We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic again”
Review of Hotel Sonnschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sonnschein
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Another great week at the Sonnschein. As always everything was fantastic and even the snow obliged. I already have withdrawal symptoms. See you next February.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFluter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

Having stayed for the first time in January this year loved it so much went back for more 5 weeks later! Beautiful Hotel, wonderful wellness centre, immaculate and spacious rooms and friendly helpful staff. The fact that so many people there had been before speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marceljt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

IIhave just returned from Austria (5/03/2011) and I had read some negative reviews regarding this hotel before going there to ski -so I feel I should add my experince whilst staying there . Firstly It is nothing short of excellent , it is very clean as the rooms are cleaned avery day with new towels in place. Gill staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them to do, the food is also of a high standard -plenty of it and warm ( 4 course meel in the evening) .Beverages are reasonable where a pint of larger is 3.20 euros and a pint of coca cola for the children is 4.00 euros . The hotel has its own ski hire , and convieniently you can then leave this equipment over at its sister hotel the Harfenwirt which is a 5 min walk to the base of the nursery slopes. Overall my family had a great time at this hotel and would highly recommend staying here - we are going back next year !!! many thanks to the staff !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superjack001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

On arirval, there was an immediate welcoming and warm atmosphere and we were greeted by Gill the proprioter. She was lovely and very helpful and made us feel immediately at ease. We were a group of three and stayed in one of the family rooms which, athough clearly one of the older rooms, we could not fault. There was a double room and a lounge equipped with 2 very comfortable sofa beds which were a very good size. There was also a small kitchen area and a decent sized, spotless bathroom. All areas of the hotel were absolutely spotless and we were particularly impressed with the leisure facilities. As keen swimmers, the 2 swimming pools were the trump card as well as the steam room which was a very welcome amenity after a day on the slopes!! The food was very good so far as breakfast was a buffet and you could fill up for the day. Dinner was very good as there was a really nice and fresh salad buffet. However, the meat dishes left a lot to be desired as the chef seemed consistently unable to cook meat/fish that was anything else but dry and tough as old shoe leather. On the other hand, that is my only fault with the food. Perfect location for accessing the slopes/ski school with just a 5 minute uphill walk to either. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel would be a welcome addition as €30/week seems a bit excessive. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bossistheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Very modern, spacious, high standard of equipment in bedrooms and a very comfy hotel. Staff were helpful and efficient. Older, centre section, of the hotel perhaps less well equipped, and rooms numbered under 100 perhaps best avoided in preference to upper numbered rooms. Food was generally of a good standard with more than adequate quantity, and with one evening exception, of a high standard.
Two indoor pools, one at blood temp and the other cool, were excellent, as were the associated saunas and infra red cabins, all free of charge. I used the visiting masseur twice, and was very impressed with his skills. Management was always efficient and present whenever required. (Well done, Gill!)

Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
Thank shabwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed at Sonnschein in Niederau for one week whilst skiing. This hotel was lovely. Extremely clean, rooms were immaculate, in particular the bathroom facilities. Leisure facilities were also top quality. Food was typically Austrian and very good. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallworthfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our stay was excellent, book room 125 corner room very spacious, Could not fault the attitude of the owner or cleaning staff and we are experienced travellers. The skiing was excellent. Ski school is a must, with the staff catering for all needs. This is our 3rd visit and would like to make a 4th.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 25 in Wildschonau
116 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschein

Address: Sonnhangweg 5, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
#4 Family Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £93 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnschein 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well furbished family run hotel in two acres of private park land. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the top class hospitality of the Thaler family.Spacious light and airy rooms with a homely feeling. Two heated indoor pools, two saunas and a steam bath. Solarium and massages available at an extra charge. Top quality cuisine and friendly service provided by our loyal team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Sonnschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnschein Hotel Niederau
Sonnschein Hotel Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing