We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lohmann(Obergurgl)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhotel Laurin(Hochgurgl)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpenland(Obergurgl)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Wiesental(Obergurgl)
Book now, pay at stay
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mathiesn Hotel(Obergurgl)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muehle Resort 1900(Obergurgl)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenresidenz am Muhlbach(Obergurgl)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 31% below average rates

    The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Haus Aktiv(Obergurgl)(Great Value!)
    US$193
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$129
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl(Obergurgl)
    US$267
    Official Site
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (65)
    Filter reviews
    65 results
    Traveller rating
    28
    25
    6
    4
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    28
    25
    6
    4
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsski totalresort rephonesty barski hostingbutton liftlive bandmountain starnursery slopesother guestsprevious holidayscakesbarrel barskidoo rideboot roomafternoon tea and cakehot chocolaterecent reviews
    Filter
    Updating list...
    38 - 43 of 65 reviews
    Reviewed 10 March 2013

    Cannot really fault the chalet given the cost. It was clean, the rooms were larger than in many more expensive chalets we have stayed in, the staff were friendly, the food was plentiful and whilst not gourmet was of a good standard. Only minor complaint was that the boot room was small but never really caused us a problem. The chalet is in a great location - truly ski in ski out - and the ski hire shop is at the end of the drive. Resort whilst not large is ideal for families, and we are planning to return next year - and will be staying here again.

    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Elizabeth C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 February 2013

    Having read the reviews prior to arriving we were slightly trepidatious - this was unwarranted. The accommodation, food and communal areas were all as one would expect if, like us, you had used Esprit when your children were younger. The staff were all friendly and helpful, everything that should be clean was. The food isn't haute cuisine - hardly surprising given the price we paid (around half the cost of the good hotels nearby), but was perfectly adequate. The skiing is excellent for our level (cruising blues and reds), and the piste-side entertainment at the famous Nederhutte didn't disappoint (get there by 3 if you want a table inside). We can recommend the "on-mountain" food at David's Hutte in particular.

    If you've used Esprit in the past then this place is a"good 'un" and a great location makes up for any minor deficiencies.

    Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    2  Thank Perfectrisotto
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 February 2013

    I arrived with friends and family by 90min coach transfer from Innsbruck. Chalet was clean and very friendly. Great position. Able to ski in and ski out.

    Most rooms have a bath and a couple of apartments available that suit parents happy to share with teenager or similar in adjoining room. Room 3 downstairs has shower but no bath.

    Food was straight forward meat and two veg style that suited the fussier younger eaters very well but left some of the more sophisticated palates wanting more. I was more than satisfied. Particularly liked tea and cake on return in the afternoon from hard days relaxed skiing! Boot room was cramped but dried all equipment well overnight.

    Resort is of a reasonable size and great fro families. Hochgurgl provided best skiing with a couple of good red runs that were serviced by the dreaded t-bars that meant these slopes were very quiet. Few queues anywhere except for one drag lift by ski school that became moderately busy at 10am. Had passes for Solden but did in the end we did not feel the need to leave Obergurgl/Hochgurgl area. Had fantastic holiday and will be going back to same Chalet I am sure.

    Room Tip: We were in room 21 and looked out onto the nursery slope.
    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank londonij
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2013

    We booked this chalet around July 2012. Just after Christmas I read some of the reviews and was a little concerned, however, our group of 6 found it to be an adequate base to enjoy our weeks skiing. Anyway, a bit long winded…but please read on…

    Location:

    The chalet is located right next to the ski school at the top of the village, adjacent to the Hotel Hochfirst (‘£££’ - we went there in 2009 – see my other review, but don’t compare against this chalet ‘£’, as they are in different leagues!).

    The chalet is a Ski-in / Ski-out: Ski out means walking around the back of the chalet to the button lift (Weisenlift on the piste map) which takes you over to the Festkoglbahn gondola station, less than 5 minutes.
    Ski in means coming down the blue run 6 from the Neaderhutte mountain restaurant, which is quite a long straight drag, so you need to get tucked down to get any chance of skiing right back to the chalet, and it’s often difficult to do so as the run is narrow, and spattered with beginners at the end of the day. Alternatively, you can come down red run 3, which takes you to the top of the button you can use in the morning.

    The Hochgurgl area is larger than the Obergurgl area. You can get over to Hochgurgl by using the Top Express gondola from Obergurl, or as we found, it was quicker to use the free ski bus down to the Hochgurl gondola. The bus runs every 15 minutes or so, and the stop is just at the end of the drive to the chalet, only a couple of minutes from the door. The Intersport hire shop is also at the end of the chalet drive, so not long walks to pick up your hired equipment
    In my opinion the Hochgurgl area is better, it has more runs, mainly blues and reds, and a must is to go up to the Top Mountain Star, a bar at the top 3082 metres, overlooking the Hochgurgl area, and the Italian alps. A nice spot for a hot chocolate, and an impressive, though to those with a fear of heights, a scary structure (see photo).

    You can get a day pass to the much larger and more challenging Solden, though I’d suggest going early in your week, otherwise you will have got so used to the deserted slopes in Obergurgl & Hochgurgl that you’ll find Solden way too busy. Solden however does have many more km’s of slopes, generally more challenging and better for Borders, and if you are after a lively night life, I’d say Obergurgl & Hochgurgl are not for you.

    Rooms:
    We were on the second floor in room 24. Our group had a further two rooms: 21 & 22. Each room has twin beds, a double wardrobe with an electronic safe large enough to take a couple of SLR cameras.
    There’s a desk and mirror, a TV and plenty of sockets. We didn’t have the TV on so I’m not sure if there were any English channels available.
    Rooms 21 & 22 were larger than ours as they both has a settee. In our room the lack of this extra space meant we had nowhere to put our suitcases without having to step over them.
    Each room had a balcony, though ours was 3 foot deep in snow.
    The rooms were warm and clean, and decorated in the typical traditional chalet style. The beds were comfy enough, though we requested extra pillows, as the single pillow each wasn’t enough.
    Each room has a bath, over bath shower, sink plus a separate toilet. There’s also a hairdryer in the bathroom.
    The rooms were tidied and the beds made up each day, with the towels and bedding changed on the Thursday.

    Boot Room:

    There’s just enough room for just two or three guests to get sorted in the morning, though there’s a small bench outside the door which I used, since I always find boot rooms too warm and get flustered & frustrated!
    The chalet holds about 32 guests, though we didn’t find the boot rooms size an issue for changing anyway, as not everyone came down at the same time each morning.
    On a negative, there’s not enough room for all the skis & boots on the hangers, probably due to staff equipment (?) There were also no snowboard hangers.

    Sauna:

    I didn’t use or see this so can’t comment.

    Lounge:

    The lounge as the other reviews say, is a converted bedroom. There’s a small TV, seating for around 8 guests and some board games.
    Being a converted room there is no atmosphere, so it tended to stay empty during our stay.
    I resorted to sitting in the dining room, which was more open with other guests coming in and out for a coffee etc, so it became the meeting place rather than the lounge.

    Dining Room:

    The dining room had two large tables seating around 10 on each, then two smaller tables for around 8 each, so all the guests generally mixed.
    The décor is basic, and clean. The free Wifi was strongest in the Dining room, and a bit hit and miss in our room on the second floor (room 24).
    There’s an honesty bar containing beer, wine, chocolate, etc, for which you can settle your bill at the end of the week.

    Breakfast:

    This is served from 8am until 9am, and everything was set up generally on time. I was there 10 minutes early each day, and left around 8:45, I never saw anything run out as commented in other reviews below.
    There are jars of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, decaf coffee, fruit tea plus water, percolated coffee, orange juice and apple juice.
    Also bread, jam, honey, butter, ham, salami and cheese slices.
    Fresh fruit including apples, keewee, oranges & bananas.
    Cereals with Muesli, Cocoa Pops, Sugar Puffs, Corn Flakes, then also boiled eggs and natural yoghurt.

    Each day excluding Wednesday (staff day off), there was also a hot breakfast option: Day one was toasted baguette with scrambled egg & smoked salmon, Day two was traditional breakfast - egg, bacon, sausage and beans (a small portion with the usual skinny German sausage and a rasher of streaky bacon), day three was pancakes. Another day was ‘Eggy Bread”. The ‘traditional’ breakfast was repeated a couple of times, and one day I asked for simple beans on toast, which the staff were more than happy to do.
    The breakfast quality was ok, and there was always enough to fill yourself up for the days Skiing.

    Afternoon Tea:

    Each day for 4pm, there was a different homemade cake, with the tea, coffee, etc, available. The presentation of cakes was not great, though they all tasted very nice.

    Evening Meal:

    Meals were served each night from 7pm, and 6:45pm on Tuesday to allow sufficient time for guests to get up the mountain for the weekly Ski School instructor ‘show’ after the meal.

    The dinner started with a couple of canapés each and an aperitif. Canapés included coriander and chilli meatballs and chicken sesame toast. These were followed by a three-course meal with coffee.

    The portion size was just right, and we weren’t over faced. The quality of the food was ok, though the duck was a little tough as some of the other reviews state. Each night there was a different meal, though no other choices available.

    Starter examples were Scotch broth, goat’s cheese and herb parcels and some kind of carrot & onion bahji/samosa.

    Main courses were beef stew, White fish on a bed of mashed potato with spinach, Pork on a bed of rice with green beans and carrots, Lamb with gravy and a jacket potato, and chicken chasseur as some examples.
    Deserts were Apple strudel with custard (vanilla sauce), Chocolate pudding with vanilla ice cream, raspberry cheesecake, and a couple of others I can’t remember.

    There were two red and two white wine options with the meal. The wine service began with the starter, and was free flowing until the coffee had been served at the end of the meal. Any part bottles were removed at this point, and needless to say, there were no empty glasses, only bottles at this time in the evening!

    The service from the staff was good and timely, they are all generally efficient and helpful, and we had no complaints about any of them. They were all cheerful and up for a laugh.
    Andy unfortunately had to put up with a few of us being drunk on the first night, though he took it in his stride and kept smiling all week! Chloe and Carlos were always on hand too if you needed anything. Martin & Ian (?) in the kitchen didn’t surface often…..they did a good job behind the scenes!


    Overall this chalet is a good cheaper option in Obergurgl, ski in/out, pleasant and helpful staff and Ok, average food.

    Considering the price we paid (around £800 each including lift pass), I’d recommend it and would certainly go again!

    Room Tip: 21 & 22 better size
    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank liveyourlifebefree
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

    great location for all skiing
    comfortable chalet
    staff very pleasant helpful
    rooms nice sofa bed was fine
    food ok but could be improved
    resortis lovely but not large and day pass to Solden is worth it unless beginner skier



    • Stayed: January 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Smtret
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews