We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crystal
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We got a tip from a friend a decided to try the Crystal for our skiing holiday. It was one of the best decisions we have made for a long time. We had room nr 837 (east wing) and we just cannot complain about anything. The spa: just awesome. The ski depot: awesome as well. The food: great. The staff: great. The room: spacious, great bathroom and a great view. And floor heating as well! The environment has been taken into consideration as well by the solar panels and thermal heat.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Kahtryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for The Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We had a memorable stay at this quality hotel. The service was excellent from arrival to departure. Our room was modern, spacious with a balcony and very conveniently situated in the newer part of the hotel close to the spa, near to the bridge over the road with stairs down to the dining room.
The connection through the basement to the ski and boot room and then through the shop to the steps up to the gondola was very convenient. The food was of high quality throughout with some special starters from the nightly themed buffet platters. We particularly enjoyed resting on the beds in the quiet room of the spa - reading and relaxing with the warmth of the wood- burning fire. The skiing in Obergurgl is limited but links well with Hochgurgl from where there are routes to spectacular views. Motorway skiing is only down the road in Solden and can be included in your pass for a day. All in all a very redtorative holiday venue for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve37doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Already 9th winter in a row that I went to this hotel. Food, wellness and service remains top. Ideal because it is located next to the main lift to the ski slopes. Rooms are clean and some have a superb view on the mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pehu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very, very, very good hotel, with great service. Large, clean rooms, beautifull pool and excellent spa area. Very excellent service throughout the entire hotel. It took us 5 minutes to go from the room to the gondel, including turning on our shoes!!! No kidding!!!! Very good food, a lot of variation and wine choices are great. Staff is great with kids as well. I'm glad we found this hotel...for sure we will be back next year!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Aafje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A really nice week at The Crystal, Obergurgl. Genuinely ski-in, ski-out. No queues and sparsely populated pistes in the week from Feb 8th 2014. Good skiing conditions for 5 of our 7 days. Ours was one of the few remaining old-fashioned rooms with a poor view and no balcony, but it was large and spotlessly clean and had been on offer via Crystal Ski at a very good price indeed for such a hotel. Other guests were full of praise for rooms on other floors. The range and quality of the food at breakfast and dinner was remarkable, with an especially wide variety in the evening buffets and an interesting choice on the menu for the served dishes. Expensive fine wine available, but also a good choice at or just below 30 Euros. Invariably friendly and courteous service - better than we have encountered at another similar Obergurgl hotel. Fabulous spa area, especially the Panorama Sauna with its views over the end of the piste and the sun-lit evening peaks - with a special mention for splendid Saunameisterin Brigit who kept the spa area immaculate and keeps strict charge of the Aufguss ritual twice each evening. There is also a separate "textile sauna" area for those who feel the need to remain clad, and access to the small but pleasantly warm outdoor pool, with its own views of the surrounding peaks. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 204 was below the standard of most of the accommodation. It was old fashioned, had poor temper...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Located right next to the lifts this is a great ski in ski out experience. The rooms are very big with a modern design and lovely views. The facilities are brilliant with the outdoor pool and saunas a real treat. The food is varied but with real quality and with fantastic staff to make the whole experience perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irobwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Crystal is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and Obergurgl is the best all round resorts in the West of Austria.

Great start, On arrival we parked the 4x4 outside the main door and it was moved underground by the staff and the cases where taken to our rooms whilst we relaxed in the bar having complimentary drinks.

The hotel has new and old accommodation, all of a very high standard. We took a look at the suites and although very nice we could not justify spending the extra as the rooms allocated were so good.

The dining experience at The Crystal is fantastic. There is an overwhelming choice at breakfast and dinner. We tried not to pig out but it all got a little out of hand by the end of the week and there were a few bellies up. Cakey bread with fresh honey with Nutella is recommended! Special mention to Michael who was a great Waiter.

The hotel is very well located with an underground garage (Free) and a good ski hire shop/locker room built on the side right next to a gondola. The home run to the hotel can be a struggle for beginners either way down.

We made good use of the spa everyday, there is a great hot outside pool and relaxation pool inside with Sauna/Steam room (All Immaculate). There is also a separate tackle out area for the guests who like that sort of thing.

We used both Crystal and Sportive (attached Sister hotel) bars, there is normally a little more life in the Sportive and both have roaring open fires. Drinks were reasonably priced for the resort.

We had stayed here before but we thought that they had actually exceeded all our expectations and had definitely maintained and improved the overall experience.

We have struggled to find an equal to The Crystal in this area of Austria so will probably be back, we thought it was great value for money and everybody agreed it had contributed towards a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: 203-207 Inghams rooms are large but above kitchen
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenaussicht
Hotel Alpenaussicht
#16 of 33 in Obergurgl
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: Gurglerstrasse 90, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#3 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#5 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: £277 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Was gehört zu einem perfekten Skiurlaub im Ötztal? Schneesichere Pisten, traumhafte Abfahrten und ganz viel Raum zum Wohlfühlen. In Ihrem Vier-Sterne-Superior-Hotel in Obergurgl erwartet Sie ein legeres Ambiente zum Loslassen und Auftanken: THE CRYSTAL verwöhnt Wintersportler mit seiner schneesicheren Toplage direkt an den Skipisten von Obergurgl und bietet höchste Servicekultur im stilvollen Ambiente.Kosten Sie Ihre Skiferien in Obergurgl - Ötztal und die Abfahrten bis zum Haus in vollen Zügen aus. Lehnen Sie sich zurück, genießen Sie jeden Augenblick Ihres Skiurlaubes im Ötztal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Hotel Obergurgl
Crystal Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing