We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alpenland(Obergurgl)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lohmann(Obergurgl)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mathiesn Hotel(Obergurgl)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Wiesental(Obergurgl)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhotel Laurin(Hochgurgl)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenresidenz am Muhlbach(Obergurgl)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 29% below average rates

    The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Haus Aktiv(Obergurgl)(Great Value!)
    US$79
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$73
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    US$227
    Official Site
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (65)
    Filter reviews
    65 results
    Traveller rating
    28
    25
    6
    4
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    28
    25
    6
    4
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsski totalresort rephonesty barski hostingbutton liftlive bandmountain starnursery slopesother guestsprevious holidayscakesbarrel barskidoo rideboot roomafternoon tea and cakehot chocolaterecent reviews
    Filter
    Updating list...
    51 - 56 of 65 reviews
    Reviewed 1 June 2011

    Skiing holidays are not cheap and when we arrived at what we had been told was 4-star accommodation we were very disappointed. The sofa bed, which one of us had to sleep on, was 2 ft wide and rock hard with large buttons. It has been made up with just a threadbare sheet. I defy anyone to sleep on that. The only solution they could offer was a couple of duvets folded in half to try and make the "bed" softer. The sheets on all the beds were threadbare.

    The staff were very sweet, but very inexperienced and had obviously had very little training in the hospitality business (which we all work in, as it happens). Breakfast was never ready. The chef overslept on 3 of the mornings. The mugs for tea and coffee were FILTHY and you had to pick and choose to find a useable one. A member of staff dropped a fork on the (non to clean) floor and just picked it up and put it back on the plate. I mentioned this a suggested a clean one would be better.

    At tea time the cakes were NEVER out when we got back from skiing and more often than not we had to unstack the chairs from the dining tables. The water jugs to fill the kettle were always empty and we would all just sit and wait for cakes etc to finally appear.
    Dining was a very very long business. Exhausting after a long day's skiing.

    The supposed guests' lounge was an unused suite upstairs and had pizza boxes and empty cans scattered on the table which were there most of the week. We pointed it out to the staff when we left. Finally, the rooms were not serviced properly at all and we constantly had to ask (as did other guests) for more toilet paper.

    Generally a very disappointing experience, I'm afraid.

    • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank shellbayrose
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 May 2011

    I feel compelled to write as my friends and I had a very disappointing experience at Chalet Christophorus.
    I was travelling with my regular ski buddies; we are very familiar with the chalet set up, and I have been a chalet girl in the past.
    We had booked a continental twin/triple room with (single sofa bed) and were shocked to discover the so called ‘sofa bed’ was a hard covered bench with a series of decorative lumpy buttons sewn into the cover with merely a thread bare sheet covering it. There was no mattress to put on top, and the bench itself was barely 2’6” wide…not enough for a child to sleep on comfortably, let alone an adult. Just not conducive for a good nights sleep after a hard days skiing.The girl in charge of housekeeping was at a loss and could only offer a couple of duvets to put on the bench as a solution to the lack of mattress. I am afraid this was quite unacceptable. (Photos of this so called sofa bed bench attached)

    There follows a list of the other problems with the chalet:

    *The bedding was threadbare on all beds and clearly in need of replacement. (photo attached)

    *Breakfast was laid out late on most days – coffee, bread ham and cheese laid out after we had arrived, there was fruit only on day one and muesli only on our last day. Never saw a croissant or pain au chocolat. The Chef was late on 3 occasions which meant the hot breakfast choice was not an option if you wanted to make the first ski lift as we did.
    *The cups had filthy stains all over them
    (photos of the offending items attached)
    *Cutlery, that was dropped on the floor, was put back in the try for use by the waitress rather than replacing it with clean utensils. There were never enough glasses and the kettles and water jugs were always empty

    The dining room was often unprepared for tea time with a lack of water for the kettles and with chairs that had been put up on the tables after breakfast that had to be put back in place by us the guests.

    *Dinner was invariably a much slower drawn out affair than we are accustomed to in other chalets with unimaginative tepid food served on cold plates. The standard was way below what one would normally expect for this price bracket holiday.

    *There was supposed to be a guest sitting room; we only found this towards the end of our holiday since it was actually two unused bedrooms which had dirty bottles and empty pizza cartons littering the place – we were told by fellow guests that they had remained there for most of the week of our holiday. There certainly wasn't seating for up to 34 guests and cozy, it wasn’t! (photos attached)

    *Toilet paper seemed to be in short supply and had to be asked for on more than one occasion

    *The lack of WiFi was a surprise to most of the guests, even though admittedly, it is not advertised.

    Clearly this chalet did not live up to its 4 star rating; the staff, whilst quite pleasant, were very young and sorely in need of some training and supervision and it appeared that rushing for the ski slopes took priority.

    I wrote to Ski Total/Esprit and received a very lukewarm and dismissive response and was left with a feeling that my complaints were going to be largely ignored.
    In these days of economic recession and huge competition amongst holiday providers, it is astonishing that this company feel disinclined to take on board the comments of their clients.
    (I see the sofa bed problem was highlighted in a review back in 2009)
    I certainly won’t be recommending this company or using them again. My hard earned money will be spent with a company that actually cares and offers much more.

    • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank olls2003
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2011

    all the staff were a bubbly, friendly bunch who did anything that was asked of them.the food was ok but nowhere near the standard of previous ski total chalets.in saying that we didnt go hungry, and the location and fab weather outweighed any disappointment with the chalet.no cosy sitting room as in some previous chalets to chat about the day, just the dining room which doesnt lend itself to social evenings with fellow skiers.dont get lumbered with room number 30, just two single beds almost end to end, with one small wardrobe and the room is full, and there is no discount on the price-be warned our friends were not impressed!

    • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank beverleyg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 February 2011

    This chalet is fine. It is in a great loaction on the slopes near ski school. It suffer from the lack of a communal area, and we felt very uncomfortable trying to sit in the restaraunt outside meal times. ther is a very unwelcoming bedroom converted into a lounge on the 2nd floor, but it is not well used. bedrooms are good, clean and good sized bathrooms.

    Food is mediocre, staff seem to work around wht they want rather than the guests ( we were told we had to eat early on new years eve!! we did negotiate a later time eventually) Wine is OK, but boring by the end of the week

    Children 12 and under need to each on their own, even if the rest of the family is older - unless you go through a major ordeal asking all the other families to fill in a form supporting them eating with you.

    However the snow and skiing was great - so if you ignore the chalet - great holiday!

    • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank born2havefun
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 January 2011

    This was our first ever trip to a chalet rather than a hotel and would thouroughly recomend it. The accomodation was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful it was great. Standard of food too was excellent and we loved the afternoon tea and cake. Free tea and coffee making facilities were available and because drinks with meals were all inclusive we saved about £200 on room bill!
    It was great to be able to ski right back and virtually into the chalet. No lugging skis and boots into and out of town. Ski school meets just behind the chalet and Intersport is fifty yards from chalet for hiring stuff .The bus stop to Hochgurgl and Solden, should you wish to travel is just across the road.
    We had chosen this accomodation because it was cheaper than where we stayed in Obergurgl last year and were not sure what to expect. It was Great!! Hoping to go back next year - what more can I say

    • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Simon111257
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews