We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Hohenfels
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Sportiv(Obergurgl)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Gurgl(Obergurgl)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crystal(Obergurgl)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olympia(Obergurgl)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regina(Obergurgl)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

As a family we have been going to Obergurgl for the last 10 years and absolutely love the resort. We stayed in the Hochfirst for our first visit but found the rather stuffy atmosphere not to our liking. We then tried the Madeleine and stayed there four times because of the quality of the food, however the rooms are a disappointment and the location is not ideal. We 'found' Hohenfels 5 years ago and absolutely love it. This family run bed and breakfast is in a perfect location 2 minutes walk from the Festkogel gondola and opposite a ski hire shop and supermarket. The rooms are spacious and clean and accomodation cannot be faulted. Elizabeth and her family have made my family feel like we are part of theirs.

Room Tip: Make certain to ask for a room with a balcony as the rooms at the back face a cliff!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skifanatic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have been spending Christmas and New year at the Hohenfels for the last 5 years, and staying in Obergurgl for 10 years.We love the Hohenfels for its family friendly atmosphere, it feels as though you are part of the family. We meet the same guests year on year from all over Europe we have seen children grow up and look forward to seeing them every year. We are a couple with no children. The bar run by Gerald is welcoming and a super meeting place after skiing, Gerald makes the best homemade Gluwien and special Hot chocolate for the children.
Elizabeth is a beautiful hostess and throughout the stay we will bump into her Mother, Father, and Brother at some stage they are all l key to the running of the business and so friendly. The rooms are spotless the Breakfast has got everything you need for a hard days Skiing.It really is faultless.Paradise

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_m_gibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had spotted this hotel/pension and it's proximity to the Festkogel gondala last year when we visited Obergurgl and thought we would try it. We weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were made extremely welcome. Elizabeth was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. We had a front facing corner room with a view of the lifts and nursery slope. The hotel was lovely and quiet. Breakfast was a cold buffet but it was sufficient for our needs and better than making our own in an apartment. It was nice having the bar to sit in as well when we returned from dinner in the evening. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed here just before Christmas 2011 have to say i could not fault the Hotel. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and made you feel so welcome. All the rooms bar lounge etc were spotlessly clean and accommodating. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice The location of the Hotel is literally two minutes walk from the ski lift. I was with a group of seven others and they all remarked at just how nice Hohenfels was . If you are planning a trip to Obergurgl and want a top class B&B I would definitely recommend Hohenfels just perfect for a skiing break !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringo59london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My wife, teenage kids and I stayed at the Hohenfels over New Year 2010/11. We had chosen it primarily because we wanted B&B rather than formal hotel dining and on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. Our expectations were surpassed in every way: all members of staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful; the location is terrific (less than 5 minutes in ski gear from ski school and only 100m from the Festkoglbahn gondola, 50m from a supermarket and 20m from ski hire) whilst quiet; the bar on the ground floor is welcoming and great value; rooms were spacious and immaculately clean (we had rooms at the rear but did not find them dark or oppressive) and there was even the surprise of cable tv with Sky Sports and all main UK channels. Separate ski and (heated) boot rooms made for easy ins and outs.

Both our rooms had baths with overhead showers and plenty of towels. There is a sauna (untried). Continental breakfasts were good and plentiful. Within five minutes walk there are a number of good restaurants - we enjoyed Salt & Pepper, Krumpn's Stadl and Belmonte Pizzeria in particular, whilst lunch in the Alpenaussicht (great sun deck) was quick and easy only 2 minutes from ski school. Staff were more than happy to make recommendations and reservations.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Notemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews