We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gotthard-Zeit
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We have been skiing in Obergurgl every year for the past 17 years and we always stay in the Gotthard, where you are guaranteed a warm and friendly welcome in very comfortable surroundings and facilities eg: sauna, steam room & pool etc. The cuisine is simply wonderful and is an experience not to be missed. Ideally located for door to door skiing in a top class resort.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed in the Gotthard on our 5th trip to Obergurgl, having also stayed in 2 other very good hotels in the resort on previous trips. The Gotthard is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in so far and we will definitely be going back. The location is outstanding being right on the slopes above the lifts and the boot room is a mere 10 paces from the slope entry with no stairs involved - perfect ski in/out in fact. The bedrooms, public rooms and spa facilities are excellent and the food is superb. The staff are also incredibly friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel and the highly professional owners are always visible on the premises checking everyone is happy. British guests are made to feel especially welcome. We had absolutely no complaints about anything connected to our stay, which is quite unusual for us. All in all we consider the Gotthard to be one of the very best hotels we have ever stayed in during our many travels around the World.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slider1Maidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

From the moment we arrived at the Gotthard, we were made to feel so welcome. The friendliness of all of the staff within this hotel is exceptional. The Scheiber family ensure that each guest is made to feel very special and the managerial staff tour the restaurant each night to check on their guests & ask how their day has been.

The food was very good - a good selection at breakfast with hot & cold buffet & 5 or 6 courses each night with a choice for your main course. The chef presents each dish with such attention, that at times it appears too good to eat!

It appears that this hotel has guests that return year after year & as newcomers to this hotel, we can understand why. There were 2 other guests that had not stayed here previously & having met up with them, we were all in agreement that we will return at the same time next year.

We had upgraded our bedroom to one with a west facing balcony & although nice, we were not sure that it was something that we would rush to do next time. The rooms are fairly spacious but we both felt that they needed a freshen up (but it completely suited our needs after a day skiing & did not spoil our stay in anyway). The beds are by far & away the most comfortable bed that we have ever slept in!

The indoor spa & pool was very welcoming - large windows with sunloungers overlooking the slopes - this was extremely relaxing after a day's skiing.
The best thing about this hotel was that the ski locker room is right next to reception & from there, you put on your boots & skis, step outside of the hotel & you are on the ski slopes - marvellous! There is a very sunny terrace that was perfect for stopping & having lunch or a beer/ wine after a morning ski! There are a selection of daily apres ski snacks that vary from savoury to sweet dishes - these are free and are another nice touch from the Scheiber family & their chefs.

Drinks within this hotel are reasonably priced, especially when compared to the French Alps. There is a very comfortable lounge bar area & the only one criticism is that smoking is still allowed here; fortunately smoking is not permitted within the dining room.

We would like to have returned to the hotel in the summer, but it appears that they are closing after the winter season this year.

Overall, a very postive experience of staying in Obergurgl, Austria and credit to the Scheiber family at the Gotthard who are without doubt responsible for this.

Would we return? Undoubtedly yes - we too, wish to become regular guests like every one else that we met staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAHPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Even though we stayed in 'basic 'rooms, they were of a much higher standard than the majority. It was great having BBC 1 & channel 4 available if you wanted to stay in touch with happenings at home - we did as Wimbledon was on. Always exceptionally clean, the hotel feels welcoming immediately. The food is well-prepared and tasty with enough choice for most, although the wine is a lttle pricey. On the value side, the hotel does provide daily packed lunches, which were adequate for a picnic stop whilst out walking for the day. The service in the restaurant is typical of Austrian efficiency and keeness to please.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midgley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Returned for our fourth year to this hotel as we love it so much. We always get the larger room with the balcony and there is a sitting area with sofa and chair with table to relax in set aside from the bed-room area. TV channel gives you BBC1 and Channel 4 and there is a radio also. Love the warm welcome from all the staff and the food we find just excellent. Rich food but heaven for a week especially after a days ski-ing. You ski to and from the door to this hotel which is worth it alone. Pool area very pleasant and you can view the skiers coming down the slopes while you lounge at the spa area. Would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be booking again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bc13cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Having stayed here two years ago and loved it, our expectations were high. There is always a danger of disappointment in going back, but the reality matched our hopes and memories.

This is a truly "family run" business with the daughter having taken over the management from her parents who are still very much in evidence, ensuring that everyone is happy.

The hotel is small in scale, therefore cosy in feel. The food is of high quality. The bedrooms are comfortable and brightly lit, with ample storeage. Everything is fresh and spotlessly clean.

There is just one criticism which I have expressed to the owners. I resent being refused tap water at dinner and being forced to pay for the bottled variety. My objections are both economic and environmental. If the hotel so badly needs this extra revenue stream, I would prefer that the tariff were increased. I know I was not alone in feeling this way. Because this is such a good hotel, I would return, but that return will be made easier by a change of this outdated policy.

To finish on a positive note, if you like a smaller hotel with good facilities in a geat location (ski in/out) well run with good food, then The Hotel Gotthard Zeit is for you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B0bbybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Gotthard for 1 week in August and had a fabulous time. We had a wonderful large room with a balcony looking up to the mountains. The position of the hotel is perfect if you like to be slightly away from the centre. It's located on a small plateau just above the centre. The room was spotlessly clean, the staff extremely friendly, a lovely terrace and lounge/bar & restaurant. The sun shone for the full 7 days, which made the holiday even more perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MountainWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
232 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
349 reviews
0 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
150 reviews
0 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotthard-Zeit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard-Zeit

Address: Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#11 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: £263 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotthard-Zeit 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gotthard-Zeit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gotthard Zeit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing