We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, beautiful setting”
Review of Hotel Angerer Alm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Obergurgl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Angerer Alm
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The view from my room was lovely. Cuisine was excellent (except for Italian night) with local products, even some game, and interesting Austrian wines. We were a largish group, and they treated us well.
As the highest ski location in Austria, when the snow is not wonderful elsewhere it is likely to be great here. Fine location near the skilift, and lunch on the terrace is quite a convenience. The pool, sauna, herbal room and gym, as well as ample towels and robes are all included in the price, which is a huge boon because I really enjoy it all more.
Evenings are quiet, great because we go in for conversation and games. There are places in Obergurgl for night life if you must.
The negatives were minor. When the TV service changed, they did not have a list of the 50+ new channels—I made my own, and they did not choose to copy it for other guests. And, though not up to the hotel, the other does profoundly affect my total experience: since I like cross-country skiing, the trails which are all in Obergurgl are meager, all in the full sun, and are used as places where people "walk" their dogs, leading to disgusting soiled x-c trails. I'm hoping they can get their standards up to other civilized areas of the world in this regard.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a nice view of the valley, but all rooms are good. Go to the web site for de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripEvalu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

Location of hotel is excellent, as is the view and the rooms.
The hotel is run by a family and it seems that (except for the grandmother) the family does not really care. We got the feeling that being at their home, we're disturbing the family. Special orders at the table are commented with a sigh, if at all.
Overall impression: soso.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MADEROSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Angerer Alm was a fantastic experience for us. The food was excellent, plentiful and varied. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable, the location was ideal for skiing and the staff is truly outstanding. We had problems on our trip--our rental car had absolutely bald tires and the hotel staff arranged for the tire store to come from Solden, pick up our car, replace the tires, and return the car to us at an extremely reasonable price. Our 11-year old broke his wrist and they helped us with our transport for medical care as well. There is always someone there to help you. I loved the wellness center and the location of the hotel right at the foot of the slopes. It's a very quiet place, but we were there for sports not for the nightlife.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MShannonBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This will be the 4th year that we are returning to the Angerer Alm Hotel in Hochgurgl. It's an amazing hotel, the food is absolutely brilliant and you won't ever go hungry!
There is a really nice pool, jacuzzi and 'well-being centre' which includes a herb room, sauna, steam room etc.
It's the perfect location because it's right next to the slopes and Hochgurgl is very quiet on the slopes compared to Obergurgl you don't have to queue at the bottom of each slope. Hochgurgl only has 4 hotels so it isnt a lively resort but it's perfect for good skiing and a top-class hotel.
All the staff at the Angerer Alm are really nice and helpful, and the hotel is brilliant. There aren't a lot of good restaurants up on the slopes of Hochgurgl so the Angerer Alm also does a good menu for lunchtime that isn't very expensive.
I wouldn't recommend it for young people looking for a lively resort in the evenings etc, it's more of a couples or family resort.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brokenflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2008

This hotel situated at the base of the Grosse Karbahn chair (just a short walk across the road) was absolutely fantastic. The situation is ideal for getting onto your skis ASAP in the morning and ideally situated if you want to return for lunch. Talking of food - this was out of this world, just about the best I've experienced on a package holiday (we went via Inghams). The brochure states 4 courses but in fact there were 5 plus a cheese board! And the quality - I cannot praise it enough. Added to this was excellent service, a pool and jacuzzi (if you have the energy after a day on the slopes) and very friendly staff. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frankvolkmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Olymp Hotel
Olymp Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hochgurgl
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
#2 of 4 in Hochgurgl
103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
2.5 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angerer Alm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angerer Alm

Address: Hochgurglerstrasse 3, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Price Range: £203 - £504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Angerer Alm 4*
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing