We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be fooled by the four stars”
Review of Hotel Sonnschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonnschein
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We arrived at this hotel with previous experience of four star hotels in Austria to be disappointed. The rooms were shabby and when we asked the cleaner to show us another room, which she did, the owner had a go at her for going beyond her remit and said that we could have the less shabbier room for a hundred and fifty more Euros. The food was bland and processed, the staff overworked tried their best, but could not compensate for the lack of choice or lack of flavour. For example on the first night there was no other choice but veal as the main course, which even some meat eaters might find tricky. The lobby area was cold and univiting, eighties style acid pop was the music choice and a lovely fireplace remained unlit for most of the stay. It seemed like a good offer at the time but this is not a good offer by Austrian standards. We often had hot chocolate down the road at the Hotel Austria for a bit of atmosphere. It's a good hike up the road to get to the slopes. The only thing I can recommend was the merlot, but alas that was from Chile and 22 euros a bottle.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennie_johnson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

We read reviews after we had booked, (the wrong way to do it , I know). Some of the reviews had us more than a little worried but with over half of the reviews being excellent it couldn't be that bad.
How wrong were we.
On arrival we were given the keys to our room only to discover that the beds hadn't been made up, the bin hadn't been emptied and the toilet had evidence of the previous guest.
Upon complaining we were told that the room hadn't been prepared because we were early!!!!
The food was the worst I have ever experienced on holiday. It was bland, processed food with child sized portions. There was very little choice, only one vegetarian option and if you didn’t like that you were offered an omelette, every meal.
The pool and children’s play areas were like something from a Romanian orphanage and should really have been out of bounds, we were told that they due to be refurbished.
On the day of our departure we couldn’t even have breakfast because the dining room wasn’t open in time.
If you go there you only have your self to blame (as did we).
Please, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank floridafil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6314gill, Owner at Hotel Sonnschein, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2011

How can someone go on holiday in August - be so disgusted with absolutely everything and then wait until April (8 months later) to write a review?
I remember you well - you arrived at about 12 midday and check in is 1400 - unfortunately you were given the key before the room was cleaned. Mistakes can happen - however - we invited you to eat lunch and drinks on the house as a small token.
We always provide breakfast regardless of the departure time. In summer the restaurant is open everyday before 7.00 and there is always a member of staff from 6 a.m.
If departure is before then we provide a packed breakfast.
We provide a four course evening meal with a choice of three main courses plus a variety of salads from the buffet. With regard to the quality of the food - you cant please all of the people all of the time - but fortunately - we have many more satisfied customers than dissatisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Staff are very friendly and efficient and hotel facilities are excellent. We have travelled over 20 years around Austria and this is the worst food ever. Food is only 2 star rating. Dinner was tasteless and seemed to have been sitting around for half the afternoon. Vegetables cooked to death. Another small gripe is why offer tea/coffee making facililties and not provide tea/coffee/milk. No shower caps provided. On arrival who wants to visit the supermarket down town to purchase what is normally provided in a 4 star hotel?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paddo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Stayed here for a week with my 4 year old son and thank goodness we were here as the skiing was terrible! Luckily there was plenty to do in the hotel. Great variety of food for breakfast and dinner. Thank goodness the staff (and thank you other patrons) were very tolerant of kids running amok so you didn't feel you had to tie them to the chair at mealtimes. The pools were great and when it rained (yes- on ski holiday!) the kids playroom had plenty to keep them amused. The staff- especially Gill were lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Find the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Have recently returned from a most enjoyable weeks stay at the Hotel Sonnschein. We would heartily recommend the hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful (English too!). The hotel was in a lovely location, few minutes walk from the centre of Neiderau with lovely mountain views. Our room was spacious and airy with large balcony with great views. It was extremely clean with a decent bathroom. The food was plentiful and varied. We were very lucky with the weather as we had a beautiful week of sunshine, almost too warm for skiing. Hotel had 2 lovely pools and an excellent whirlpool which were all beautifully maintained. Overall, excellent value for money and highly recommended, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinlizzieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Hotel Sonnschein and Gill and all the staff are excellent. They make you feel at home straight away and will do anything for you. The rooms, the food and all t he facilities at the hotel were super. The food was plentiful and also lots of choice, not only at dinner but breakfast too. Although we had no small children with us, Gill put on a movie for the kids every night, she even asked them which movie they wanted. (I must admit I sat in with the kids one night and watched a bit of Shrek 3).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank razzle49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This hotel has big, spacious rooms. We stayed in the older part of the hotel but the rooms were lovely and tidy and the views are great (Room 203).

The hotel has 2 swimming pools with 2 saunas and a steam room. These were perfect for soothing our aching ski legs! Everywhere was kept in immaculate condition.

The food (breakfast and dinner) was also excellent. Lots of choice at the breakfast buffet and 5 courses in the evening (you choose your main course at breakfast). Every night was a different soup all of which were amazing! The bar area is large with a good choice of drinks.

The ski hire shop was located in the basement of the hotel and you could leave your skis etc up nearer the slopes in a secure room. The more experienced skiers in our group still had a great time due to the use of slopes at Auffach and a free bus to Ski Welt (Thurs and Fri). 5 of us attended the Red Ski School (all at different levels) and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend them.

We travelled in a party of 8 people and we all had a brilliant experience and would definitely return. Well done Gill and Family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#7 of 11 in Niederau
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
200 reviews
2.2 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#6 of 25 in Wildschonau
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschein

Address: Sonnhangweg 5, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £88 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnschein 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well furbished family run hotel in two acres of private park land. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the top class hospitality of the Thaler family.Spacious light and airy rooms with a homely feeling. Two heated indoor pools, two saunas and a steam bath. Solarium and massages available at an extra charge. Top quality cuisine and friendly service provided by our loyal team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonnschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnschein Hotel Niederau
Sonnschein Hotel Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing