We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service, close to slope lift”
Review of Hotel Gurglhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gurglhof
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We did a last minute booking, not knowing what to expect as it was our first time ski in Austria, after being in trois Vallees and Les Arcs for many years.
Upon arrival the staff placed our car in the garage and we had a great 5 course dinner.
Dinner had a choice of 3 main courses, incl vegetarian. great wines at extra.
Room was large, Austrian style and bathroom was impeccable, separate toilet room.
Breakfast with cooked eggs and very good home backed bread.
Skis can be rented ariund the corner and the ski / shoes are kept in a warmed room, so in the morning no damp / cold boots.
3 mins walk to the two start lifts. No queue anywhere.
Black and red are friendly, well maintained. Nice ski area for 5 days if you are a good skiier, be sure to take the traverse lift to the HoghGurgl and its peaks. At the end of the day, the apres ski opened up..the nederhutte is just 5 mins down after the lifts close, but it gives you the real Austrian feeling.
It is too small area for more than a week but for the senior skiier this is a very fine area.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gitta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel, we chose for our skiing holiday for the 5th time. To make a decision to come to Gamper was very easy. Hotel has a excellent position (just few steps away from the skilift to Festkogel), skiing area is perfect and suitable for all kind of skiing skills. Hotel has a fantastic team and delicious kitchen.
It's not easy to make things better and better every year.
This hotel did it!
I hope that next year we will back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JozefG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Hotel Gamper 1st to 8th Feb with my son. It was fantastic in every way. The service and friendliness of staff could not be better. The quality and variety of the food exceeded all expectations and the location is great. We will be back.

Room Tip: Have a bottle of Bela Rex, Gesellmann.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our first stay at the Gamper after many trips to Obergurgl. It has a great location right in the village and 50m from the ski locker door to the ski school meeting point. We had what was meant to be a basic double room but it was lovely - great size, seating area, lots of cupboards, nice modern decor and a small but smart bathroom.
This is not a big hotel, so the lounge area is quite small based around the very friendly bar. However there is also a children's play area downstairs.
There were lots of new staff as the hotel has recently changed hands. We were not the easiest of guests (dietary requirements, changing dates etc.,) but the staff were very accommodating!
Dinner was good. Breakfast was great! Complimentary cake in the afternoon.

Nice relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12CML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have just spent a week at Hotel Gamper over New Year and it was perfect. The food was particularly delicious - certainly worth paying the extra 26 Euros pp for the New Year dinner. The staff were helpful and the children loved our waiter - Attila. Please pass on our thanks to him for helping make our stay so welcome. Location spot on - just a 2 min walk to the lift. Our Junior Apartment was incredibly spacious with a balcony. All in all a fabulous holiday - we will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel - they are very helpful with airport transfers/lift passes etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel in January this year. This is a really nice family-run hotel. The staff at the reception, bar, restaurant was exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Breakfasts and dinners were exellent.
I cannot imagine many hotels that would open their saunas out of hours and serve free soup when the weather was stormy and the slopes were closed.
I definetely would like to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen16_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Having tried Hochfirst and Crystal before, both ski-in - ski-out, the hotel was a slight disappointment. No swimming pool, much less classy than the former, far worse rooms than in the new building of the latter. But thereagain, it is 4-star, not 4S. One needs to walk for approx. 100 metres to reach the first lift, and walk the same distance back.

Yet, considering the price difference, I have no bad feelings. Excellent reception (kind & efficient), very good cleaning staff, acceptable rooms, above average Skistall. Landlady truly nice, friendly and helpful (as well as goodlooking), by far the most efficient in the dining room. Therein I had my only problem - the rest of the serving staff were disorganized to an incredible level, one or two even brooding over some less than friendly reminder about delays, wrong wines or dishes brought to the table, etc. I was calmed completely by a nice arrangement whereby some excellent and underpriced vintage bottles were brought down for our dinners from the remarkable Nederhütte mountain restaurant (also owned by the Gamper family, led by our landlady's brother). Otherwise, food is fine, both for breakfast and dinner. As unlike Lech and Ischgl, Obergurgl can not offer a true gourmet restaurant, I strongly advise halfboard rather than B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#23 of 33 in Obergurgl
157 reviews
2.5 mi away
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
#2 of 4 in Hochgurgl
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
365 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurglhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurglhof

Address: Ramolweg 19, Obergurgl, Austria (Formerly Hotel Gamper)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#11 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#12 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: £335 - £1,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gurglhof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gurglhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamper Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing