We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay - look no further”
Review of Hotel Sonnschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonnschein
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just returned from a great week at Hotel Sonnschein. As the majority of other reviews have stated this hotel is spotlessly clean and Gill (the owner) and the team are very friendly and helpful.

The food is fantastic with lots of options for everyone, with a plentiful breakfast that kept us full until dinner. Make sure you try the daily soups, they are homemade and delicious.

The main gondola is literally at the end of the road a 5 min walk and they have a ski store right next to the gondola so you don't have to walk in your boots from the hotel.

The hotel has two indoor pools which are very welcome after a hard day on the slopes and a sauna to relax in. They have a fitness room too which has limited equipment but you can certainly work all muscles and I can't imagine many people would be mad enough to go to the gym after skiing all day anyway!

We were there to celebrate my parents 40th Wedding Anniversary and we are so pleased we picked Hotel Sonnschein you made it very special. I would definitely recommend this Hotel and am already planning a summer trip, thanks again everyone :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in 162 and 163 which were very quiet on the first floor this is in the 'new section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our group found this hotel to be a great base for our week's ski-ing. The stall are extremely friendly and helpful and the facilities are very pleasant and make for a nice atmosphere. Cosy bars and social areas, two good indoor pools, saunas & steam room, sun-beds, small gym and provision for younger children. The food is fine, with a good buffet breakfast.
Ski hire available at hotel, lockers at the lift, 6 mins walk. Skiing at Neiderau is rather limited (lower snow not good this year), but you can get to Auffach on the ski-bus, and thence to Alpbach. The large Skiwelt area (279km) is only 7km away the other way. We had lots of great ski-ing to chose from.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger528878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Arrived early on 1st March 2014 & was allowed to put our cases in the room which was good although it felt strange as it hadn't yet been cleaned from previous occupants. Thankfully we had a superior room which was spacious with plenty of hanging space; it also had a large shower & bath. The room was kept clean but there were cobwebs in a couple of corners (top right hand side above door on way out of room & top left hand side by window). The ceiling light is in need of a clean as it is hosting what looks like dead flies/insects etc.

The hotel was over warm and this was uncomfortable on occasion.
The satellite TV in the room only had limited English channels ie. BBC World and CNN & maybe one other.

There weren't the usual hospitality items i.e. shower cap, cotton buds, sewing kit, tea, coffee, milk as you would normally find in 4* hotels. The bathroom had several 'soap/shampoo dispensers' fitted to the walls which gives the impression of a budget motel rather than 4* hotel.

The sauna was only open from 4-6 pm each day although additional time was available for parties of 4 or more on payment of a fee.

The hotel decor is rather shabby & tired and is in need of a make-over.

The communal area where you get the breakfast/salad buffet is very small & is inadequate to cater for the large number of diners that were there when we were. The buffet area is smaller than the average UK living room and when there are people 3 deep trying to help themselves to the buffet it becomes unpleasant.

The quality of food was very disappointing; breakfast consisted of a few cereals, limited choice of bread, a glass jar of coffee with a spoon in it to 'help yourself' didn't look particularly appetising, nor did the unpalatable 'press a button' machine coffee. Nothing seemed to be placed in a logical order as the milk for tea/coffee was by the cereal and as the area was so small it just added to the chaotic feel.

The mixed fresh fruit was always enjoyable; but not the pink under-cooked bacon that was sat in it's own watery liquid for ages. The scrambled eggs were congealed and solid from being left in the heated serving dish. There was sliced cheese & ham on offer but overall the choice of food was very poor for a hotel that is supposed to be 4*.

Each morning you ticked your choice of evening meal from the menu; there were always 3 options, sometimes, lamb, turkey or chicken but most of the time it was pork and always a strange mixture of sweet and savoury as all main courses had something sweet added in which personally I do not like. As for the desserts, these were more like children's school dinner puddings i.e. chopped bananas with a wierd type of custard.
Very disappointing on all counts.
Oh, there is no room service either!

Room Tip: don't bother with any of the rooms here - select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MisJoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6314gill, Owner at Hotel Sonnschein, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. However, there are quite a few points I would like to correct in order that any potential new guest doesnt receive the wrong information.

1. Check in is 2 pm and as you arrived much earlier I remember telling you that your room wasnt ready but your partners daughters room was so as the room was close to yours you could store your luggage in there until your room was finished. I did not send you to your room before it had been serviced.

2. Unfortunately since 6th Feb BBC have changed the frequency of their satellite and the whole of Europe has the problem of not being able to view BBC, ITV etc - however we apologise for any inconvenience and are looking for a way to get around this problem.

3. Our Wellness are is open from 7.30 am until 7 pm and we have two Saunas - one of which is open from 4 until 7pm and the other is available throughout the day at any time and no extra charge. We also have two infrared cabins which can be used at any time throughout the opening hours.

4. We do not provide small toiletries in the room due to the problem we all have with unnecessary plastic packing - we provide a high quality Sutton & Foster all over body shampoo - however we have sewing kits, soap, shower caps etc at the reception should anyone require one.

5. I have checked the menüs for the week 1st until 8th March and just for the information of potential guests we served pork once, venison, fish 3 times, escalope of turkey and turkey ragout
half a roast chicken, breast of chicken, Jacket potato, Gammon, Lasagne, Spaghetti Carbonara, Roast Lamb Pasta bake and deep fried camembert cheese to name but a few.

I do remember your partner asking me where the nearest pizza restaurant was - unfortunately we didnt serve pizza last week but if you had asked we would have happily made one for you.

I do agree that the buffet area is rather small when we have full occupation, this is something we are hoping to change for next season. There are two large machines which are for filter coffee, tea, hot chocolate, hot milk and hot water . There is also hot and cold milk by the cereals. I find these machines practical and the quality of the drinks excellent- also the fact that a guest can drink as much or as little as they choose. The "jar with the spoon in" is decaffinated coffee.

I am really sorry that so many aspects of our hotel dissapointed you - however as I am here from 8 am until 10 pm daily am surprised you didnt take the time to discuss your dissatisfaction with me.

Luckily the majority of our guests are repeat customers and return year after year.

Gill Thaler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Sonnschein in Feb 14. Arrived early (11am) and room ready. Owner Gill and her staff always helpful and friendly.
The rooms are spotless and well maintained.
Food is always of a good quality and is varied.
Close to the ski schools and lifts ( 5 mins walk) and to the main street.
The hotel has two pools, well maintained and a welcome relief when with little ones.

Room Tip: Head for the local Spar to purchase coffee/tea/milk to use with the kettle/cups/fridge in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley P p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel at about 2am due to a delayed flight and was pleased that a staff member was there to greet us and our room keys had already be sorted so we could go straight to our rooms and formally check in the next day.

The room was large and spacious with a massive bed. It was clean, spotless and there was plenty of wardrobe space. The only thing that I found strange about the room was that a kettle and cups were provided but no tea/coffee. These had to be bought from the reception (which I found a little strange for a 4* hotel but didn't bother us much as we had bought our own tea bags anyway).

There was no wi-fi in the rooms but you could buy a €1 token at reception to access the wi-fi in the reception area for 1 hour. Perfect for just checking your e-mails whilst having a drink.

The hotel is a walk from the slopes. It took just over 5 minutes to walk to the gondola but this is uphill so is not easy in ski-boots.

The staff at the hotel are lovely, all are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Gill the owner was always around and willing to help however she could.

The menu choices were pretty limited at dinner time but it did try to cater for all with at least one vegetarian option. The soups were delicious but sometimes the dessert was a little dry. Still tasty though.

All in all, a great stay at this hotel and we would stay at the hotel again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Emily2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Visited 23rd February 2014 the week after most have English half term. Party included good adult skiers and 2 child novices age 5 and 7. Went with Ingham's package. Resort still quite busy as Dutch school holidays. Hotel rooms and service excellent. Good choice of buffet breakfast. Evening meals had limited choice but always included a soup, salad buffet , choice of 2 or 3 main courses and a dessert. Children could have either the child option ( usually something like chicken nuggets and chips) or anything off the adult menu. Quality was variable, overall average but no-one in the party went hungry.
We did not pre-book skis or boots as Inghams could not guarantee the hire would be from the hotel. There is ski hire in the hotel which stays open until 10pm on the Saturday arrival day which we used and could have used had we had Inghams vouchers. However the choice of boots and skis was poor (might have been better if we had pre-booked) and the 10 minute walk uphill to ski school was awkward with young kids. We could use a ski depot near the lift and bus stop at the end of the day, it was open 8am to 5pm but the skis had to be returned to the hotel at the end of the week. Doing it again I would prebook on-line with the same company Thaler Renate and get a 10% discount. I would get fitted at the main shop ( 1minute away from Niederau main lift and 1 minute from bus stop) at 8am on the Sunday and use the ski depot they have over the road for storage in the week. This saves 2 exhausting trips carrying all the equipment too and from the hotel.
We were recommended the blue ski school activ for the children and had no regrets. The children had an English instructor and were in a group of 9. The 5 year old had a choice of skiing with his brother or going in the kindergarten. The price was the same whether he had 4 hours in ski school (2hrs am, 2hrs pm) or 2 hours in morning kindergarten due to the higher staff ratio in kindergarten. The school were happy to mix and match depending on progress. The 5 year old did not need a lift pass (up to 5's are free), the 7 year old needed a pass from the 2nd day as the village learner pommer was not free. There were enough short blue runs in the village for the kids to learn on for the first 4 days. On the 5th and last day they were taken up the mountain by gondola for the 2 longer blues which have T-bars and came back down by gondola. This was fine for our learner young kids but the lack of blue runs down the mountain would be a problem next time and for older kids or adults who progressed faster. The 7 year old did manage the easiest red down on his last day but it was a challenge.
Niederau had enough runs including a lovely quiet easy black to keep the experienced skiers happy for 1 or 2 days. After that we took the 20 minute bus ride to Auffach which opens up the rest of the Ski Jewel area (same lift pass) with a lot more choice. Being school holidays you either needed an early or a late bus to avoid the bottleneck at Auffach. The 8-20 bus meant a 5 minute queue, the 8-40 a 10 minute queue but the 9-30 bus could mean a 45 minute queue. Do a couple of runs in Niederau and arrive in Aufach after 10-30 and you are back to a 10 minute queue. Once on the mountain you could avoid any queing. There were no problems getting a seat on the bus at Niederau but the bus was crammed if you returned at 4pm when ski schools finished. If going over to Alpbachtal you can only ski 2/3rds the way down the Schatzberg under the new lift but there was no problem getting the gondola to the bottom.and up the other side.
Despite the lack of fresh snow the runs at Niederau all being North facing held up very well.
The hotel arranges one bus on Thursday and Friday to the more extensive Ski Welt area but you need to pre-plan this to have the right ski pass as you cannot upgrade the Ski Jewel pass. If you think you will want this it is worth considering the All Star pass that covers both areas but is more expensive. As a first visit to the area the Ski Jewel area was more than enough for us.
The hotel has 2 nice small pools and a very hot table tennis room next to the sauna. Internet not very good and is 2 euros for 1 hour. However I had excellent reception in the hotel and on all the mountains on my "three" smartphone. Check if your tarrif includes "Feel at home" in which case calls and internet cost no extra in Austria. For free mobile calls to other members of your party you both need to have the "Feel at home option".
Overall excellent holiday

Room Tip: Quiet location so most rooms quiet. Good variety of rooms in both old and new part. Some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel rooms were large and very clean. Plenty of facilities. Service good.
Food average and we were refused a glass of water in bar after buying wine, beer etc. grrrr! This is the first hotel in many years of skiing this has happened not impressed.
A bit of a hike to ski area - 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lacabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#7 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
116 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschein

Address: Sonnhangweg 5, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £93 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnschein 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well furbished family run hotel in two acres of private park land. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the top class hospitality of the Thaler family.Spacious light and airy rooms with a homely feeling. Two heated indoor pools, two saunas and a steam bath. Solarium and massages available at an extra charge. Top quality cuisine and friendly service provided by our loyal team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonnschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnschein Hotel Niederau
Sonnschein Hotel Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing