We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”
Review of Hotel Gurglhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gurglhof
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Hotel Gamper 1st to 8th Feb with my son. It was fantastic in every way. The service and friendliness of staff could not be better. The quality and variety of the food exceeded all expectations and the location is great. We will be back.

Room Tip: Have a bottle of Bela Rex, Gesellmann.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    23
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our first stay at the Gamper after many trips to Obergurgl. It has a great location right in the village and 50m from the ski locker door to the ski school meeting point. We had what was meant to be a basic double room but it was lovely - great size, seating area, lots of cupboards, nice modern decor and a small but smart bathroom.
This is not a big hotel, so the lounge area is quite small based around the very friendly bar. However there is also a children's play area downstairs.
There were lots of new staff as the hotel has recently changed hands. We were not the easiest of guests (dietary requirements, changing dates etc.,) but the staff were very accommodating!
Dinner was good. Breakfast was great! Complimentary cake in the afternoon.

Nice relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12CML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have just spent a week at Hotel Gamper over New Year and it was perfect. The food was particularly delicious - certainly worth paying the extra 26 Euros pp for the New Year dinner. The staff were helpful and the children loved our waiter - Attila. Please pass on our thanks to him for helping make our stay so welcome. Location spot on - just a 2 min walk to the lift. Our Junior Apartment was incredibly spacious with a balcony. All in all a fabulous holiday - we will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel - they are very helpful with airport transfers/lift passes etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel in January this year. This is a really nice family-run hotel. The staff at the reception, bar, restaurant was exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Breakfasts and dinners were exellent.
I cannot imagine many hotels that would open their saunas out of hours and serve free soup when the weather was stormy and the slopes were closed.
I definetely would like to come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen16_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Having tried Hochfirst and Crystal before, both ski-in - ski-out, the hotel was a slight disappointment. No swimming pool, much less classy than the former, far worse rooms than in the new building of the latter. But thereagain, it is 4-star, not 4S. One needs to walk for approx. 100 metres to reach the first lift, and walk the same distance back.

Yet, considering the price difference, I have no bad feelings. Excellent reception (kind & efficient), very good cleaning staff, acceptable rooms, above average Skistall. Landlady truly nice, friendly and helpful (as well as goodlooking), by far the most efficient in the dining room. Therein I had my only problem - the rest of the serving staff were disorganized to an incredible level, one or two even brooding over some less than friendly reminder about delays, wrong wines or dishes brought to the table, etc. I was calmed completely by a nice arrangement whereby some excellent and underpriced vintage bottles were brought down for our dinners from the remarkable Nederhütte mountain restaurant (also owned by the Gamper family, led by our landlady's brother). Otherwise, food is fine, both for breakfast and dinner. As unlike Lech and Ischgl, Obergurgl can not offer a true gourmet restaurant, I strongly advise halfboard rather than B&B.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Having stayed for our second time at The Gamper Hotel in Obergurgl we were again impressed by the delightful staff and the warm welcome of the Family Gamper.
The room was spotless, comfortable and large and the food was very good at breakfast and each evening. It is a family friendly hotel and we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: As a family of three we stayed in a Junior Suite which was generous in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyWilsonBett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed at the Gamper probably six times now which must say something!
We love it for the location, the friendly welcoming staff and the excellent food.
Friends had a room to the front of the Hotel which was all refurbished (103) and very smart however they were disturbed on a couple of evenings by the noise from some late night/early morning party goers from the Josl Keller as they passed the hotel. Not of course the Gamper's fault but as they had to keep the windows open all night as the rooms are quite hot it proved a bit of a nuisance to them.
We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the mountain(405) and this was really quiet and peaceful.
The food is excellent served in the comfortable and smart restaurant. We did notice however this year that they were really pushing drinks at dinner......we were ordering drinks anyway but still it sometimes felt like a hard sell.
The staff are lovely. Bjorn and Dorothea particularily good.
The ski boot room is superb as is the ski room. Lovely to have nicely warmed boots each morning.
We would go back to the Gamper again and would recommend it. However we would suggest rooms on the south side of the hotel for being much quieter than those to the front of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the Hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.0 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#24 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#11 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurglhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurglhof

Property: Hotel Gurglhof
Address: Ramolweg 19, Obergurgl, Austria (Formerly Hotel Gamper)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#11 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#12 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#14 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gurglhof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gurglhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamper Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing