We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpenland
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Sportiv(Obergurgl)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Madeleine(Obergurgl)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Gurgl(Obergurgl)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crystal(Obergurgl)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olympia(Obergurgl)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
110
64
20
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
64
20
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstap waterevening mealboot roomski roomsnow banksoft play areahalf board optiongluten free needsthe hotel receptionski schoolrental equipmentopen fireearly in the seasongood sizehands on approachfamily run hotelskis boots
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Alpenland for a week's ski holiday booked through Crystal and overall the hotel met our expectations. Food was always excellent and the waiting staff couldn't be more helpful. Likewise the location is literally on the side of the piste so you can ski back to the hotel at the end of the day and the boot room offers heated boot warmers which is a real bonus in the mornings! The rooms are a little dated but ours on the top floor was extremely spacious and overlooked the mountains / ski runs at the back of the hotel. The Spa facilities at the hotel were very good - yes in traditional Austrian fashion it's mainly naked but there are areas that allow you to wear swimwear although in our experience, some people chose to keep their swimwear on in the naked sections and nobody really minded as long as they were respectful to others. The hotel did seem to charge a premium for things particularly the €4.50 for a jug of tap water at dinner which seemed a bit odd - stick to the wine instead! This was our first trip to Obergurgl and from walking round the town and visiting a number of hotels, I think you'd be hard pushed to find a poor hotel in this resort. For us - this hotel worked well: it offers doorstep ski-ing, good facilities and great food and we'd be happy to return again. I think some of the other comments are fair, particularly if you have children in ski school etc. but for us this wasn't an issue.

As for the resort itself, there isn't much nightlife to speak of (an attraction for us) but if you want a good night, the Nederhutte mountain bar /restaurant has some of the best après ski you're likely to find anywhere. They have live music from around 4pm most days with dancing on the tables and then ski-ing back to the resort down floodlit pistes which become increasingly tricky dependant upon how much of a good time you've had - don't worry though if you're legless (easily done) as they also shuttle people back down on snowmobiles!

If you want a true party resort, try Solden a bit lower down the valley and speaking of Solden, it's definitely worth upgrading your lift pass (only €10 I seem to remember) as this gives you a day's ski-ing in this resort and it's only about 20 mins. away on the free bus service. Without this, you may end up getting a little bored of the runs in Obergurgl & Hochgurgl.

Great places to eat on the mountains include the Hohe Hut Alm, David's Hutte and Nederhutte in Obergurgle and the Riml Hotel and Kirchenkarhutte in Hoghgurgl.

All in all, a first class resort although expect some first class prices as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Junkie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a great few days in Obergurgyl staying at the Hotel Alpenland. This is repeat visit because we enjoyed it so much last year. Lovely food, room and spa. Management are welcoming and it is in a fabulous location- perfect for skiing to after a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Notes: I've worked in the travel and tourism industry for 14 years and have previously been an hotel contractor for Thomas Cook. Our party was 2 adults, 2 younger children, on a ski holiday.

I have marked this as average because:
- Rooms could be better. No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms, nor a mini bar, no courtesy bottled water. Yes there was a TV but no TV channel guide. In-room hotel info was sparse. You'd expect all of these items included with a 4* hotel. Shower also had an alarming propensity to decide to turn scalding hot one minute, then ice cold the next.
- Service was ok but overall the staff could have been friendlier. We also felt rushed during our dinner each evening - even though we had the table for the night. Nobody explained the hotel facilities or how the evening meals worked, so we had to fathom it out ourselves. Likewise with the ski pass and hire, in a ski resort people will ski, but we weren't given any pointers on how to sort the hire/passes etc., no help was forthcoming, so we had to ask. A little friendly welcoming info when we checked in would have made a lot of difference. I speak fluent German and English so the language wasn't a barrier.
- Everything is priced at a premium in the hotel, too much so in my opinion - Average bottle of wine, 35 Euros+. Wifi, 21 Euros for 3 days (and unreliable). Wifi should be free. 1 hr's pool/billiards - 7.50 Euros. A glass of Gluehwein also more expensive than any of the village or mountain bars. A 1/4 litre carafe of still water (tap water?) was 4.50 Euros. A 1/4 litre carafe of house wine was 11.50 Euros. It also cost us 8 Euro to do one load of laundry and dry it!
- The hotel is on top of a hill in respect of the village itself, and the ski school. If you have children in ski school, they end their day at the bottom of the hill. A neighbouring hotel on the hill (the Alpina?) runs a courtesy shuttle bus for guests to and from the top of the hill. The Alpenland doesn't. This to me is a noticeable gap in service. Nobody wants to walk up that hill each day in ski boots, and it's one of those journeys too long to walk with skis, boots etc. but too short for a taxi. If you have kids in ski school, this set up simply doesn't work with this hotel.

Don't get me wrong, overall we enjoyed our stay, but if the above had been different, we'd be rebooking for next year already. As it is, however, for the price it just didn't represent value for money, and there are better options for the price in Obergurgl which we will be exploring for next year.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balcony, some don't, so if you want a balcony, check first.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sirduncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week of skiing in April. The hotel is well set up with a great boot room only yards from the piste. The food is excellent, with 5 course dinner in a relaxed atmosphere. The waiting staff were full of fun and made a real effort with the kids. The rooms are not the biggest for a family but about average for the resort. My only gripe is the Wifi. At €38 for the week it is not too expensive but it doesn't work as advertised. It does not connect in the rooms and the hotel clearly know this. Despite many complaints and some embarrassed looks from the staff, the problem was not taken seriously. A shame, it would have been better to be honest about its shortfalls and guests would not have been so frustrated.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Daithefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The staff who work at this hotel are very good. The quality and variety of the food was fantastic. The wine was a little pricey averaging 40 euros a bottle but this did not spoil the impact of the fine dining. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The hotel had a really nice atmosphere and I definately would stay here again. It snowed during the last night of our holiday, and we were due to drive to the airport, but it was not a problem. They had been out already and cleared the road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinky13Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews