We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, very friendly and attentive staff”
Review of Hotel Sonnschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonnschein
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This hotel has big, spacious rooms. We stayed in the older part of the hotel but the rooms were lovely and tidy and the views are great (Room 203).

The hotel has 2 swimming pools with 2 saunas and a steam room. These were perfect for soothing our aching ski legs! Everywhere was kept in immaculate condition.

The food (breakfast and dinner) was also excellent. Lots of choice at the breakfast buffet and 5 courses in the evening (you choose your main course at breakfast). Every night was a different soup all of which were amazing! The bar area is large with a good choice of drinks.

The ski hire shop was located in the basement of the hotel and you could leave your skis etc up nearer the slopes in a secure room. The more experienced skiers in our group still had a great time due to the use of slopes at Auffach and a free bus to Ski Welt (Thurs and Fri). 5 of us attended the Red Ski School (all at different levels) and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend them.

We travelled in a party of 8 people and we all had a brilliant experience and would definitely return. Well done Gill and Family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2011

As we walked into the hotel we were greeted by a departing lady telling the owner, Gill, that she had enjoyed a fantastic stay. Fortunately we did too.
First of all we had a massive room with excellent fixtures and fittings. Any criticisms of the rooms would simply be nitpicking. We were next to the lift and we thought this would prove to be noisy but we didn't notice a peep from the corridor. The doors are high quality and excellent noise insulators. The bathroom was top notch and the view was great too. There has been some talk in other reviews about the pillows, no real problem here but as another reviewer pointed out you just need to ring reception for more. Simples!
Another area which has been mentioned in previous reviews was the food. Some people haven't been happy with it. In contrast my other half and I were very happy. You need to remember that with half board you are not expecting Michelin star food but what you do get is up to 5 courses of filling tasty food which is ideal after a day on the slopes or walking through the mountains.
We found all the staff very helpful and always smiling whilst proving excellent service.
This isn't a slop side hotel but it's pretty close. It has a ski hire shop in the basement makes life doddle and with free ski storage just next to slope life gets even easier. The 5 minute walk to the slopes acts as a good warm up and helps loosen tight muscles.
Niederau itself is not blessed with banging night-life but there are a couple of choice places which are good if you want to settle in for a night's drinking.
For skiing the slopes are not the most expansive but when you're a beginner or improving they're spot on. If you want more there's a free bus to Auffach and Oberau. The ski school is also excellent with engaging instructors. Ours, called Sepp, was great and made the lessons very enjoyable.
The pool and spa area was spot on after skiing and really helped to ease the muscles.
All in all we had a great holiday and would be more than happy to return in either summer or winter.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plug28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Another great week at the Sonnschein. As always everything was fantastic and even the snow obliged. I already have withdrawal symptoms. See you next February.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFluter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Having stayed for the first time in January this year loved it so much went back for more 5 weeks later! Beautiful Hotel, wonderful wellness centre, immaculate and spacious rooms and friendly helpful staff. The fact that so many people there had been before speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marceljt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

IIhave just returned from Austria (5/03/2011) and I had read some negative reviews regarding this hotel before going there to ski -so I feel I should add my experince whilst staying there . Firstly It is nothing short of excellent , it is very clean as the rooms are cleaned avery day with new towels in place. Gill staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them to do, the food is also of a high standard -plenty of it and warm ( 4 course meel in the evening) .Beverages are reasonable where a pint of larger is 3.20 euros and a pint of coca cola for the children is 4.00 euros . The hotel has its own ski hire , and convieniently you can then leave this equipment over at its sister hotel the Harfenwirt which is a 5 min walk to the base of the nursery slopes. Overall my family had a great time at this hotel and would highly recommend staying here - we are going back next year !!! many thanks to the staff !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superjack001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

On arirval, there was an immediate welcoming and warm atmosphere and we were greeted by Gill the proprioter. She was lovely and very helpful and made us feel immediately at ease. We were a group of three and stayed in one of the family rooms which, athough clearly one of the older rooms, we could not fault. There was a double room and a lounge equipped with 2 very comfortable sofa beds which were a very good size. There was also a small kitchen area and a decent sized, spotless bathroom. All areas of the hotel were absolutely spotless and we were particularly impressed with the leisure facilities. As keen swimmers, the 2 swimming pools were the trump card as well as the steam room which was a very welcome amenity after a day on the slopes!! The food was very good so far as breakfast was a buffet and you could fill up for the day. Dinner was very good as there was a really nice and fresh salad buffet. However, the meat dishes left a lot to be desired as the chef seemed consistently unable to cook meat/fish that was anything else but dry and tough as old shoe leather. On the other hand, that is my only fault with the food. Perfect location for accessing the slopes/ski school with just a 5 minute uphill walk to either. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel would be a welcome addition as €30/week seems a bit excessive. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bossistheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Very modern, spacious, high standard of equipment in bedrooms and a very comfy hotel. Staff were helpful and efficient. Older, centre section, of the hotel perhaps less well equipped, and rooms numbered under 100 perhaps best avoided in preference to upper numbered rooms. Food was generally of a good standard with more than adequate quantity, and with one evening exception, of a high standard.
Two indoor pools, one at blood temp and the other cool, were excellent, as were the associated saunas and infra red cabins, all free of charge. I used the visiting masseur twice, and was very impressed with his skills. Management was always efficient and present whenever required. (Well done, Gill!)

Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
Thank shabwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#7 of 11 in Niederau
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#6 of 25 in Wildschonau
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschein

Address: Sonnhangweg 5, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £89 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnschein 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well furbished family run hotel in two acres of private park land. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the top class hospitality of the Thaler family.Spacious light and airy rooms with a homely feeling. Two heated indoor pools, two saunas and a steam bath. Solarium and massages available at an extra charge. Top quality cuisine and friendly service provided by our loyal team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonnschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnschein Hotel Niederau
Sonnschein Hotel Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing