We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Burghotel Alpengluehn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burghotel Alpengluehn
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived to a friendly welcome from Rosemarie who provided excellent advice on ski school, ski hire, lift passes etc. she then arranged for the hire shop's free shuttle to pick us up so we could sort out our ski hire.
We stayed in 211 which is a spacious corner room with views down the valley. Generally the hotel is very comfortable with a nice bar area and dining room. Breakfast and dinner were excellent.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
This is a great hotel for both families and all adult groups, it is only 2 minutes walk from the ski lift and I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 211 has nice views as it is a corner room. Although it is at the front of the hotel, there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMB2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed for five nights. An excellent hotel 2 minutes walk from the lift. Clean rooms, plenty of hot water, great breakfasts and 5 course evening meal. Skis can be left each evening at the shop next to the Hochgurgl lift if hired there, but the hotel also has a great ski room. Very friendly helpful family run hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have just spent 4 fabulous nights in the Burghotel Alpengluehn with 3 boys and a total of 6 in the party. The rooms were spotless, breakfast is good, you are so close to Hochgurgl (better pistes than Obergurgl at the moment and fun runs) that we skied back to the hotel's back door but the star of the holiday was shared between our unbelievably delicious 5 course suppers all delivered with efficient service and the amazing hosts Rosemarie and Seppi. My husband had an accident on the Obergurgl ice and rocks so needed stitches and came back to the hotel very bloody where Rosemarie dashed around finding us bandages and taking us to the doctor and getting us in so he could be stitched quickly (she knows the doctor and speaks better German than us). What could have been incredibly stressful was made quite easy and we are so grateful. They are such a friendly family that make you feel so welcome - we will definitely be back (post diet!!) and will highly recommend them to all our friends.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank DandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our first trip to Obergurgl and we were delighted with this family run hotel nestled into the mountain a minute's walk from the Hochgurgl lift and the bottom of a run back from the mountain. The bus into Obergurgl only takes a few minutes. We were a party of six adults on a ski break. Rosemary and Seppi's hospitality was outstanding - warm and friendly, but never intrusive and nothing was too much trouble.The food was excellent and we enjoyed some great wines. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable and absolutely ideal for a ski break, with a good boot room, plus they organise ski hire/lift passes, airport taxis at great rates and have heaps of local knowledge including advice on different pistes etc. We thought this hotel was a real find - would definitely recommend it and hope very much to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Wow. Myself and a mate stayed here for a week and will be going back every year - every week if we could!

Everyone was very helpful, sorting out ski/board hire, free car parking and advise on places to go. The location is great, a 1 minute walk to the main Hochgurgl cable and a run back to the hotel door!

Amazing snow - 3 foot whilst we were there.

Great food every night.

Rooms were bigger than those places far more expensive down the road.

Bus in to town if you need to takes 5 minutes but the bar at the hotel was good enough for us.

Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StebbersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 night in early January and had a wonderful time. I would not be able to find fault if I had wanted to but the way that the owners Rosemary and her husband Seppl treat their guests mean I would certainly not want to.

The hotel is a rare genuine family run business and most guests seem to be returning customers. The hosts managed to treat all as friends without making new comers like us feel outsiders. Indeed Rosemary instantly became like a friend to us and was equal to a concierge in any 5 star hotel. Her local knowledge and desire to make our holiday a success were above anything we could have expected.

Although the owners are excellent hosts the hotel has far more to offer than just that. Half board includes a 5 course dinner which for quality and value could match anything anywhere along with a great wine list. The room we stayed in with our 2 children was large and comfortable with a good view and spotlessly clean. The maid obviously enjoys her job and is as much part of the hotel team as the hosts our children's beds were made up in a different and wonderful way everyday.

Finally the location is also perfect the gondola to Hockgurgl linking with Obergurgl is 2 good snowball throws away and you can ski or toboggan straight back to the rear of the hotel. Ski passes can be purchased from the lift but Rosemary will advise on all that is needed and also booked a ski guide for us. Also Obergurgl is high so when the villages at 1,500 meters had a day of constant rain we at 1,800 had 6 inches of new snow.

We like most other guests certainly intend to return and I am sure will be greeted as old friends by the owners and staff alike.

Room Tip: Just tell Rosemary exactly what you want and trust her.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDavies27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This Hotels is in a fantastic location very close to a free bus that takes you into Obergurgl 3 minutes even in snow and is less than 2min walk to the main ski lift in Hochgurgl. Run by English speaking couple. The food was excellent with a great buffet breakfast and five courses each night. Fantastic Sauna and Ski & Boot room storage. Beautiful views from balconied rooms. Sking in this area is first class as is the service, infrastructure and friendliness of the locals and owners of the hotel also first class. If you are lucky enough to stay in this hotel you WILL return. We stayed for 6 nights and never even heard a door slam, hotel is spotless rooms are large with digital TV many channels including all terrestrial UK. Transfers from airport were also arranged by the hotel XXXXX XXXXX XXXXX

Room Tip: Balconied rooms have great views, check with Rosemarie (owner) and she will be happy to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.4 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#23 of 33 in Obergurgl
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#9 of 33 in Obergurgl
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel Alpengluehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel Alpengluehn

Address: Gurglerstrasse 47, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Price Range: £184 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burghotel Alpengluehn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
And feel well from the very first lesson in a homelike atmosphere and family support. A spacious lobby, comfortable rooms, a cozy Tyrolean room, bar, sun terrace, and the newly renovated sauna area contribute to the overall well-being decisive. Enjoy spectacular skiing in our days at the ski area. The ideal location of our castle hotels Alpenglühn - directly adjacent to the base station of the Hochgurglbahn - allows you to jump abzufahren with the skis on the piste in front of our hotel door. The family Gufler ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burghotel Alpengluehn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing