We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single room”
Review of Hotel Schneeberger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schneeberger
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Reviewed 17 July 2014

June-July. So called deluxe room was narrow, like a corridor, with furniture all along one wall and end walls occupied by doors. Newly furnished but poor design, eg had bedside light but no light switch within reach. Noisy glass sliding door to narrow 'bathroom'. Bad traffic noise at night. Food quality very variable. Service from staff was good. Resort seems to be taken over by hang gliders who make full use of the gondola lift.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 168Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schneeberger
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a fab week in June here. Typical Austrian decor rooms but larger than average with a large bathroom. Great view of the mountains from the balcony to have a beer after a long ride or walk. Nice terrace to enjoy a drink. Typical regional food not gourmet but wholesome and tasty washed down with delicious house red wine. BBQ was great, although a little chaotic and some of the salad ran out. Dinner was served 6.30 to 7.30 which was a bit early for us and if you leave it a bit later, some of the salad ran out on some nights so we just went down after 6.30 and it was fine. Breakfast choice was plenty and nice coffee. Neiderau was a lovely small village and offered great walking. The area is not really geared up as well as other areas for biking but we had 4 days of mountain biking and enjoyed it. Hired bikes from Mountain Edge, which is run by Rob an English guy and delivers the bikes to your hotel which was a great service and would recommend, hotel has bike storage. Great holiday and will go back to same hotel in the summer and hope for the same weather although may be not 34 degrees which we had 1 day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from a late deal summer holiday based in this hotel, and could not have wished for anything better. The hotel is centrally placed in the small village of Niederau and the room (103)was very comfortable with a large balcony that faced west and received the evening sunshine. The bathroom was a little cramped, but perfectly adequate and the towels were changed frequently (without us asking) during the week. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff/family owners very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The evening meals were largely of the traditional 'hearty' Austrian type and were very tasty and enjoyable.

The village of Niederau and the other villages in the Wildschonau valley are an excellent base for a walking holiday. Residents of the hotels are provided with a card that enables free access to the gondolas, the local swimming pool, guided walks and other attractions.

We intend visiting Niederau again in the future and will have no hesitation in looking to stay at the Schneeberger.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jml4063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed in the hotel from 16th to the 23rd Feb 2014 and must say that having stayed in many hotels i found this to be the most comfortable and relaxing stay i have had in some time. The rooms I felt were excellent considering this is a ski resort in the winter and use to heavy lots of people about. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent and I would put this down to having great staff and I also noticed that the hotel is owner managed by Christian who is always more than willing to help.

This hotel looks small from the outside but massive inside with various dining rooms which in our package catered half board which was breakfast and dinner and I must say this is some of the tastiest food I have eaten in some time, it also happened to impress some food buffs at our table which is rare.
The wine selection was also excellent which the girls couldn't seem to get enough off. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Well done Christian and your team....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank export955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Came back from a 5 night ski holiday yesterday. Hotel excellent - room warm & spacious, we were travelling with our 13 year old daughter, so booked a 'junior suite' which was a double room with a sofa bed in an adjacent area separated by a wall, so plenty of privacy for all of us. We stayed half board and really enjoyed the 5-course Austrian evening meal and buffet breakfast. If you want chips with everything, this isn,t for you, although the a la carte menu had a wide range of choices including pasta and pizza. The family who own the hotel were friendly and helpful and our smattering of German was Ok to get by with. We arrived half way through evening dinner & they were great & keen to make sure we didn,t miss our meal. The smell of cigarette smoke wafted upstairs at night ( we were on first floor) & not pleasant but hotel & rooms were well aired during the day so not really a problem - all other places we went into were the same. Neiderau is a lovely place, quieter than we expected which we liked, and we would agree that its good for families and beginners. My daughter & I liked the blue/red runs but my husband (who's a red/black skier) thought the harder runs didn't flow as well as in other places so lots of poleing to get from one to another. We spent a day in Aufach which he preferred and it was easy to get there on the Skibus. We flew into Munich and very easy drive from there to the resort. All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Thanks very much to the other trip advisor reviewers. I think this is an amazing family run hotel. I am here now at half term (room 216, huge and no noise issues yet). I speak no german but understand a little so i feel a bit rude but unlike last months reviewer have no issues being understood or understanding (menus etc in english).

I am here with my 2 young girls and feel welcome as a single parent, many guests are english (or speaking english e.g. Those from netherlands), and we arrived after the 6:00-7:30 dinner time but were still welcomed and offered food. The bar area is smoky but no need to enter it as the rear hotel entrance is the one you use to go to and from the slopes.

In common with niederau in general people are friendly and, it seems, mostly english, mostly from north of london. The playroom is a bit tired and anarchic (people let their kids go in alone) but better than none. There is tabletennis room too. And a sauna (naked....someone left the door open so have checked!)

Austrian food is very amusing and we seem to share our menus with many other hotels having talked to other (soup with batter balls anyone?). I think the food here is very typical austria, it was the same in other places, and there are about 6 courses including salad so nobody is going to go hungry (not sure its ideal for veggies unless you love spinach!). I wish there was bread with dinner for my fussy kids to eat. Breakfast is lovely.

The hotel is especially convenient for the blue ski school, you can get at locker at a few places near the gondola but that is pointless if you are skiing with the blues (not finding them great for the 3 year old, not as kind as you would hope). It is the closest i have ever been to the slopes.

All in all i'm finding this place terrific value for money and i can see why both the hotel and niederau attract return visitors. I would be back in a flash, too bad it's fully booked for my next trip....book early :-)

Room Tip: I agree that higher is better. The top floor is the 3rd
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

3rd visit to niederau and great time as usual but first time this hotel. Positive points,hotel is very clean as are rooms.breakfast is buffet and plenty choice .dinner was plentiful but food very highly seasoned.and really not to our taste.Down side for us was very few English speaking staff so problems being understood and communicating ,not really many Brits in hotel when we stayed.I know people mention smell of smoke but that allowed every place in resort.Will return to resort but another hotel probably nearer gondola.

Room Tip: We on 3 rd floor which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#4 of 25 in Wildschonau
116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Apparthotel Talhof
Apparthotel Talhof
#1 of 5 in Oberau
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#7 of 11 in Niederau
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schneeberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schneeberger

Address: Wildschoenauerstrasse 132 | Wildschönauer Strasse 132/1, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: £70 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schneeberger 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildschönau occupies a beautiful location in the heart of the Tirolean mountains, between the Wilder Kaiser and Kitzbühel Alps mountain ranges. Our hotel nestles in the heart of the Kitzbühel Alps and features a number of cozy rooms, each with safe, shower/WC, TV, hairdrier, telephone, Cometic Mirrow & Balcony. Regain you spirits after an active day out walking, hiking or Skiing and retreat to the in-house wellness and vitality area with sauna, infrared cabin, steam bath, jacuzzi, tanning beds. Half-board arrangement inclusive of welcome drink, buffet breakfast, 4-course dinner with a Chooise of Mai Course. In the Summer the Wildschönau Summer Card is already included! That means free admission to the outdoor swimming center, free use of tennis courts, use of means of mountain transport, free admission to the miners' museum and the silver mine, free events within the framework of the walking and children's program offered by the local tourist office. After our Building Works in Sprin 2017 - we got rated up to a 3 Star Superior Hotel. The Schneeberger family and their team are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Schneeberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schneeberger Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing