We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very relaxing break.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Lovely family run hotel in a small town. Food excellent and all local, not an English dish in sight-perfect. Lots of lovely walks and scenery, free cable car pass to go up in to the hills. Very quiet and relaxing. Only one comment would be that they could do with some new fluffy towels! Locals have a traditional concert on a Wednesday evening which is lovely, they don't need much encouragement to don the traditional dress and get the schnapps out. Really lovely evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    58
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
58
59
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hotel Austria. The family and staff were all really friendly and helpful. The food was good and the beds were really comfortable. The pool was exactly what was required after a good hike in the beautiful surroundings.

The hotel is located very close to the chair lift and it has the added benefit of having the bus stop and Bummelbahn (train like engine and coach) stop right outside its door enabling very easy exploration of the valley.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Skied from here for week in March. The hotel is perfectly located for local slopes and it is easy to catch the ski bus to other slopes too. The hotel is spacious and beautifully clean. I was given a huge room with en suite bathroom, just for myself - a pleasant change from being put in the cupboard under the stairs and charged the earth for it, as usually happens for singles.
Our party had three rooms on the first floor, all of which were excellent and had nice views from the windows.
The rooms also had seating areas and a table - great for sitting with a drink or reading etc.
Breakfast in the light, bright diningroom was superb. So much choice, in a buffet style. We all sat together in a bay which kind of made it more intimate than a large bare room. Dinner at night was relaxed and had a choice of menu.
The staff were all lovely, friendly, and nothing seemed too much trouble. We would all recommend this hotel for anyone, groups, families or couples.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theresalwaysone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from another great week in the hotel Austria.
The staff were all friendly and extremely accommodating to us.
Food was of a good standard and it was lovely to sample some traditionally Austrian cuisine.
Ski school instructor (red ski school Michel) was excellent! However, there was a lack of snow on the lower slopes that had turned very icy by the end of the week.
We took our 3 year old who went to ski school in the mornings and thoroughly enjoyed himself.
I would highly recommend this hotel and resort especially if you have a family!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with friends for a week at the hotel Austria. Location is great as chair lift opposite and just outside the bus stop to Auffach for more choice of runs. Food is ok, breakfast simple but filling and evening meal does the job. Not great but filling. Puddings boring. Staff some friendly others could do with smiling . Rooms very hot so grateful for a balcony door and window to open. Dining room so hot so be prepared and take short sleeves. Swimming pool,ok but a little cold. Boot room great and under hotel so convenient. Stayed in hotel with 6 friends ,2 of us had single rooms which were spacious and mine ,309 ,modern bathroom but was side of the church so got woken at 6 when bell ringing starts but by the end of the week you get use too it. Rooms cleaned everyday , have t.v but only 2 English channels, sky news and bbc news. Overall a good week but hotel could be brighten up and staff a little more friendly. Our week skiing was gorgeous blue skies so no snow in Niederau village as poor on slopes so we ventured on the bus to Auffach as higher.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Hotel Austria is run by a lovely family. The location couldn't be better, right opposite the gondola and ski school with the bus stop just next door to take you to Oberau and Auffach. The service and support given to us was perfect (especially as I was injured on day 3!). There were three different choices of main course every night and all beautifully cooked. There is a vegetarian menu and a children's menu so plenty to choose from. Breakfast was also plentiful. I also have to say that their hot chocolates were the biggest and best we had in Niederau! We had room 302 which was spacious for 3 people and the view of the ski run was great. The rooms and the hotel are quite warm but better this than being cold. We just opened the window a little. The ski hire below the hotel is very convenient and their heated lockers kept our boots warm for the next day. The pool is big enough for the children to splash about it and use up their left over energy. As I have already said, a fantastic place to stay, especially for families.

Room Tip: Room 302 is on the opposite side to the church so if the windows were shut we didn't hear the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moffit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are spacious, very clean but a little hot. This is quite usual for Austrian hotels so we were happy to sleep with the window open. Unlike other reviews we were not woken by the church bells. The food is of a good standard but the desserts are boring and a bit bland, would be far better to have had more traditional Austrian desserts. Breakfast can be a bit tiresome by the end of the week with the only hot food on offer being scrambled egg. The pool is very small and cold! The ski hire and boot rooms are below the hotel which is very handy and the lockers are brilliant as they prevent skis and boots getting mixed up, they also have boot warmers within each locker. Niederau itself is a pretty village but the slopes are very limited and very boring, lots of drag lifts and for this reason we would not return, even nearby Auffach did not impress.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank We5tJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#7 of 11 in Niederau
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#4 of 11 in Niederau
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#9 of 11 in Niederau
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: Niederau 123, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing