We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
28
25
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
25
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski totalbutton liftski hostingnursery slopescakesboot roomafternoon tea and cakerecent reviewsapres skibars and restaurantshot optionsfrench resortslounge areaonly criticismexcellent skia great weekthe ski hire shop
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I feel compelled to write as my friends and I had a very disappointing experience at Chalet Christophorus.
I was travelling with my regular ski buddies; we are very familiar with the chalet set up, and I have been a chalet girl in the past.
We had booked a continental twin/triple room with (single sofa bed) and were shocked to discover the so called ‘sofa bed’ was a hard covered bench with a series of decorative lumpy buttons sewn into the cover with merely a thread bare sheet covering it. There was no mattress to put on top, and the bench itself was barely 2’6” wide…not enough for a child to sleep on comfortably, let alone an adult. Just not conducive for a good nights sleep after a hard days skiing.The girl in charge of housekeeping was at a loss and could only offer a couple of duvets to put on the bench as a solution to the lack of mattress. I am afraid this was quite unacceptable. (Photos of this so called sofa bed bench attached)

There follows a list of the other problems with the chalet:

*The bedding was threadbare on all beds and clearly in need of replacement. (photo attached)

*Breakfast was laid out late on most days – coffee, bread ham and cheese laid out after we had arrived, there was fruit only on day one and muesli only on our last day. Never saw a croissant or pain au chocolat. The Chef was late on 3 occasions which meant the hot breakfast choice was not an option if you wanted to make the first ski lift as we did.
*The cups had filthy stains all over them
(photos of the offending items attached)
*Cutlery, that was dropped on the floor, was put back in the try for use by the waitress rather than replacing it with clean utensils. There were never enough glasses and the kettles and water jugs were always empty

The dining room was often unprepared for tea time with a lack of water for the kettles and with chairs that had been put up on the tables after breakfast that had to be put back in place by us the guests.

*Dinner was invariably a much slower drawn out affair than we are accustomed to in other chalets with unimaginative tepid food served on cold plates. The standard was way below what one would normally expect for this price bracket holiday.

*There was supposed to be a guest sitting room; we only found this towards the end of our holiday since it was actually two unused bedrooms which had dirty bottles and empty pizza cartons littering the place – we were told by fellow guests that they had remained there for most of the week of our holiday. There certainly wasn't seating for up to 34 guests and cozy, it wasn’t! (photos attached)

*Toilet paper seemed to be in short supply and had to be asked for on more than one occasion

*The lack of WiFi was a surprise to most of the guests, even though admittedly, it is not advertised.

Clearly this chalet did not live up to its 4 star rating; the staff, whilst quite pleasant, were very young and sorely in need of some training and supervision and it appeared that rushing for the ski slopes took priority.

I wrote to Ski Total/Esprit and received a very lukewarm and dismissive response and was left with a feeling that my complaints were going to be largely ignored.
In these days of economic recession and huge competition amongst holiday providers, it is astonishing that this company feel disinclined to take on board the comments of their clients.
(I see the sofa bed problem was highlighted in a review back in 2009)
I certainly won’t be recommending this company or using them again. My hard earned money will be spent with a company that actually cares and offers much more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olls2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

all the staff were a bubbly, friendly bunch who did anything that was asked of them.the food was ok but nowhere near the standard of previous ski total chalets.in saying that we didnt go hungry, and the location and fab weather outweighed any disappointment with the chalet.no cosy sitting room as in some previous chalets to chat about the day, just the dining room which doesnt lend itself to social evenings with fellow skiers.dont get lumbered with room number 30, just two single beds almost end to end, with one small wardrobe and the room is full, and there is no discount on the price-be warned our friends were not impressed!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This chalet is fine. It is in a great loaction on the slopes near ski school. It suffer from the lack of a communal area, and we felt very uncomfortable trying to sit in the restaraunt outside meal times. ther is a very unwelcoming bedroom converted into a lounge on the 2nd floor, but it is not well used. bedrooms are good, clean and good sized bathrooms.

Food is mediocre, staff seem to work around wht they want rather than the guests ( we were told we had to eat early on new years eve!! we did negotiate a later time eventually) Wine is OK, but boring by the end of the week

Children 12 and under need to each on their own, even if the rest of the family is older - unless you go through a major ordeal asking all the other families to fill in a form supporting them eating with you.

However the snow and skiing was great - so if you ignore the chalet - great holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This was our first ever trip to a chalet rather than a hotel and would thouroughly recomend it. The accomodation was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful it was great. Standard of food too was excellent and we loved the afternoon tea and cake. Free tea and coffee making facilities were available and because drinks with meals were all inclusive we saved about £200 on room bill!
It was great to be able to ski right back and virtually into the chalet. No lugging skis and boots into and out of town. Ski school meets just behind the chalet and Intersport is fifty yards from chalet for hiring stuff .The bus stop to Hochgurgl and Solden, should you wish to travel is just across the road.
We had chosen this accomodation because it was cheaper than where we stayed in Obergurgl last year and were not sure what to expect. It was Great!! Hoping to go back next year - what more can I say

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon111257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Having read some of the other reviews I was a bit anxious about going to Chalet Chrisophus. But our stay there in Feb 2010 as a party of 5 was absolutely brilliant. Location wise you cant fault it - backs directly onto the ski school meeting point, and with a bit of momentum you can ski into the car park and right up to the front door! Intersport and bus stop just at the end of the road (1 minute walk).

Our party had rooms 40 and 41 which were the biggest rooms I have ever had in ten years of skiing in the alps. Lovely king size bed with snuggly duvets and crisp white sheets, lovely clean bathroom and nice towels, cleaned every day by the lovely girls (who even folded my friends clothes up)! BBC TV in the room and the lounge for those that need to see the Rugby/Football. The food was brilliant - canapes and drinks first whilst everyone mingles if they want to (find out where everyone has been and what injuries they sustained), then we went to our own table for our party and were served a lovely three course meal. There wasnt a single dish we didnt like all week, the chefs are fabulous. Also there is as much wine as you can drink pretty much!

We had not been with Total Ski before but they seemed to be really good, Andy the manager was lovely and very helpful when one of our party had a problem. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, I think it has changed a great deal since Total Ski took it over.

As everyone else has said do go to the free ski demonstration night and also the Nederhutte. David's Hutte is lovely too. A new experience for me was 15 mins in the sauna then throw yourself into the snow outside the back door! There isnt a great deal in the village, a few ski shops and a little Spar for essentials, but enough bars to keep you happy for a week. We had one of the best holidays ever, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodgeness999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews