We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Position”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Austria always gives great value for skiing. The standard of this hotel is as it should be. Nice rooms with comfortable beds. Good food and service. Great facilities.
The best bit is the position as no carrying of ski's necessary even for beginners. Ski school is just outside as are 2 ski lifts so whatever your standard you can get to and from this hotel easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tams_tours_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    110
    33
    4
    5
See reviews for
166
146
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Would have been 5 stars/Excellent rating…but…

Just returned from a weeks skiing and had a great time, 6 adults, 3 teenagers and 2 toddlers! We stayed here last year a week earlier and had an exceptional time.

The food and drink is exceptional as are the rooms and facilities the only thing stopping me giving this place a 5 star/excellent rating this year is the staff in the restaurant. Last year we found all the staff especially our waitress exceptional, she looked after us all week. This year our waitress was pleasant but seemed to be intermittent when she was on duty, we then had other waiting staff that ranged from pleasant to bizarre and seemed to struggle to get our doers right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is placed at the base of two ski lifts so you can ski back down to the door of the hotel.There is a fully equipped ski shop in the basement. There is a bar outside the door for when you have finished skiing. The hotel food is amazing..especially the buffet on Friday evening. On Thursday evening they have a band playing. The spa is incredible with an indoor and outdoor pool. This is a family run hotel. The one and only downside is the smoking in the bar. Apart from that I have been to this hotel 4 times now and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

For location, food and quality of facilities you would be hard pressed to find a better hotel in Obergurgl. My one comment would be the restaurant gets way too warm during the evenings so eat and adjourn to the bar. Perhaps that was their plan all along.

Helpful?
Thank SecretSq
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Chose this Hotel on recommendation from friends (who hadn't actually stayed here - had lunch and drinks in the bar on a couple of occasions - but had been told about it by their friends - a slightly dubious recommendation!) Our family, 2 boys (12 and 7) and Mum and dad are all novice skiers stayed for 5 nights from March 15th - 20th. Booking the hotel was difficult due to availability but the hotel staff were very helpful in finding us a Edelweiss suite, they also booked all our transfers to and from the hotel with a punctual and courteous company. Checking in was warm and friendly, The hotel has a lovely feel and the traditional dress of the staff and hotel decor (which i thought might be a bit Disney gimmick) was beautifully done and naturally blended. Our suite was not massive, the small lounge area was taken up by the two children's fold out beds. Given the size of the family room we had the Gatwick Hilton the night before it was tiny, but actually it was perfect. Immaculately clean and carefully thought out with buckets of hooks to hang all that ski gear etc. We had a room at the front with the church directly outside. This was interesting as the church bells chime regularly and not at any particular time! but it wasn't a problem to us and the view over the village was lovely .Breakfast is Huge, with everything you can think of and a great egg chef that takes the greatest of care over every egg request. The evening menu for the day is out on your breakfast table with a pencil and you scribble your numbers next to what you might like that evening - there is no problem if you change your mind or the kids want something a bit boring- they will always try to help. (they allocate you a table for your stay- which is quite nice as you get to know your fellow diners on surrounding tables). The choice is good (normally at least 3 options of a main meal) and the food quality is great, the delicate starters particularly well thought out with traditional local foods that you must try. The service was generally good, with the waitresses all excellent (martha very warm and helpful) but the waiters a little less accommodating and impatient (rolling of eyes if you wanted something a bit different and inconvenienced them! - that was disappointing and noticeable given the high standard of everything else - the boys let the team down a bit) Outside, in the beautiful sunshine, the bar and terrace were paradise. the lunch menu had a great selection and the staff always found something (even off the menu) light snacky for my very picky 7 year old - great work on that team E & G, you made a parents lunchtimes very relaxing. The outside bar - Angela (probably! the best Barmaid in Obergurgl ) was fab,she remembered our drinks, made sure everything was right for you and more importantly checked the children were happy. relaxing, lively apres ski singalongs (bit too loud under the powerful speakers - most people avoided those tables) but that part of the holiday was blissfully perfect - thanks Angela. The spa in the hotel is, again, spotless. and very quiet when we went. outdoor pool with snow on the sides was a hit with the boys. The sauna/steam are strictly naked (towel permitted) which is a bit too' European' for me as a prudish brit, but I embraced the spirit and enjoyed a 'leg muscle ache' soothing sauna and ice dip. sitting in the Jacuzzi with the snow covered mountain view was heaven. You know, we had a great time at the E&G. Oh,nearly forgot to mention the location - if you've read the other reviews you will know! for me and my family, we wanted to learn to ski ,not kill ourselves and fry our children's patience dragging our gear around. The boot room is there!, the ski hire shop (very helpful) is just there! and two lifts are literally there! ski school and instructor meeting is just there! It's the summer villa ON the beach. It doesn't get any easier than this. The E&G makes you welcome .People we met there have been returning for years and years, and I think we will be the same. Summer= villa on the beach, winter=Hotel E&G- paradise in the snow!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our sixth holiday in this hotel. We usually avoid big hotels, but the situation of this hotel draws us back. It takes three minutes to get from the ski/boot room to two ski lifts, and at the end of the day we can ski to the top of the steps leading back to the boot room. The rooms are comfortable with wonderful views from those on the south-facing side of the hotel. Breakfast is buffet style with an excellent selection of hot and cold food, and a chef to cook omelettes to order. We have had better food for dinner in other hotels in Obergurgl, particularly in the Crystal Hotel, but the 5-course menu, with choice, is well cooked and presented, if not particularly exciting. Unfortunately smoking is permitted in a section of the large bar/lounge area; it would be much more pleasant for non-smokers if a separate room was provided for smokers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Situated in an idea place, centre of the village, next to two ski lifts. The hotel has an air of comfort, cleanliness and care. The staff are very happy to accommodate and always cheery and polite. The rooms are kept immaculate as is the spa area and restaurant. Food is extremely good, which is so important after a day's skiing and this is the second time we have returned and have been delighted yet again.

Room Tip: It is always nice to get a south facing balcony. We had birthday cake and tea up on the balcony aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#18 of 33 in Obergurgl
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl

Property: Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Address: Ramolweg 5 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#5 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#8 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIVE THE HIGH LIFE ON HOLIDAY Your four-star hotel in Obergurgl at 1930m Nestling between lush green meadows and the towering peaks of the Ötztal Alps, in the centre of the idyllic mountain village of Obergurgl, lies the four-star Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl. Surrounded by no fewer than 21 mountains over 3000m, guests can look forward to a memorable holiday, including: peace and quiet from the moment you arrive,fine four-star service in an exclusive atmosphere,excellent food and drink in our award-winning restaurant,relaxation in the hotel's own 1200m² Glacier Spa,the highest riding stables in Austria with a glass front offering magnificent views,top rental equipment from the hotel's own sports shop,and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, seekda GmbH and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edelweiss And Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss Gurgl
Edelweiss Gurgl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing