We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not My Cup of Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not My Cup of Tea”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I booked to stay at the Alpina for a week immediately after my 3 kids broke up from school on Friday 14th December. We stayed in a Category F apartment, which was easily large enough to accommodate the 3 kids and the 2 of us.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was huge and there was a nice balcony with a view over to Hochgurgl. Unfortunately, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, so if you fancied a cuppa after a long day out in the cold, you had to go to the hotel bar.

This would have been fine had the hotel bar not been so blisteringly hot. Also, the layout of the seats and tables were fine to accommodate groups of 6 or more, but there were no tables for 2, if you wanted an intimate chat without the kids later on for example.

After our first such experience, we spent the remainder of the week seeking out hot chocolate and afternoon tea in other hotels, which was a bit of a shame. The bars at both the Gamper and the Austria were more in keeping with what I want from an Alpine Hotel bar, i.e. - cosy, intimate, friendly, with a little bit of atmosphere.

The hotel itself is situated fairly centrally in Obergurgl, but it's on a steep hill, which could be a bit of a nuisance if you're tired and have 3 small children to drag along after a full day of skiing. If you want to be closer to the lifts and on the same level, I would recommend looking at the Gamper, the Madeleine and the Gotthard Zeit. I also heard a good report of the Alpenaussicht, although we didn't manage to see for ourselves.

The food at the hotel was without doubt very good indeed. However, I felt that there were too many guests in residence all at the same time for the kitchen staff to cope comfortably. All the staff were very frinedly and helpful, but you could see they were stretched.

I felt that the breakfast choice was just OK, which is disappointing for a hotel of this class and in this location.

The hotel Childrens' entertainment (Johanna) was very friendly and very good with the kids, although we only dropped the kids with her on a couple of occasions. The hotel allows kids to eat their dinner earlier than the main restaurant start time of 7pm (which I thought was too late), as long as they're at the table by 5:45pm.

This sounds like a great idea on the face of it, but then you realise that the food choice would be the same every night and not as per the daily menu. If your kids only eat chicken nuggets, fish fingers and pasta, then this won't be a problem.

The hotel swimming pool and spa facilities were excellent and the kids all enjoyed having a good swim and a jacuzzi each afternoon.

There was a little hotel minibus, which we managed to flag down on a couple of occasions in the afternoon from near the ski lifts at about 3:50pm, but we didn't notice this at all until quite a long way into our week. This is a complimentary service and it brings you back to the hotel without you having to negotiate the steep hill. I'm not entirely sure what its hours of operation were and it was a little bit "hit or miss" if we saw it at all while we were there.

In summary, this is a nice hotel, but far too big for my liking, in a resort like Obergurgl. I like to spend time in the mountains in a friendlier, more intimate sort of place than this. The hotel bar did not leave me feeling like I wanted to return, which makes me realise that this place has fallen at the first hurdle. I would have been far happier making a cup of tea in the room than being charged 4 Euros a cup in a soulless room where you could have been forgiven for turning up in a Hawaii Shirt and Bermuda Shorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    30
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
98
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Just returned from a week's skiing in Obergurgl staying at the Hotel Alpina. What a fantastic hotel. The facilities are immaculate and outstanding. Excellent quality, well presented food served by friendly, obliging staff. Hearty breakfasts and 5 course meals in the evening (8 courses on gala night). Comfortable, large bedrooms (we were a family of 5) with large bathrooms. The leisure facilities were outstanding but pick your time carefully as families with small children tend to dominate at 5pm. Definitely ski-in/ski-out. We were very fortunate with ski conditions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohlalaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We have just booked our fourth trip to the Alpina for our pre-Christmas ski. We first stayed at the hotel in 2005. The family Platzer and their staff are absolutely wonderful (although like other reviewers we did notice last year that the bar staff were not as friendly as in previous years). Warm welcome. Great bar area/lounge opening into the orangery type area when you can sit and soak up the sun during the day with a good book after the spa (if skiing isn't your thing). Exquisite modern (luxury) boot room - marble seating no less - with modern boot warmers and absolutely acres of space. Boots and skis having separate sections. You can walk straight from the bootroom onto the piste. Turn left and you ski down the the links into Hochgurgl; turn right and you can (with a bit of walking on the flat first) ski down into Obergurgl to catch the bubble. Lovely ski area and snowsure with it. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimad192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our third stay on consecutive Easters. The Alpina maintains as high a standard as ever. They were very understanding about the fact that one of our party had to cancel at short notice.

Another review commented that the run back to the hotel had changed and it is no longer possible to get as close. Perhaps this was just a temporary change in how the run was groomed, but at Easter I did not notice any difference from previous years. The only factor affecting how close I could get was how slushy the snow was and how much of it had melted (it was April!). And how much speed you dare build up on the slope down, so that you can carry the speed on the flat bit to the hotel.

Other reviews have commented on loud family groups in the restaurant at Easter. I did not notice this, so perhaps our group was in a quieter part of the restaurant (we were near where the owner's family sit). We did, however, notice some poorly behaved children and teenagers (sad to say they were my countrymen, English) in the pool/spa. As I said in my previous review, I do think the Alpina could do more to police this, so that a few families don't spoil things for everyone else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Spent a lovely week at the Alpina with another family making a total group of 9. Spacious clean & comfortable rooms. Great facilities such as gym, spa and swimming pool which were all welcome after a good days skiing. Everything is done to make life easy from the ski hire to the boot room leading out to the slopes. If I had a niggle at all it was that our group craved some slightly simpler food in the evening. However it was delicious and we were never hungry! I agree with a previous review that there is a big difference between the fantastic dining room staff (special mention to the wonderful Ivana) and the slightly serious bar staff in the lounge area. Perhaps Ivana should spend some time with them?? On another note about there being large groups (earlier review) if you choose to go in the school holidays you are bound to find families wanting to ski together - try booking a week or 2 earlier!!
One more thing to add - my husband found his mattress (austrian twin) too hard and when he asked if there was any chance of changing it for a softer one it was done immediately - very impressed.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite E very spacious and great for family of 4 (not quite the same as interconnecting thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWellsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just back from a fantastic week at the Alpina. A lovely Austrian hotel that was clean and comfortable with an excellent range of facilities for skier and non-skier alike. The service in the restaurant was first class, the food truly exceptional. The waiter service on the terrace was occasionally a little slow but no real issue.
I would agree with a previous comment that there were many large family groups in the hotel but as we were staying over Easter, no real surprise. We'll definitely return again and would recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyLeics_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just got back from our 6th visit in 8 years to The Alpina. This has been based on the wonderful experiences we have enjoyed previously, despite a few reservations over small niggling issues. The overall impression of the hotel has not changed, but is getting a little tired in some areas. Still a good hotel however and the Platzers try very hard to make it a stay to remember. However we noticed that the general atmosphere has been getting a little too package holiday type, over the last few years. This year it reached it's peak. Staff outside the restaurant were not the most responsive, but the staff in the restaurant Antonio, Roland and Ivana were very very attentive and were working their hearts out. They are a great asset and we always look forward to seeing them. The dining experience was a little disappointing this year due the large number of groups who were very loud. Mainly British. Dining here is such a treat and I would suggest amongst some of the best you will get Skiing so the meal should be savoured. I think it would be best to put all the groups together in one room. The noise level and resulting ambience forced us to miss some meals and dine at another hotel just to get some peace. Obergurgl is a superb resort and we will be returning for many more years to come, but sadly next time it will be at another hotel. Sorry Alpina, but thanks for the previous years.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Deluxe

Property: Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Address: Kressbrunnenweg 12 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#7 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#7 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#18 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpina Deluxe 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Alpina Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Deluxe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing