We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest of hotels”
Review of Hotel Sonnschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonnschein
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have stayed at the Sonnschein several times now, the latest being December 2012 on a Leger Xmas Markets trip. I am returning in June 2013 and again in December 2013. The owner Jill, a Brummie, is lovely, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They even provide a big bag of tea ,coffee and carton of milk for a few euros. Food is good, breakfast is plentiful and bar is reasonably priced with pleasant staff. Rooms are very comfortable , many with balconies. In December I was travelling as a single and my room was massive with bath and shower and overlooked the front aspect of the hotel. I like it that much I keep coming back !

Room Tip: Rooms at back overlook mountain and are quieter than front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Modelaviators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel 16th may 2013.last week of hotels winter season.Very clean and friendly owners,food very nice,and room very comfortable,with tea coffee making facilities(which you don't get in many ski hotels)flat screen tv,with english channels and great views from the balcony.Unfortunaly the skiing area for an advanced skier is pretty limiting.But this hotel for a summer holiday would be stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisatthirtymetres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Hotel Sonnschein offered Austrian hospitality at its best. Situated in the beautiful Wildschonau Region the hotel provided all the amenities for which you could possibly wish including spacious, comfortable rooms with balconies, two superb swimming pools, saunas and spas, delightful lounges, games rooms and a bar. This was one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in so a good night's sleep was guaranteed. All the hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and meals were extremely good from the very well stocked breakfast bar to the three (or sometimes four) course dinner in the evening with the choice of three main dishes. The whole ambience of the hotel offered real charm with many local photographs, art works and artefacts from the local village of Niederau. I stayed at the hotel during the ski season and was pleased that it had a spacious drying and ski and boot storage room. There was also a ski fitting and hire facility within the hotel. The free sauna and swimming pools certainly came into their own after a hard day on the pistes. The only drawback was that the lifts were about 500 metres from the hotel, slightly uphill and this was a bit of a drag to have to carry equipment this distance each day. For those interested in a summer walking holiday this hotel lies in an unenviable position.

Room Tip: For the best mountain views ask for a room on an upper floor on the south or west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

In 2012 we stayed in this hotel. The hotel room was a large room. The owner of the hotel was lovely with my little girl. She liked being able to watch a movie with all the other children in the hotel. This hotel could be a five star hotel however attention to detail stops this. My bath was cold every night. We had a balcony where I found cigarette ends on the floor. At the table in the evening their could have been jugs of water put on it and finally their was no butter put out with the bread in the evening.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a large room on the ground floor which was a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for seven nights this month. It is a nice hotel, specially if you like to ski. It is in a kind of new region called Wildschonau, but since we were interested in Skiwelt region, we had to travel a bit everyday. It was not a trouble anyway. Rooms are nice and clean, but the heating could have been better, it was pretty cold at night. Food is ok, specially the beakfast. We definately loved the indoor pool area which is beautiful. One of the negative things is that there is no free wifi, and the prices for connection are enormous (30€ for 6 days). However I would recommend this hotel for families and people that love too ski, but dont expect perfection.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorazd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were originally booked into the Harfenwirt but due to a booking error were lucky enough to be reappointed to the Sonnschein, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, the food was good, staff friendly and helpful, our room heating was not that warm so Jill's son arranged a little heater straight away and we were perfectly snug. It is well worth asking if there is a problem as the staff are keen to sort things out. Food was good quality, Room was fairly small but spotlessly clean and comfortable, there was a kettle in our room and 2cups, luckily I had bought tea bags coffee etc and there was a little fridge to store milk we had bought from the local Spar. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the local skischule and the whole atmosphere in and around the hotel was great, we had a good ski package altogether and would be happy to return here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, we had a balcony, it was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 4, kids aged 9 and 6 mum and dad - pretty experienced skiers.
First and foremost we chose this resort for the children to learn to ski - what a great choice. I have never been to such a friendly and welcoming place. From the hotel staff to the ski instructors on the slopes, I couldn't fault it.
If you are an experienced skier, then the resort is limiting and predominantly button and drag lifts. However, you can catch a bus and ski other linked pistes. We chose to meet the kids each day for lunch which meant that was not an option for us.
The Hotel was fantastic, the staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was lovely. The pools and spa area were a definite highlight, which will be influencing our choice of resort in the future.
We had a family room, which was great - if a little dated, but that didn't matter when we were asleep. Great to have kitchen facilities, so could keep fridge stocked up with bottled water and goodies from the Spa shop in town.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but you must bear in mind the limits of the resort before booking. Thank you, one and all for such a memorable stay

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chellybombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
118 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschein

Address: Sonnhangweg 5, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £90 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnschein 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well furbished family run hotel in two acres of private park land. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the top class hospitality of the Thaler family.Spacious light and airy rooms with a homely feeling. Two heated indoor pools, two saunas and a steam bath. Solarium and massages available at an extra charge. Top quality cuisine and friendly service provided by our loyal team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonnschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnschein Hotel Niederau
Sonnschein Hotel Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing