We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, location and food......”
Review of Hotel Wiesental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Wiesental
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This year my pal and I booked late due to complications. Inghams offered the Hotel Wiesenthal at a fair price and we honestly had the best room and food in many years of skiing in Europe. Our room was a Superior with so much space with a separate loo from a well equipped bathroom. Plenty of hanging space, a free safe for valuables, writing table, south facing balcony, 37" Samsung TV etc. The restaurant was traditional but the food was superb at breakfast and dinner especially the 5 course Gala dinner. Bottles of wine were expensive but it was possible to have viertels of red white or rose at lower prices. Every course was served with a smile and the variety of Traditional vs Light and conscious was welcomed. The hotel is 10 yards from Sport Riml where we rented skis boots etc and just 300 yards from the gondola serving the Hohe Mut. We used the sauna a few times with jacuzzi and the only thing missing was a small swimming pool. Could not have had a better stay in the Alps as the sun, snow and ski tuition were excellent.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor and were allocated room 202 - with balcony, loungers etc. Views across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

As visitors to Obergurgl on many occasions we booked quite late the Weisental was the only option for Christmas 2011. Comments from other guests we identify especially with the VERY rude, unhelpful, short tempered, uncooperative, unenthusiastic, rigid, authoritarian, disrespectful Manageress. Room spacious but barren. Food average, served by staff in fear of the manageress and not happy people. We battled regarding water, why should we have to buy a bottle of wine to enable us to drink tap water? as it happens we were with a party prepared spend money on drink, however the petty battles made us angry. Another negative being when a member of the party was ill and couldnt make it down to dinner; upon leaving dinner one of us inquired whether it was possible to get any food, even bread, to take up, to which "kitchen is closed, go away" was shouted back. On another occasion a bottle of balsamic vinegar didn't have the lid attached so when it was picked up it smashed, a genuine accident - however Mrs Schieber acted in a manner that one wouldn't expect at any kind of hotel, let alone a 4. She is someone who drags the hotel down. Overall the experience was one we would prefer not to repeat, this hotel has the potential to be great due to position aspect etc. the owners need to retire or hand over to the younger generation that hopefully would breathe some enthusiasm and joy back into the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Please be warned that the Wiesental only has Austrian twin rooms to offer. So if you have two 20 year old males in your party they must be prepared to share what in essence is a double bed - i.e. one sold bed frame - which is very up close and personal. Unfortunately we experienced this first hand and the management and Inghams, our tour operator, weren't interested in trying to sort this out without further costs to us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyP650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Just back from Obergurgl for the 20th year running and this time stayed at the Wiesental.
After leaving home at 2am for a 6am flight, we were looking forward to an afternoon ski and arrived in good time at the hotel just before 10am. Greeted by the lady of the house our welcome was "put your luggage downstairs out of the way, your room is not available until 2pm!" Not really the kind of welcome I was expecting when you consider this was the 1st week of the season and they really do charged TOP dollar!!!
So with the holiday off to not the best start we looked forward to dinner. We were the only 3 english guests and at times I think we became invisible. Service to our table was very slow and mid week our table was moved to accomadate a german family who wanted to sit near some friends.
Tap water is not an option in the resturant, bottled water is 5euros a time.(rip off)
Having been a regular in Obergurgl for approx 20yrs, and tried out many of the hotels available the Weisental is near the bottom of the league. The food was avarage and portions were small, drinks were overpriced and staff were slow to respond.
Our room was the best feature, good size, plenty of storage and a few english TV channels.(that is very rare in austria).
To sum up, there are many hotels in Obergurgl that rank a lot better and are of simelar price, I personally would not revist this hotel as I belive in value for money and this place just does not cut it!

Room Tip: in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dommelfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Stayed in the suite with our two daugthers. The suite is spacious however not cosy at all, eg no small lamps to give atmophere, no minibar etc. Apparently it is not allowed to eat in the room. Good location. Very unfriendly service from the Lady of the House. It really did seem like that she was very tired of the ski season. It states everywhere that the food should be something special; we started of with an austrian buffet (apparently every wednesday) - not very fancy at all! The wine list was good though.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maiand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed for.a week here on a cheap allocation on arrival deal with in gams. Hotel is near the main lifts and ski school shops etc. We initially were given a small room but this was changed free of charge the next day to a lovely south facing room with large balcony and a sofa area. All the hotel was very clean and food lovely. Breakfast offered fresh orange juice not concentrate etc. Only gripes were that water was only free is you had wine, lack of wi fi, and staff having poor English in the restaurant. There was plug in net access but this was not much use with iPads. Many of the larger hotels have wi fi available. The owner said he was looking into it. Overall would recommend but I guess it depends what deal you get price wise. I would not pay their rack rates but these are often hypothetical in most hotels anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELLIK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed at the Weisental over Christmas this year. We have been to Obergurgl many times and stayed at a number of places. The room we had at the Wiesental was by far the best we have had. The view from the floor to ceiling windows straight up the valley was super. The room was very well presented and could not be faulted. I have read previous reports complaining about a charge for water etc, this is not unusual for Obergurgl where everything has a price! That said you always get free water at dinner if you ordered wine.

The food was top class with a good selection to suit most tastes (though Austria is not a good place for vegitarians)

The only problem I found was a lack of WiFi there was wired LAN in the reception area but if you have a iPhone or other wifi device that is not much use. The hotel is away of this probelm and I think they have plans to install it soon.

The Spa area was nice, no pool but jacuzzi and several saunas/steam rooms. No sign of any kids when I was in but It could be a probel at busy times. As always in Austria No bathing costumes alowed in the Sauna/steam room areas so be aware!

Another nice touch is the kid play room, our 3 year old loved it, it has soft play stuff and a slide etc.

All in all this is a great hotel and I am sure we will return next year, hope they have wifi by then!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalbagtag_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Mathiesn Hotel
Mathiesn Hotel
#24 of 33 in Obergurgl
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jenewein
Hotel Jenewein
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#11 of 33 in Obergurgl
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiesental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiesental

Address: Piccardweg 16, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#17 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: £207 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wiesental 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wiesental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiesental Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing