We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel, best location in town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Stayed H/B in the Edelweiss 21 - 28 Mar 09. Paid extra for a superior (larger) room though we're not convinced that thats really neccessary. Didn't see a standard room but we're sure from the good standards we saw throughout the hotel that a regular room would be more than acceptable. This is a traditional chalet style hotel with lots of character and charm. It has 130 rooms so is a good size but we felt it presented a cosy and comfortable face. The staff were all friendly and obliging and spoke very good English. The food was excellent, well presented, plentiful and very good quality with waiter service for dinner. The hotel is situated right in the centre of the village, at the foot of the slopes next to two of the village lifts and is ski-in, ski-out. It has a good 'umbrella' bar and cafe terrace right by the lifts giving great views up the slopes - great for catching a few rays! Our room was good and spotlessly clean. The bed was cosy and comfy with lovely soft pillows. The hotel has lots of spa facilities, all of which (except massage etc) are free of charge - great after a hard day falling down!

The village is small and pretty and caters mainly for the family market - though we didn't encounter many children. It trys to encourage 'grown-ups' rather than the young boarding crowd and there were certainly more skiers than boarders. Night life is quiet, centered around the hotels but some of the mountain huts put on great evening entertainment about three nights per week and is not to be missed. The skiing was fantastic - some of the best cruising pistes we've seen - think of the widest piste you've ever seen, then double it! The Hochgurgl area was wonderful.

Thanks to the euro it's not a cheap place to go just now but we got the impression it's not a cheap resort anyway - it helps to deter the wrong kind of visitor. All in all, a great hotel and destination. We are thinking of going back there next year in the summertime - it must be stunning then.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PipYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

Hotel located really nice. I liked everuthing. The staff was very friendly. I was staying in a big room with my family. It was really good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We spent a week here in January. Having stayed at other hotels of a similar star rating in the village before we chose this one as it was so close to the slopes. It didn't disappoint on that score - ski in ski out at its very best. What did disappoint was the service. The maid came into our room several times one morning despite the do not disturb sign and again another morning, breakfast was good but let down by the lack of spoons and then when I asked for them and they arrived they obviously hadn't been cleaned from the night before as they were thick with sour cream and I had to send them back (the waiter hadn't noticed), we had dirty linen on the table - red wines stains which we hadn't drank all night - and the serving staff were fairly slow and distracted. The food was reasonable and the hotel was clean but full of noisy groups in the evening which was disappointing. The pool was also smaller than we had been led to believe.

Overall great location but the lack of attention to detail let it down and was not what one would expect from a 4 star hotel. We shan't be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bouddica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

our third visit to the edelweiss, loved everything about it AGAIN! Superb food ,accomidation,boot room,lift access i dont think it gets better than this.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekwestall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Location, location, location. Fabulous - we have never stayed in a hotel with quite the same ski in/ski out facility - just as well as we have hit fifty and need the luxury of it! The boot room was also very accommodating and easy access. Literally walk down the stairs from the hotel in your slippers to the boot room, change into your boots, collect your skis then walk though to the outside up the steps and to the gondola or chair lift - so easy. Then the rooms, which were spacious if oddly furnished and decorated - though with very comfortable beds and not too hot - which was a criticism of the rest of the hotel - extremely hot to the point of being uncomfortable. The food was mostly reasonable although we shared a large party table and we had to wait inordinate amounts of time which resulted in lots of the adults not waiting and ending up helping themselves to the childrens buffet style menu as they were fed up with waiting - this meant the table often ended up being disjointed and untidy - if we were to go again with this group we would probably state from early on that we would eat seperately as the staff obviously found it too confusing to serve a table of 20. Food on the most part was quite good - some of us finding it excellent - some not so - just depends on your taste - but definately always edible. One night, we left the rest of the party to eat by ourselves in the a la carte restaurant. We only had celery cream soup starters and rack of lamb for main - one small jug of house red wine - was eighty euros - came out feeling it wasn't worth paying extra for the a la carte (especially as the next evening back in the main restaurant with our friends - exactly the same meal for everyone!!!)

Plenty of nice comfortable areas around the bar in the hotel to sit and chat or play backgammon. We were a big party and as such there was always plenty of space to accommodate us, we didn't feel like we were taking over the place at all. The pool areas and jacuzzi was very popular with most of the group as was the spa where we enjoyed a few beauty treatments and massages which were of excellent quality and quite reasonably priced.

Overall, we all agreed it was an excellent choice of hotel for the nature of our party. We would definately consider rebooking here - the only downside really was the overheating which we know was complained about by numbers of guests - a lot of people were resorting to have to take regular trips to the front of the hotel out in the snow just to cool down and get some fresh air. We wondered why this was a continual problem - maybe they have no therostatic control - I don't know but suggest if you are going to stay in this hotel, take lightweight clothing for the evenings!

The staff were fine - not overly wonderful but fine - I think the waitresses were particulary pleased with the tip they got from us at the end of the week - they seemed delighted - maybe it would have been wiser to have given this up front.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordandladygillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Stayed here for a week over new year . The hotel is in a perfect location right beside the ski lifts , just step outside and away you go . The service was first class with very friendly staff and excellent food . The facilities are five star , although the pool area is basic and small . The spa area is superb and as good as you get . We had two superior south facing rooms which were spacious and always clean . My only problem was the large groups of English guests who were very boisterous and meal times and most nights got very drunk . One group played a noisey game of charades , one chap even running around the dinning room , he thought he was very funny . Another group gave the bumps to a large bald chap during dinner . The German and Italian guests beside us looked on bemused , it was the other English guests who were most embarrassed by this yobbish behavior . Apart from this I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanchoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed at the Edelweiss and Gurgl over New Year and enjoyed our stay very much. The food was excellent, our children particularly enjoyed the salad buffet, and the service very good. Our room slept all four of us with enough space. The bathroom was good although the bedroom could do with updating. We found the staff very helpful and courteous. The hotel has an excellent ski boot room and is just next to the ski hire shop. The ski hire shop staff were very helpful indeed, even though we kept returning for different boots! The service at the outside cafe/restaurant at lunch times was on occasion slow. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelatoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#17 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina deluxe
Hotel Alpina deluxe
#8 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl

Address: Ramolweg 5 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#3 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#8 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: £171 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIVE THE HIGH LIFE ON HOLIDAY Your four-star hotel in Obergurgl at 1930m Nestling between lush green meadows and the towering peaks of the Ötztal Alps, in the centre of the idyllic mountain village of Obergurgl, lies the four-star Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl. Surrounded by no fewer than 21 mountains over 3000m, guests can look forward to a memorable holiday, including: peace and quiet from the moment you arrive,fine four-star service in an exclusive atmosphere,excellent food and drink in our award-winning restaurant,relaxation in the hotel's own 1200m² Glacier Spa,the highest riding stables in Austria with a glass front offering magnificent views,top rental equipment from the hotel's own sports shop,and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, seekda GmbH and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edelweiss And Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss Gurgl
Edelweiss Gurgl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing