We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scenery”
Review of Hotel Schneeberger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schneeberger
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Our rep met us at the hotel when we arrived, but there wasn't anyone from the hotel at reception. There are steps up to the reception area from the car park but no ramp, so you have to carry your suitcases up them yourself. Not a problem if you're fit & healthy, but not so good if you're recovering from an operation. There was no offer of porterage to assist us to our rooms - as there was no-one on the desk.
The hotel is in a good position for walking in the area and near the cable car. Our room was beautiful with excellent views, but we had upgraded to a deluxe room and I would certainly recommend this as the room was bright & airy with a private balcony.
The food was good, albeit not very large portions or much of a variation of choice. On the second night they plated our salad 'buffet' and left it at our table. It was the same on the next night, and when I queried this I was told that it was because there were not many people staying in the hotel so they hadn't put the full buffet out. I replied that we still like to have a buffet to choose from rather than what someone else has decided for us, and the buffet was put back on the next night, which suited us much better and was what we had been expecting. The weekly BBQ that was advertised did not happen either, even though we had beautiful weather.
A similar format for breakfast, not much to choose from and very limited on quantity. The only 'hot' food was boiled egg!! Having read other reviews I have come to the conclusion it was, once again, because there were not many people staying at that time. It must be a lot better during the skiing season rather than the summer?
A downside is the smoking. You have to walk through the bar from the rooms to get to the restaurant, and although the bar is 'enclosed' the enclosure does not go up to the ceiling and the bar is open ended, so the smoke drifts through. Also, if the outside doors to the terrace are open and people are smoking out there this drifts through too, so you get it from both angles.
Niederau is a really lovely village, we loved the peace and quiet and the people.
We've travelled to Austria many times and love visiting the different places. This is certainly one of the prettiest. Not the best hotel we've had, not the worst.
Europe has a totally different outlook on smoking to us, and we do try to understand that, but we've stayed in hotels in Austria that ensure that the eating area is kept smoke free, unfortunately this hotel does not. We only sat out on the terrace one evening for a drink as the smokers outweighed the non smokers so it was most unpleasant.
It is the only hotel we've ever stayed in that has cut back on the food and selection (especially at breakfast).
Cleanliness was excellent, our chambermaid was very good.
We were not troubled by the disco, this did not affect us at all, even though our room was nearby.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollydaze57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lovely clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Food was great in the evening and the breakfast. Lovely views from our balcony. Even provided us with breakfast an hour earlier than normal on our last morning as we had an early start. The only small downside was the smoking in the bar area but as we didn't use the bar it was no problem for us. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small and friendly place to stay. The village is uncommercialized with very few shops, which we enjoyed. The cablecar is only a few minutes walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngeShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just back from a directski week's ski holiday with my family. Can not praise the hotel and the staff enough. Rooms were big, food was great and the staff went out of their way to help in any way they could including packing a breakfast for us because we were leaving so early on the last day. The hotel is located an easy 5 minute walk from the Niderau slopes and from the bus to Aufbach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markw186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We are beginners who wanted to try skiing for a few days and the Schneeberger would accommodate us for the 4 nights we wanted through booking.com. We paid a total of 480euro which included a double room, breakfast and evening meal for the 2 of us.

Arrival - We flew into Munich and got the train to Worgl simply because it was the cheaper option and very easy to do. We then got a taxi to the resort which only cost 16euro. When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed and given our keys but the host did not tell us where the centre of the resort was or give us a map so we went wandering in the wrong direction. So for those of you who are planning to stay here you need to turn left out of the front door and left again. A quick 2 min walk and you are in the centre of the resort and where the ski lessons go from. It is easier to go out of the back door up the driveway and turn left at the top. Much easier when you have your skis.

Room - We thought that they had accidentially been given us a superior room because it was huge with double doors onto a balcony and a huge window on the other wall looking out onto the mountains. There was a TV with limited English channels but I would say that the majority of travellers were German so it wa snot suprising. Although we couldnt hear any noise from outside the walls are thin so we could hear people in the corridors at night. Bathroom was abit dated but the shower had good water pressure so no problems there.

Food - You receive a menu every morning at breakfast to choose your evening meal from 3 and there can be no complaints about the food! The 4 course meal consisted of a starter, soup, main course and dessert as well as the salad bar. A few things we ate:

Starters - parma ham, melon and garlic bread
- tortellini pasta with tomato sauce
- Salmon pate
Soups - Noodle
- pumpkin
- tomato
Main courses - Pork medallions with peppercorn sauce
- Turkey kebabs
- Beef stroganoff
Desserts - Peach sorbet
- trio of coffee desserts
- Chocolate cream cake

Breakfast was also very good with breads, hams, cheese, croissants, donoughts and either fried/scrambled/boiled eggs.

WARNING - The room you see in the pictures in not the room you eat in! I can only assume that those in superior rooms get to eat in the traditional room. It is not unpleasant but just a bit of a let down compared to what we were expecting.

Spa facilities - Really there is only a sauna because the 'whirlpool' was basically just a bath with a few bubbles and you had to pay 5euro extra for it! It wasnt even that warm. Sauna is very good but do note that people do go into saunas naked in Austia.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and would consider staying here again but would probably prefer to have a pool and jacuzzi after a long day skiing. We would definitely come back to this resort as it has fab night life and is very good for beginners!

...Finally as we flew into Munich we decided to go to Therme Erding which is a natural spa just outside of the city which also has a 16 slide waterpark inside and is only 31 euro for 5 hours, absolute bargin!! If you are in the area do not miss out on this opportunity it is the biggest and best spa in Europe. Do note however that 'Saunaparadise' means you have to be naked! It is only 1/3 of the facilities and this is definitely the most luxurious area so if you dare do bare all, its worth it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emz_ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just returned from a great weeks skiing holiday. This hotel was excellent value for money and provided a comfortable base for our first skiing experience. The staff were very accommodating and the rooms clean & comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definately return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which had a bath, much needed after a day on the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is our 16th visit to this hotel and it gets better each time. There is an extensive buffet breakfast with all types of bread,rolls,ham,various meats,cheese,selection of cereals,fruit,yogurt,toast,eggs,different teas and juice, and coffee. Evening meal is now 5 courses with a choice of main dish. The food is really delicious and nicely presented. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay homely. The rooms are warm and very clean. Each room has a flat screen tv and wifi is available for a small fee. Pay the extra and have a delux room. We just love this hotel and will always return.



  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassycutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We have just come back from staying at the Schneeberger and had a wonderful time. The owners are very friendly and made us very welcome. The food is excellent with a good choice each day. Breakfast was wonderful with plenty of cereals, ham, cheese, eggs and different varieties of bread and rolls. I certainly would recommend this hote.l to anybody - very clean and homely.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cassycutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#6 of 25 in Wildschonau
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
457 reviews
2.7 mi away
Apparthotel Talhof
Apparthotel Talhof
#1 of 5 in Oberau
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schneeberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schneeberger

Address: Wildschoenauerstrasse 132 | Wildschönauer Strasse 132/1, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £70 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schneeberger 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildschönau occupies a beautiful location in the heart of the Tirolean mountains, between the Wilder Kaiser and Kitzbühel Alps mountain ranges. Our hotel nestles in the heart of the Kitzbühel Alps and features a number of cozy rooms, each with safe, shower/WC, TV, hairdrier, telephone, Cometic Mirrow & Balcony. Regain you spirits after an active day out walking, hiking or Skiing and retreat to the in-house wellness and vitality area with sauna, infrared cabin, steam bath, jacuzzi, tanning beds. Half-board arrangement inclusive of welcome drink, buffet breakfast, 4-course dinner with a Chooise of Mai Course. In the Summer the Wildschönau Summer Card is already included! That means free admission to the outdoor swimming center, free use of tennis courts, use of means of mountain transport, free admission to the miners' museum and the silver mine, free events within the framework of the walking and children's program offered by the local tourist office. After our Building Works in Sprin 2017 - we got rated up to a 3 Star Superior Hotel. The Schneeberger family and their team are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Atrapalo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Schneeberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schneeberger Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing