We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of February. We choose this hotel due to the location and it did not disappoint. I was travelling with my husband and 2 boys (7 & 10) it was perfect for us. It is literally opposite the nursery slopes and ski school. We were with the Red ski school and they were superb. The skiing was great for all of us and there are plenty of places to have lunch anfd drinks.
We paid the supplement for the superior room which had a beautiful view of the church. The rooms were a bit tired but we had a good size bath(essential to rest those weary limbs) and the beds were comfy. We took our own towels as we had read about this but they were fine. The food was good, typical continental breakfast woth lots of choice and dinner was a menu of salad, soup, choice of 3 main courses and a dessert. The service can sometimes be a bit slow but we werent in a rush so it was fine.
The pool was great for all of us and yes the sauna/steam room is only open on a monday and thursday but we knew this beforehand as it was stated in the brochure.
The lady and daughter who run the hotel were very pleasant and we did not encounter any of the previous writers attitude.

Overall this is a good hotel, yes some things could be improved but we were there for the skiing and the location cannot be beaten

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonFamilyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2010

We decided this place was like Fawlty Towers. All the comments about the unreceptive lady on reception (Sybil) are spot on. Her sister runs the ski-hire shop in the basement. There are no cheery welcomes at that level either. The guy running the restaurant seemed a suitable candidate for Basil, but then we realised he's in terror of Sybil too - maybe this is the way things should be. The Manuel and Polly (restaurant staff) characters were on their best behaviour when Sybil was auditing.
The food could never be described as good. This was our third ski holiday in Austria (the previous two having been to more expensive 4*hotels in St.Anton and Zell am Zee). We like good food and the stodge served up to "package" holiday-makers is evidently of a lesser grade than they offer to passing trade in the public restaurants.
I don't understand the comments that other reviewers made about the church bells - we were looking directly at the church from our room and heard the bells ring very occasionally. It was a very pleasant view and the bells did not disrupt our sleep.
The shag-pile carpet hides a multitude - it looks clean, but it's impossible to know that it is actually clean. I lost a couple of small items that you would not like to find.
We paid extra to stay here because of the location. That is it's only plus over the neighbouring hotels - we compared notes with residents of some others.
They charge extra for things a 4* hotel would normally provide for free, such as (1) soap in the room, (2) use of the sauna (free only on pre-order 2 nights per week), (3) wi-fi internet (1 euro for 10 mins)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoCorkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Looking around for a cheap ski holiday, I found this hotel at a bargain price. After being to the french alps and practically being robbed each day for a beer or food I heard Austria was cheaper.

The hotels location was superb and had a ski hire shop in the basement. All staff were friendly but the old lady on front desk didnt seem to like smiling too much. After signing in, I went upto my room and opened the door to find that the room looked in no way as swish as they looked in the brochure. I reckon a couple of grand would need to be thrown into each room like mine to bring upto date. The rooms were very clean though and after the first night it didnt bother me.

Food in the hotel was good but the staff couldnt wait to give you the next course. I finish my soup and then the main comes out within a minute. Wasnt a problem for me because I get hungry quickly.

Skiing in Niederau is aimed at beginners and intermediates. Red runs are more tricky blues and the blacks are how you would expect a red to be. I loved every minute of skiing them though.

Apres ski was superb, if you are into just having a good friendly drink and not getting wrecked and taking your clothes off like you would on an 18-30. Its a family resort afterall.

The Apres Ski bar I would recommend is the sportcafe. This is where you will find Gunther, who is as mad as a hatter and really friendly. I will always use this apres ski whenever I go to Niederau, but would like to try another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed at the Austria for a week's ski holiday and really liked it.
Location was great: just across road from ski lift and bus stop (although Niederau is very small so never much of a walk required).
This is really nit-picking: the town got a bit noisy at night sometimes, and the church bell rang on the hour all night (only a problem on one side of the hotel). Both of these could be blocked out by closing the double glazed windows, but then rooms got a bit too hot.
Rooms were typical Austrian hotel rooms: reasonable size, each with balcony and ample storage space. Bathroom small but functional: plenty of hot water for bath/shower after hard day's skiing.
Food was really good: choice of 3 dinners (inc 1 veggie) each evening. There was always something enticing and it was always well cooked, hot and large enough, especially after soup and salad to start.
Bar was only ok - very small and smoky (we'd forgotten how much we disliked smoky bars, since the smoking ban came in in UK!).
Ski hire was in basement of hotel, and ski storage and heated boot room provided.
Swimming pool was small but fine for stretching out aching muscles.
We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Hotel is in a great location, as a single traveller I had a single room which was absolutely fine for my needs, food and service in the restaurant was ok no complaints from me, the bar area and the rest of the hotel were ok - I would definately use this hotel again and am probably going to book it next year for skiing.
The rooms would be better if tea/coffee making facilities were avaliable, but this is my only moan, otherwise a great hotel and fabulous location right in the middle of the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Yes the location is good but that just isn't good enough. The service is second class and the hotel is run down. They provide the smallest and thinnest bath towels I have ever encountered, you can practically see through them. Everything is as little as they can get away with. You could put up with most of this if you were greeted by a smile and a warm welcome but the old lady (I guess the owner) is positively rude.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Well_travelled07Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We arrived late and I wasn't really sure about the Hotel Austria- the style in the foyer wasn't matched by the somewhat retro design up the stairs- maybe a little dated , but like a lot of places up grading and updating is ongoing dependent on how much money is available between seasons. When it says traditional Austrian in the brochure- it is exactly that- don't expect some flash boutique hotel, with high end iconic design and IKEA type furniture. There was a hot meal awaiting us in the restaurant, (better than the cold plate in the room we've encountered in the past) the waiter wasn't rude or surly, and the room wasn't claustrophobic even if the shag pile carpet was a bit of a surprise.
Admittedly a cat couldn't be swung in the bathroom, but the bath was brilliant for wallowing in after a good days walking- and the shower was adequate. The towels were changed 3 times during the week we stayed,and the bed linen twice.
We found the breakfast buffet to be every bit as good as we've had on other holidays in Austria at similarly rated hotels, and the choices for dinner were good too. There was at least one Austrian speciality on the menu every night, and if the main courses weren't to one's liking, it was possible to make a pretty decent meal out of the soup, generous salad buffet and sweet course. Portion size was often generous both in the residents dining room and on the hotel restaurant terrace.
We found the hotel staff to be very pleasant and extrememly helpful. The Hotel has a 7 seater taxi, available for guests to hire- you say where you'd like to get to and reception come back with a fare- based on how long the journey will take you. It certainly undercut the bus and train fare for a return trip to Westendorf by a fair amount.
The hotel's central location couldn't be better - bus stop 10 steps left of the door, Markbachjoch gondola 5 minutes straight out the door. One previous review complained about the Church bells.The 6am carillon is the villlage wake -up call, and the 8 am one is the call to Mass- the bell dings once for quarter past, twice on the half hour, 3 times on the three quarter then there's a small peal before the bells strike the hour. We got used to the sound quite quickly and didn't find it at all unpleasant. It was just part of village life The odd boy racer on a motor bike at weekends probably caused more noise.Take earplugs if that kind of thing bothers you, or choose a different hotel further away from the village centre.
Guest cards give useful discounts, and the Wildschonau card (38euros from the tourist office between Niederau & Oberau) is well worth it - valid for 6 days you get free or reduced entry into various attractions, and a daily return trip on each valley lift. On clear days the views and scenery from the top of the Markbachjoch & the Schatzberg are stunning, and there are plenty of walking options on both with well marked trails.
The Hotel swimming pool is small but perfectly formed - although if all 5 of us went for a swim at the same time it was crowded- fine for loosening off -If it's sunny falling asleep on one of the loungers is a distinct possibility.
We all had a great summer holiday based at the Austria, and would have no qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMM763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#7 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
46 reviews
2 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 25 in Wildschonau
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Niederau 123, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Price Range: £85 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing