time. The hotel was very good, the owner is a friendly guy who took a real liking to my partners perfume? All okay though, you get a standard breakfast with a few hot options but lots of bread, cheese and meats. You choose in the morning from the menu for the evening meal, again very good, there is salad also with the evening meal, any drinks are settled up at the end of the evening.
I would mention the room but we ended up in the Annexe which is a 2 minute walk from the main hotel, double check when you book it that it doesn't have Annexe room on it, the room was big with its own kitchen just a bit wierd to walk to the main hotel for food.
A couple of other things, Niederau is quiet, not a lot of nightlife if that's what you want, also our crystal rep on the coach was a waste of space, looked like she was fresh out of school, let's face it most of them are only there to ski and party, oh yes we had one angry bus driver, the ski pass gives you free travel on the bus although this one driver required a pass from the hotel, he refused a few of us until we got a pass, food for thought .
Niederau is great for skiing as it's now a huge area, only 10 minutes to auchbach and then it's all gondola and ski.
So there we are another one in the bag, next one 1st week April to Austria not sure where yet.

Room Tip: Beware of the word Annexe, okay but it's away from the main hotel, you won't go down to brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed at the Harfenwirt for a week last week for my first skiing holiday with Inghams.

Location: The hotel is located 5-10mins up hill from the center of Niederau, it is great for ski in ski out. You just need to cross the road and there is a blue and a black run in front of you. You can also ski to the front of the hotel from a steep red run. To get to the main gondola, you can take a poma lift and ski down. The bus stops right outside the hotel and it is free. It is great if you want to go to Auffach in the morning as you only need to step outside of the hotel and wait.

Food: The food is edible, not amazing but not disgusting. Lots of pork on the menu. The waitresses doesn't know what the desserts are which adds to the fun I guess. Breakfast is good, it is the same all week, but there are enough to choose from.

Après ski: hmmm it was great for me as I only planned to go ski, eat and sleep. Not much happened in the Harfenwirt in terms of Après ski. If you want to go where the actions are, you will have to walk 5-10mins down the hill to other bars.

Room: We had a twin room with a double bed and a single bed. The double bed was comfortable but the single was a bit too soft. The room was spacious with a lovely balcony facing the slope. Unfortunately, it got very loud at night when the snow cannon was on all night. The radiator was on all night and when the window was opened, it got too loud to sleep. The bed sheets were covered with cigarette burn marks but clean. The bathroom was clean and the shower is powerful and hot.

Spa: The hotel has it's own swimming pool, sauna, steam and jacuzzi. The pool closes at 7pm which i think is a bit annoying as it would have been nice to go for a swim after dinner when there is nothing else to do. The sauna and steam room only comes on around 4pm and with the jacuzzi, you will have to pay to get that started.

All in all, you cannot fault the Harfenwirt with the price tag it comes with. Don't expect much than you will have a great stay.

Room Tip: Try not to sleep facing the slope as the snow cannons are very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobb1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed from 1st Feb for one week. Travelled with my son, his friend (16 and 17years) and a friend of mine. The lads were in the older part of the hotel and room was adequate. We were in the new part and room with balcony could not be faulted - I've paid more and had far worse accommodation. Clean and serviced every day. Herbert has a very dry sense of humour and might not be everybody's cup of tea but you can't fault him for being on site in the restaurant every breakfast and evening meal checking virtually every table to make sure people are ok. Walter is equally obliging. The cost and added amenities - swimming pool etc certainly makes this hotel one that I want to return to next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel last week with a group of friends. We have stayed there on 3 occasions over the last 3 yrs. Herbert the owner and his brother Walter have become friends over the course of our visits. Very comfortable rooms and bar area. Would recommend the schnitzel.........mmmmm schnitzel. Good breakfast too. Can't wait until we return next year. Don't believe the negative reviews from the moaners.
My only criticism would be the pillows in the rooms. They are magic pillows, they appear to be there but when you put your head on them they disappear......I do like a good firm pillow!

Room Tip: Rooms in the newly furnished part if hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monster4459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 11th January for one week. Travelled with Inghams and picked the hotel because it was the cheapest on offer . Was a bit apprehensive after reading reviews on here but found it to be a great hotel. When I arrived was met by Herbert who signed me in at the front desk and gave me the key to my room. A short trip on the lift took me to the first floor to my room , as I travelled alone it was a single room . On opening the door I walked in and was quite surprised how good it was, my room was in the old part of the hotel but was quite modern and very serviceable. A nice comfy bed with a quality foam mattress , a 32 inch flat screen tv on the wall and a balcony looking out onto a nice view. The bathroom was the usual quirky Austrian tile design but the shower was very roomy with lots of hot water and a very good water pressure.
The hotel has a very good boot / ski room with lots of heated boot racks and plenty of storage. This is located in a the lower ground underneath the restaurant also on this level is the wellness area.
The brochure under sells the wellness area....yes it shows the pool which is made of stainless steel and is über clean with lots of water jets to massage the body....but does not show the jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and other goodies down there. I was in every afternoon for a body revamp after a good day on the slopes.
I would not go to Niederau again as there is limited skiing there and got a bit fed up of getting on the bus every day to find better slopes but if I ever did go again I would defo stay at the Hotel Harfenwirt.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew-Melton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our 2nd year at the Harfenwirt, although this time we stayed in the hotel and not the annexe, which at first we were gutted, but on arrival, we were not bothered. Our room (109) was very clean, and a good size, with all facilities that we could need, and a lovely balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel. We arrived approx. 6pm on the Saturday, and Herbert's daughter checked us in. Took cases to the room, and then went for dinner. As we did not want to queue for hours in the ski shop on Sunday morning, we decided to go the Thaler ski rental located at the Sonnenschein hotel (a 5 min walk away and open until 11pm) and get our skis ready for first lift in the morning. We were treated with great attention, and could not have had a better fitting experience.
Food at the hotel was always nice, especially the soups. Waiting staff very attentive. Herbert always took the time to come and speak to us at the table every morning and evening, and would always welcome you if you were passing by. On our last night, Herbert played his harp in the reception, and included kids that were staying at the hotel, and they were singing along.
We booked ski lessons with the red ski school, and this was again a fantastic experience.
Will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgwright84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#4 of 11 in Niederau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#9 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Property: Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Address: Grafenweg 325, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition mixed with modern. Superb family hotel direct on the piste. Breathtaking views from all rooms. New large heated indoor pool (80m²) with sauna and steam bath overlooking the cross country tracks. Large sun terrace facing the Tennladen slopes Ski Arena race track and paragliders landing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfenwirt Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing