We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't fault the service with ski esprit”
Review of Chalet Alpenblume

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Obergurgl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Alpenblume
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great place to stay - we were in the new suites which are two bedroom apartments. Great location for kids ski school, ski hire, short walk to lift or bus journey into centre of town. New apartments are very spacious with a lot of storage, only annoyance is having to go downstairs to the front door to use the toilet, just a poor layout.
Ski Esprit are excellent - wonderful service all holiday, can't fault them. Skiing in Obergurgl is great also, covers all abilities and quiet empty, motorway style runes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Alpenblume, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Gillso,
Thank you so much for these lovely comments, our first review this season. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed Obergurgl so much and appreciated the Alpenblume's spacious family suites and the service provided by our dedicated staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on another Esprit ski holiday next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great time here. Fantastically big/ massive suite and again fabulous child are for our 3 yr old. Thanks, some days he had an instructor, a snow ranger and the child are manager all to himself and he loved it. The rest if the family has a brilliant time skiing in Obergurgl Important to know this is run as a chalet by Esprit rather than a chalet hotel. This means the food is not as good as the chalet hotels.

The toboggan ride is by far the most dangerous thing I have done on snow for several seasons. We loved Obergurgl, the room , the childcare and the skiing. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freeheel_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We booked a weeks skiing last minute (3 days before leaving) and Esprit Ski were offering a great deal on the Alpenblume in Obergurgl. Had a quick look on Tripadvisor and it looked ok, not great but not bad either.....but then it wasnt advertising itself as 5 star, so you cannot expect 5 star!

We have had a break from Esprit holidays of about 6 years as our children are getting older (10) and no longer need child care, ski lessons or cocoa club.
The Esprit staff met us at the airport and it was just like old friends! All week the Esprit staff in the chalet were fantastic, nothing was ever too much trouble, they were enthusiastic, helpful and best of all HAPPY! - Thanks so much to Angarrach, Niamh and the team who made our stay so good. The resort manager, Nate, was always professional, very helpful and well informed...just needed to chill a bit!!

Ed and his team in the kitchen delivered fantastic food night after night, not one duff meal, always good wholesome hearty food, well presented and plenty of it. Henry the wine waiter was a star, always keeping our glasses topped up and the wine flowing. There was choice of 2 whites and 2 reds, all of very acceptable drinking quality. There was also a great little 'Honesty' bar in reception if you fancied a beer, coke or a glass of wine out of dinner hours.

Breakfast was a cold buffet affiar with fresh bread, cheeses, meats, cereals, boiled eggs, fresh fruit salads and juices etc and there was always Tea and Coffee available all day, Oh and dont forget the Yummy cake in the afternoon!

Now - The chalet itself. Location is perfect...just 50 yards walk from a very small button lift, that then saves a 300 metre walk to the main Gondola. In our entire week we never ever experienced a single lift queue in the entire resort - You wont find that anywhere else!
We had a room for 3 that was perfectly adequate, not huge but certainly not too small. There was ample storage space on top of the wardrobes for your empty, holdalls, ski / board bags and plenty of storage space for possesions and clothes etc. Beds were clean and comfy, bathroom was small but as long as the shower delivered hot water at a good rate then we are happy...and it did!
The bedroom had a balcony with a great view of the mountain and village.
The chalet could do with updating (a lick of paint, new carpets and curtains etc) but it was perfectly clean and did exceed our expectations...especially after the bargain price we paid. We have had much smaller and certainly worse places in France before!

All in all a fantastic 'last minute' ski trip and great work from The team from Esprit and Chalet Alpenblume. We would certainly go here again
Thanks!

Last but not least....make sure you visit the Nederhutte for the 4pm Apres - There really is no place like it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alfietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just back from our 2nd visit to the Alpenblume with Esprit (27th Jan) and along with 2 other families have already booked for the same weeks next year....

From the outset the Esprit staff are there to help; they are all outside to meet the coach and assist with the (many) bags on arrival and help you settle in and it seems that there is always a chalet team member or one of the childcare team around whenever you need them.,

The kids (5 & &) are whisked off at 9.15 for ski lessons and or snow club and you don't get them back again until after high tea at 5.30-6 pm - perfect for a full days boarding and enough time for a quick gluhwien or 3 . Just enough time for a quick bath then the kids are off to cocoa club at 7.15 while the adults enjoy a child free dinner time.

The ski instruction for the kids is superb, my daughter has done 5 half days and 5 full days over 2 years and did her 1st black run!

This year Ed spoiled us with the menu, he has obviously cracked 'altitude cooking' and some. The food was excellent and plenty of it, the service by 'Ham' and her team was always with a smile and a laugh and plenty of wine ( it always got better after the 2nd and 3rd bottle?).

If you are going to try it we can recommend the apartments, plenty of room for 3 adults and 2/3 kids

Obergurgl and Hochgurgl are classified as beginner/intermediate resorts but there was plenty of off piste for the more intrepid of our party

.

Room Tip: go for apartments 101, 102 or 103 worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnowBoardman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just returned home after a fantastic week at the Alpenblume with Esprit Ski. Childcare and all aspects of the kiddy side was excellent our nearly 3 year old loved every minute, the childrens meals were good cannot complain! The chalet was typically Austrian, our room wasn't huge but was clean, warm and comfortable, breakfast was good but basic, cakes every afternoon which were yummy, evening meals were very good didn't have a bad meal and free wine with it. The chalet staff were very good, polite and catered to any needs. The Alpenblume was close to ski lifts we really enjoyed Obergural and Hochgurgl as a ski area. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandssimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have just returned having spent New Year at the Alpenblume with our daughter and family.
The food was excellent, the staff were great and the location of the hotel was perfect.
Dont miss the quiz night!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilbur8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

First off the Alpenblume is not sold as a 4 or 5 star hotel, so dont expect that level of comfort/service. We are regulars to Obergurgl and generally stay at the Bellevue.

Having said that, we have recently spent a fantastic week in the Alpenblume. There was 4 adults and 1 child, and the hotel and facilities are perfect. The food whilst not gourmet was good and tastey.

The rooms we had (14/15) were in the older part of the setup and while perhaps a little tired were clean and tidy and comfortable. Very typical of older Austrian hotels.

The staff were fantastic and the child care was absolutely perfect. The evening arrangments via Ski Esprit suited us down to the ground.

I would go back here again in a heart beat, and there were many regular Ski Esprit customers with us for the week and they were all more than happy with the service, and there was nothing here to suggest they shouldnt be.

Only thing I would say is they could do with more hardware (cups, glasses etc...)

We were kindly given a peak at the new apartments which looked very very nice, I'd recommend those if you want your own little space if you get the chance, but the rest of the Chalet/Hotel is just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickyD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#23 of 33 in Obergurgl
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#14 of 33 in Obergurgl
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#10 of 33 in Obergurgl
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wiesental
Hotel Wiesental
#25 of 33 in Obergurgl
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenaussicht
Hotel Alpenaussicht
#16 of 33 in Obergurgl
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Alpenblume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alpenblume

Address: Pirchhuett 16, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Price Range: £62 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing