We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gotthard-Zeit
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gurglhof(Obergurgl)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpenland(Obergurgl)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lohmann(Obergurgl)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crystal(Obergurgl)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madeleine(Obergurgl)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
88
14
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
14
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationthe outdoor hot tubgenerous quantitiesboutique hotelexcellent hotelnext yearsurrounding mountainsboot roomspa area issouth facing roomnothing is too much troubleowners and staffcomfortable roomsstorage spacebreakfast and dinnerfantastic spathoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Second visit to this amazing hotel and it was just as good as the first. We had a lovely double room with loads of storage space. The spa is magnificent - probably one of the best I've ever had in a hotel. From breakfast to dinner, the food is superb. The wine knowledge of the waiters would certainly give a Michelin starred restaurant a run for their money! Everything in the Gotthard-Zeit is first class, so a very big thankyou for making our stay so enjoyable - definitely 10 out of 10 from us.

Room Tip: We've had 2 different types and both have been of the same quality.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed for a week from 10th Jan 2014. This is our first time at this hotel and we have been completely won over! We have stayed at a number of different hotels in Obergurgl and now this is our favourite and we will be booking up again for next year.
The Hotel is ideally situated with ski in and ski out to the lifts below. The owners and staff are superb - very attentive and friendly which gives a great atmosphere throughout the hotel.
The Spa was a happy surprise as we hadn't really looked at it online as we prefer to ski most of the day. However, when we visited the spa we were delighted with the size and facilities available. You can relax in the relaxation area overlooking the run down to the village and watch people skiing back. Brilliant.
The restaurant and food was very good. An excellent breakfast buffet including hot and cold food. A six course dinner with a huge selection of wines.
The staff in the hotel bar and restaurant were very good at remembering your name and what you preferred to drink, etc which I find very impressive. Well done Hotel Gotthard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnW620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A smaller hotel in Obergurgl with an excellent ski in ski out location. Service was very good without being overbearing. The waitresses in the restaurant were superb, great with the kids and made every meal a delight. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, very varied, evening meal of 7 courses and wine and drinks not too expensive, relatively. Great views from the restaurant over the piste and the village. Boot room is a little tight but has enough heated boot racks etc and is very close to the piste without any stairs to climb. The Hotel sits just above the main Hohe Mut gondola and the Rosskarbahn 4 man chair so it is a short ski down to the ski school meeting point or either lift. Very convenient if you have kids. Great verandah overlooking the piste and village for apres ski drinks and they provide free snacks from 3 to 4:30ish to coincide with the lifts closing. Rooms were a good size, 2 west facing balcony rooms with 2 people in each with plenty of storage space. They can sleep 4 which would be a bit cosy. If you do share with the kids then there is a curtain you pull across to divide the room. The spa area is very modern and well laid out and you can sit in the sauna overlooking the slopes or in the large hot tub with snow falling on your head. It can get a little busy at "rush hour" between ski-ing and dinner but pick the right time and it is a delight. Obergurgl is an ideal resort for beginners and intermediates. Ski school was excellent, good english speaking and a lot of fun for the kids. Hochgurgl ski area easy to get to which adds a bit more area to ski. Not terribly challenging main slopes but there seemed to be a lot of off piste. A lot of people keep going back to Obergurgl and many keep returning to the Gotthard. We will be back!

Room Tip: Best rooms are the south facing balcony suites. The hotels own website has very clear descriptions of the rooms and floor plans. There are no interconnecting doors but contact the hotel reception and they will give you adjacent rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellTravelledAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

... if you are in search of a perfect hotel, stylish and elegant, yet cosy since rather small. The hotel has a personal touch, the owners are always around, always helpful and friendly. We usually spent our ski holidays in off season and were a bit overwhelmed with the additional noise and stress during the Easter schoolbreak. The elevator was constantly blocked by playing children, the hotel pool area was incredibly loud, occupied by youngsters playing watersports.
School holidays are definitely the time for children and even ourselves come with children. But is was unfortunate to see that parents did not control at all their youngsters, even driving the management mad.
Otherwise, we feel the hotel getting better and better by the years, and the extra 'SUPERIOR' is well-earned, indeed!

Thank you, dear Scheiber-Family, for a wonderful stay and we are already looking forward to see you again in 2014!

R.K.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LONDOLOZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have just returned from having spent yet another most enjoyable week at the Hotel Gotthard - our 20th consecutive year in this wonderful hotel.

We have never stayed anywhere else in Obergurgl, as the Koll - Schieber family always look after us so well. They make us feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. The customer is king, and they really know what good cuistomer service is all about - all the staff are simply wonderful, after all these years we feel it`s like staying with friends.

We always stay in a south facing room with a balcony where we can enjoy the panoramic views, the cuisine for both breakfast and dinner is absolutely excellent, amazingly it gets better each year! The hotel is the perfect location for "door to door" skiiing, the best in Obergurgl, and we enjoy the delicious cakes provided on our return from a days skiing - a nice touch. The spa area is very well appointed, and the perfect place to relax following a day skiing on the magificent well pisted runs in the Hochgurgl/Obergurgl area.

The Hotel Gotthard is an enjoyable and memorable customer experience which is not to be missed. We look forward to returning for our annual skiing holiday for many years to come. We have already made our reservation for March 2014. Thank you family Koll-Schieber you have a class act!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews