We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, nice place, a few letdowns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Christophorus
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice place, a few letdowns”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

4 of us (2 couples) stayed in Chalet Christophorus in Jan2014. A nice place, good location, nice food, and great staff. Nice chalet, but there were a few let-downs.

Journey:
We flew from Gatwick to Innsbruck, all very easy, and a short transfer. No complaints. Coach dropped us off at the end of the road to the chalet, short walk to a warm welcome.

Room:
We were not the 4th floor (there is a lift). I don't recall the number but we shared a balcony with our friends. The room was fine, nothing too swanky but we didn't expect that. There are 2 singles (pushed together for our double), a TV (we didn't use it so not sure how good), a good size wardrobe, a safe, and a sofa.
Unfortunately we soon discovered that the beds were not very comfortable at all. I sleep easily and rarely wake, but the mattress offered no support, and the pillows were like someone had removed most of the inside. My wife had the same problem, and she actually slept a few of the nights on the sofa to try to get more comfort. Other guests said the same.

Bathroom:
Rather basic, bath shower, sink, hair dryer, toilet (separate room). We were not provided any soap in the sink though. We were given a towel each for the week.

Food:
Lovely, no complaints. I am not a high class eater, but I felt each meal was well prepared, cooked well, good variation, and tasty. I was also fairly full up each night (which is tough to do with me). You eat with all the other guests, and they encourage mingling by changing the seating arrangements each night. We were also treated to a cake each afternoon, again, very nice. Wine was nice, but I am in no way an expert.

Location:
This really is right on the slopes, if you look at the piste map the chalet is right at the bottom of 'wiesenlift'. To get up to the mountains you have to take the mini drag up for 30 seconds, then down to the bottom of festkoglbahn lift. This all looks great, and it is, but the bottom of Roßkarbahn lift is a better location, especially if you are a beginner as the area around Bruggenbodenlift is great, but not straight forward to get to without a bus/skido/long ski. You can ski back to your door.

Staff:
Great, all really nice, made us feel welcome, were polite, helpful, and very pleasant. Service was good, can't fault them.

Entertainment:
We did the quiz, which was good fun, and the curling, which was also good, but perhaps a little lack of expertise from the people running it. Have to mention here that we won both! :)

Sauna:
Sauna down the bottom. It's fine, shower area, a few lounging seats, and a hot sauna.

Security:
I saved this until last as I thought this was where the chalet is awful. I think I should list the problems:
- boot room not locked at all, even though the door to it is outside, I constantly feared my board would get pinched
- there is no lock on the front door, anyone can walk in, anytime
- we were encouraged to leave our room keys in cubby holes in the dining area
- the owner of the property has a part of the chalet that they live in, which doesn't have separate access, in fact, the door to this area is right by the cubby hole for the keys, so there are regularly non-guests wandering around the area where you have left your keys (including the owner's son and his friends, who liked to do things like pour loads of chocolate powder in the milk jug, throw things out of doors, and generally make lots of notice)
It would be v easy to turn up there one afternoon, walk in, grab all the keys, and ransacking everyone's rooms, then coming back at night and swipe everyone's skis. This could all be fixed by a key combi lock on the front door, and to lock the boot room at night.

You don't expect perfection when you stay in a chalet, but this lost 2 stars for the beds, and the poor security. I would stay again, but would bring my own pillow, and some locks for my snowboard, but only after looking at the hotels at the bottom of Roßkarbahn lift first.

As a side note, the slopes were great, I am a boarder and my friend plus wives are skiers. Between Obergurgl and Hochgurgl there is enough to keep you busy, not loads of slopes, but all good fun, and some great fun for some intermediate off-pistes. Beginners there are loads of blues, especially in Hochgurgl where there are motorways. Not many slopes in the trees, so visibility can get poor.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Leph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Christophorus, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Leph,
It’s a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed Obergurgl and the location of Chalet Christophorus.
Our staff will be thrilled to learn how well they performed, and how much you appreciated the food they served.
We are sorry that you felt it necessary to grant us a lower score due to the beds and the issue of security. We shall bear your comments in mind when we are considering improvements for next season and raise this with the chalet owner as we would not wish any guests to share your concerns. The owner and members of his family use the chalet entrance to access their private apartment upstairs, so please accept our apologies if their presence caused you disturbance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This was our group's (26 of us)second stay at this chalet in Obergurgl . We first stayed in 2011 and had a great time and it was a request from one of our guests to return as it was her 50th birthday.
Well , there's sometimes a saying to never go back in life , however we were so pleased we did.
The chalet had been upgraded from our last stay and there is now a relaxing , spacious lounge where we played games and chilled out at night time .
I really struggle with the negative comments about this chalet . For the price it's probably one of the best value chalets we have stayed in.
It's location next to the nursery slopes is so good for the newbies in the group. We have experienced , long walks, bus journeys or lifts to ski lockers in the past , wheras a walk of about 25m to the nursery slopes is worth the money on its own. Skiing back from blue 6 or red 3 in the afternoon is also so convenient .
The chalet staff were helpful, worked hard and were good fun, which made our large group settle in well . The food wasn't Michelin Star , but hey once again if you want top notch food then pay for it and go to Val d'Isere! There was a good cooked breakfast every morning and the staff usually accommodated requests when possible .
There were the usual issues about pillows ( there always is in Austria) and the staff tried to help where possible.
The après ski is probably the best we have experienced . The Nederhutte on Blue 6 is rocking! Between 4 and 8 pm -if you can last that long - there is live music and dancing on the tables. For those brave enough the floodlit ski back from 'the pub' is fun and you can shusse back to the chalet. Others are given a free skidoo lift home which is also fun.
All in all its a great chalet for the price and we certainly will be going back in future years .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Insp C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Christophorus, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear InspectorClouseauC,
We are delighted that you chose the Christophorus for your special occasion and that you appreciated both the improvements we have made and our team's friendly and efficient service. We certainly hope this visit is not your last one here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have just returned from a week at Chalet Christophorus and feel the obligation to provide an update to some of the rather negative reviews posted by earlier travellers to this establishment. These earlier reviews, almost made me go elsewhere but I am pleased that despite these negative posts, I took the plunge and found a much better result than I expected.

Things that have been negatively reported in other posts and that were very definitely fixed on my visit were: the quality and amount of food were just fine, meals were all served on time, the guest sitting room had been significantly refurbished, bedding was as it should be and loo rolls were plentiful. The chalet was spacious, clean, warm and well decorated. The Ski Total staff were all helpful and friendly.
Those who want more detail please read on.

The food was of good quality and there was plenty of it. It was tasty and well presented. Maybe not Michelin Star but if you expect that for the price paid you are clearly dreaming. A wide selection for breakfast including fresh fruit, dried fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cheese, ham, salami, fresh bread and butter, sliced bread for toasting, jams, pancakes, porridge and a cooked option. Those of you who like the idea of travelling abroad but like to keep breakfast British will be pleased with the provision of English bacon, English sausages and Heinz baked beans.

A decent cake along with tea and coffee were provided at 4pm. Supper started with canapés and an aperitif at 7.30pm and the main meal served at 8pm. A picture of a menu describing a typical offering is attached.

There was a selection of two white and two red wines; all southern French and of acceptable quality for the price paid. If you think £10 reduced to a fiver at Tescos but probably not worth the fiver, then you are in the right territory. That is to say, much, much better than many chalet wines I have had to endure but may be not quite a fine wine. Wine was served freely and generously until the coffee and chocolates turned up.

The guest sitting room has been well refurbished since earlier posts and photos – see attached. Whilst it is not large and cannot seat more than a handful in comfort, it is there as a comfortable spot for those who want a break from skiing. The chalet staff run an honesty bar with beers and wine kept in a fridge with a bar table and three stools for those who need somewhere to have a natter when most have retired – picture attached.

We had rooms 41, 1 and 2. 41 is on the top floor so the lift was much appreciated and generally immediately available. It is a good size room (although there are larger ones in the chalet) with decent sized bathroom containing a full sized bath and good shower over it. Never ran out of hot water. The bathroom has a permanently installed hair dryer. There is a separate loo from the bathroom. The bedroom has good sized and comfortable Austrian Twin beds and a small desk with two chairs. Bedding and towels were clean and complete. The pillows were fine for me but then I don’t get very worked up about them. Other guests requested extra pillows and they were provided but were reported to be in relatively short supply.

Rooms 1 and 2 are essentially a small apartment. They are both Austrian Twins, one larger and with a sofa. They share a good sized bathroom with bath, shower and twin washbasins. They also have an intervening room that has a table for 4, fridge, two ring cooker and a sofa. Could be a strange setup for folk who do not know each other but worked well for our four youngish mates and could be a good option for a family who would like to stick close together.

Talking of sofas, there were earlier negative posts about sleeping on sofas and I would have to agree that the ones I have seen would not be a comfortable place for an adult to sleep for a week. I do not however know if any are currently being offered as somewhere to sleep.

Complaints that the boot room is not large are probably fair but in practice it never seemed to be full of people. It was plenty warm enough to dry skis and boots by morning. Getting all the skis in the limited number of racks was sometimes a problem but the few that could not make it had plenty of wall space to be propped against. A bit more bench space to sit on when putting boots on would have been useful but in practice the two seater just outside the boot room was fine for our needs.

The chalet had a sauna on the ground floor that ran from 4.30pm to 7pm but as I did not use it i am unable to comment on its efficacy. It looked like it would not accommodate more than three of four at a time so I guess it could be a problem if it was in high demand.

The boot room is a probably about 50m more or less level walk to the nursery slope button lift, from where you can ski down to the Felskogel Gondola. Bear in mind that this is a steepish pitch on a red run so could be a bit daunting for absolute beginners. It is however only a couple of minutes’ walk to the Gondola – go round the back of the minimart and straight through to the lift entrance barriers on level ground to avoid going downhill only to walk back up the stairs at the main lift station entrance on the main road.

When skiing back, use the button lift to give you enough height and snow permitting you can ski straight from the nursery slope, across the car park and pretty much up to the back door.

Wifi is available and works well enough where you can get it. As far as I can tell that is really only around the dining area. It certainly does not work in rooms 41, 1 or 2.

The rooms have televisions with a plethora of channels, most of which I did not recognise. Some of the few I did were Sky Sports 1 and Eurosport and CNN. BBC news popped up now and again but I did not find a dedicated BBC channel. That said I did not spend much time looking for it.

The Christophorus is about 10 minutes’ walk from the centre of Obergurgl, not that there is much there outside of lots of large hotels, several ski gear shops, a couple of bars and a Spar.

The ski bus that loops between Obergurgl and Hochgurgl, and Post bus to Solden and beyond, both stop on the main road just below the chalet. There is a well-stocked MiniMart a couple of minutes’ walk down the hill from the Chalet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Topofthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Christophorus, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Topofthehills,
Many thanks for such a thorough review.We're thrilled that you loved your stay at the Christophorus and it's always a pleasure if we succeed in exceeding guests' expectations. We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We are a family group of 11 and this chalet was ideal. Our experience was overall was very good and we enjoyed a white christmas with thanks to all the staff at the chalet and the Esprit staff.

Lucie and all the staff where always helpful,attentive and hardworking. The rooms - warm and tidy and cleaned to a good standard. Plenty of storage and hanging space. There was always plenty of hot water at whatever time we showered. Food throughout our stay was good on the whole and we were served plenty of it. A choice of red and white wine served until dessert.
Younger children had their own dinner sitting at 5.30pm which was great for us as we could eat in peace. The honesty bar worked well, beer, wine, soft drinks and chocolate bars available for a fair price.
We did not use the sauna area but it was very clean and would accommodate about 5 people at a time. There is a shower and relaxation area. If you want to use the sauna it is best to let the staff know in the morning so it can be switched on for your return. The boot room is small but adequate, there is a bench outside that can also be used. Our boots where always dry the next morning.

Obergurgl catered for all our ski/snowboard abilities and the snow was good. The chalet is an ideal base as ski shop and ski school office/meeting point are all within 2 mins walk and you can ski in/out from the back of the chalet. There is a local mini mart by the Sportiv Hotel about 3mins walk away. The pizzeria at the Haus Gurgl (in front of the chalet) was excellent!
The ski bus to Obergurgl centre/Hochgurgl/Solden is at the bottom of the drive but we found it quicker to walk to the centre than wait for the bus in the evening. The bus service in both directions is frequent and free to all lift pass holders.

For our group the price was reasonable. Without this chalet option we would not have discovered the delights of Obergurgl, as other hotels and chalets where a lot more expensive. The
Chalet Christophorus exceeded our expectations for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Room 33 good for adults that want to share with younger children. The lounge has been updated since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizliz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our second trip to Christophorus wasn't as good as the first. Clean and comfortable (except for the pillows which were devoid of feathers) I was given a second, equally flat pillow. Our room key went missing and we were unable to find any staff members. Our only option was to help ourselves to the master key from the kitchen!! We later found out that a supervisor who checks the rooms had made off with the keys......The boot/ski room is very small and though last time we had no problems, this year a pair of gloves disappeared.

The resort contact had not organised a coach to Solden for us, when we had paid for this. She was also one of the two who accompanied us on the Solden trip. We were told that one of the two reps would lead us, and the second (our resort contact) would bring up the rear. This didn't happen and on more than one occasion that morning, one of the group was missing. This unprofessional conduct is not acceptable, especially as conditions were difficult, and the group as a whole were apprehensive about descending the pistes.

Room Tip: The third floor provided a balcony and a bath as well as shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Christophorus, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Carol,
We are sorry you felt that your stay was not as good as your first time at the Christophorus.
As our staff work split shifts it is not at all unusual for nobody to be on the premises in the middle of the day; it was a rare oversight for our manager to leave the chalet with the keys in her pocket for which she apologises.
Visibility was indeed very poor on the ski away day, reduced to less than 2 metres and a few guests chose to separate from the group before lunch and return to resort. Our two members of staff continued with the remaining 5 guests, doing their very best to keep the group together with regular stops, with skiers of varying ability, under very extreme conditions. No concerns were expressed to our staff and we understand you shared lunch and kindly treated them to an après-ski drink. We hope to see you again in future. The GR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Cannot really fault the chalet given the cost. It was clean, the rooms were larger than in many more expensive chalets we have stayed in, the staff were friendly, the food was plentiful and whilst not gourmet was of a good standard. Only minor complaint was that the boot room was small but never really caused us a problem. The chalet is in a great location - truly ski in ski out - and the ski hire shop is at the end of the drive. Resort whilst not large is ideal for families, and we are planning to return next year - and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Having read the reviews prior to arriving we were slightly trepidatious - this was unwarranted. The accommodation, food and communal areas were all as one would expect if, like us, you had used Esprit when your children were younger. The staff were all friendly and helpful, everything that should be clean was. The food isn't haute cuisine - hardly surprising given the price we paid (around half the cost of the good hotels nearby), but was perfectly adequate. The skiing is excellent for our level (cruising blues and reds), and the piste-side entertainment at the famous Nederhutte didn't disappoint (get there by 3 if you want a table inside). We can recommend the "on-mountain" food at David's Hutte in particular.

If you've used Esprit in the past then this place is a"good 'un" and a great location makes up for any minor deficiencies.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Perfectrisotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haus Gurgl
Haus Gurgl
#8 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#25 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Christophorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Christophorus

Property: Chalet Christophorus
Address: off of Main Street, Obergurgl, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Christophorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Christophorus Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing