We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a dump”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I have just come back after a week in the harfenwirt never again, the owner was arrogant and rude, guest walking through dining room with luggage while we where having our meal, and young people 18/30 drinking and being rowdy till 3am, the room we had was very dated brown suite the toilet was seperate from bathroom you had to walk through the room to wash your hands, you don't get tea/ coffee after meal you get charged 2.5 euros, no tea making facilities in room, one evening we where charged 12euros for entertianment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6314gill, Owner at Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
"What a dump" is extremely harsh as the photos of the hotel verify.
You were booked on a bus tour which travelled overnight without a stop and although check in is normally 14.00 hours when you arrived at about 7 am very tired and ready for a rest you were all given your rooms on arrival. I noticed from the description of your holiday you booked an unnamed standard 3 star accomodation.
When another group arrived on your last evening it was unfortunate that they took the wrong way to their rooms and came through the restaurant.
As it was a lovely evening there were quite a lot of people sitting outside on the terrasse having fun until 11 pm at the latest - however as that disturbed you Herbert immediately gave you the key to another room which is very quiet and at the back of the hotel in the new wing.
Your travel company booked your group in for continental breakfast and a three course evening meal. There was no mention in the broschure of tea or coffee being served free of charge after the meals and obviously if you order drinks from the waiter there is a charge.
On one evening there was a Tyrolean evening which involves 8 folklore dancers and 2 musicians - it was offered as an optional - there was a charge but you didnt have to book it.
On another evening Herbert entertained with his harp in the local pub which you were all invited to and involved no charge.
The bathroom suite is beige and normally a seperate toilet is more acceptable than it being in the bathroom when two people are sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    160
    85
    43
    22
See reviews for
167
160
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Room in new part of the hotel was excellent. Massive bath, big room with plenty of storage, problem with shower fixed straightaway (Herbert sorted it) and fridge in room which was useful for keeping our babys food/milk in.
We travelled with a 6 month old who attended the pepi penguin club for the week. Considering it was the first time we'd left our son, the girls (Hannah, Kate and Gemma) were fantastic and we were at ease straight away leaving him. I would wholly recommend this service, our son was happy to be left and at the end of the week we were given a lovely big folder with photos in and all of the results of the activities done during the week.
The food was, on the whole good, salad bar at dinner was lovely and the waitresses were more than happy to heat food or milk for us during dinner. Plenty of food at breakfast time.
No skiing to hotel due to the lack of snow low down but ski storage at the hotel was big, and also available at the bottom of the gondola.
Facilities in the hotel were excellent, the pool was fantastic at the end of the day with our son! Could perhaps have done with a kettle in the room, but only because of wanting to boil water for bottles etc, but we managed with the help of the hotel staff.
Overall, we would definitely recommend the harfenwirt, don't let reviews of Herbert put you off, just remember this hotel is in Austria not England!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My first review has been removed...probably because I said it as it was!!!
Lovely resort..Austraqi is very clean and the people are very nice and friendly. Overall a lovely hotel. Nice rooms in annexe. Lovely pool area. Shame about the ignorant owner and his extremely rude and ignorant brother Walter, who was drunk every night and very very obnoxious. Food was ok...desserts were appauling. post bus stops outside hotel..brilliant. Would return but to a different hotel. Lets see how long this review stays on !!

Room Tip: annexe rooms best good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Not much else to be said that isn't in the other reviews, but I am glad that the recent comments are more favourable.
The older rooms in the hotel may be a little tired, but are clean and functional. Comfy beds and good pillows. Hot showers available all day (no cool period when everyone is in the tub!!) I have not seen any of the newer rooms but believe them to be nice. The guesthouse 'annex', although old fashioned is said to be ok too.
The owner of the hotel is a hardworking control freak who will treat you very well if you are courteous to him, he has probably had to deal with his fair share of grumpy people in the past.
Dinner and breakfast are tasty and there were no complaints from me or from our fellow diners.
Ski to the door in good conditions, bus stop outside (first on the bus route so plenty of spaces - unlike further up the valley where the bus is too full to stop).
Niederau itself is very quiet, not much nightlife but perfect for families, lots of bars and two good supermarkets. It is not a high resort so snow conditions can be a little hit and miss, however the free bus takes you up the valley to Auffach/Alpbach/Inneralpbach where the snow can be much better.
Overall very good value for money as we got a last minute deal.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for one of the rooms in the new part at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leahmarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was my first skiing holiday in Austria and I must say I was amazed with the level of cleanness of the villages, hotels, countryside along the roads. Incomparable to what one gets in the UK! The people are also very helpful and friendly everywhere (shops, restaurants, cabs, hospital, etc). The Harfenwirt hotel is a bit on the ugly side from the distance, but what is more relevant it has doorstep skiing (snow permitting), the shuttle bus for Auffach stops just in front of it and its restaurant is open all day with a south facing balcony to enjoy the sun, with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a huge room with my boyfriend, with a huge bed (with two single mattresses and two single duvets, so we did not disturb each other overnight :-)), separate toilet and bathroom (with the largest 2 person bath I ever tried). The room and the hotel as a whole were exceptionally clean, which I rank high (except of the cigarette butts on the roof of a lower building, which is the fault of uncivilized guests!). The breakfast was typical continental (buffet), though as other travelers noted the dinner portions were a bit small after a whole day skiing (but at least we didn't put on any weight :-)), and the quality of the food was on the good side (I especially enjoyed the salad bar). As for the comments about the owner, he indeed might be strange in the eyes of some, but if you are a relaxed and open minded person, you will be able to have a good laugh with him. There indeed wasn't free wi-fi, but this service doesn't seem to be that widespread in the whole resort.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel in the new wing, further from the road. Good views as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ledith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Not the best resort ever for Skiing but great for beginners early in season. Lots of nursery slopes with easy access but getting a bit thin and slushy when we were there. The resort as a whole needs a high level link from the Niederau area down to Auffach rather than relying on ski busses which are poor frequency midday. The Hotel itself is well situated with good access on and off the slopes with a bus stop right outside.
We found the Hotel very comfortable, large room with a view down the valley. Very clean with separate en-suite toilet and bathroom. Food was basic but edible with great salad bar. Staff were friendly and helpful and even the Victor Meldrew lookalike proprietor was quite approachable. The pool area excellent and the Hotel ran a free bus twice weekly to Hopfgarden to access the Ski Welt area for more experienced skiers.
Overall I'm not sure I would rush back to Niederau for the skiing unless with beginners but if I did I would certainly choose this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ankhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have just arrived home from a weeks skiing in Niederau and i will not be going back. Very poor snow in the resort and the hotel was also very poor. The food was over cooked and salty and of the cheapest quality. The owner was just like Victor Meldrew and there wasnt even free wifi. The bathroom was old and tired with cracked tiles on the floor and i must have cut my knee three times on the shower pull as the end was missing

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#9 of 11 in Niederau
45 reviews
2.8 mi away
Landgasthof Dorferwirt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Property: Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Address: Grafenweg 325, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition mixed with modern. Superb family hotel direct on the piste. Breathtaking views from all rooms. New large heated indoor pool (80m²) with sauna and steam bath overlooking the cross country tracks. Large sun terrace facing the Tennladen slopes Ski Arena race track and paragliders landing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfenwirt Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing