We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont be put off by bad reviews of Hotel Austria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Austria Bellevue
Ranked #1 of 26 Obergurgl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont be put off by bad reviews of Hotel Austria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

I booked this hotel for my husband as a surprise birthday present. A few days before we were going I was very worried by the bad reviews on the hotel and wanted to change. Unfortunately I was unable to so just had to go and make the most of it. What a surprise I had. The hotel was brilliant! We were booked into 2 rooms (our mistake) next door to each other, but the hotel kindly changed us to a family room which was lovely, very clean, and spacious. I had very sore shins the first day and they kindly made up ice packs for me. Location was great. only 5 min walk to ski school or opposite the hotel was ski in and out. OK a little tiring with the hill to walk back but excercise does you good! It was always a pleasure to return to the hotel. The food was amazing. We loved breakfast, their eggs were always cooked to perfection. Coming back in the afternoon to cakes, jackets or soup was a lovely treat before relaxing. We always really looked forward to our evening meal. Taste and presentation were top class. 5 to 7 courses every night (if you could eat it, we had a good go) A little fancy for my 11 year old fussy eater but she still ate some and they always gave her a lovely desert. Yes a couple of the staff didnt make much conversation but I think that's just their way but didnt get put off by it. Staff were always willing to help. This was our first family ski holiday. Obergurgl was amazing, ski school was brilliant, especially the kids, Hotel was great would definitely recommend this holiday and hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthBean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    27
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Above the slopes and good if you are early to bed. Clean and spacious with the best food I have had in a hotel anywhere. Obergurgyl is quiet delightful and you could not fault the ski instruction No fighting for lifts.
The Hotel Management are surly, the restaurant staff OK. The wine waiter is arrogant, pushy sarcastic and seems to hate the English. Gerhart will try to trick you every way he can to spend more on wine, water, small measures etc. If you watch out for him you will have a delightful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherubcambridge268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

We are a Ski party of six and were made extremely welcome at the hotel Austria. The accomodation was perfect for our needs and the hotel has the added benifit of being able to ski- in and ski-out. . We very much enjoyed the hotels relaxed atmosphere, the pool and spa were much appreciated after an enjoyable days skiing. The standard of cuisine was excellent every night - Gerhard and the rest of the staff along with the hotel owners, the Steiner Family, attended to our every need. The breakfast in the morning was buffet style and had evrything you could think of from fruit and cereal through to bread ham and cheese. Should this not be enough you could of course request a cooked breakfast of eggs (as you prefer them) and bacon as some of our party did on several occasions. This was our second visit having been last year and again we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

My father booked this hotel for our family ski holiday and so I decided to look at some of the reviews. After reading a few of the negative ones I became quite anxious that we had made the wrong choice and was slightly worried that our holiday would not be as relaxing and as pleasant as we had hoped. I needn't have worried at all!

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Our bags were taken to our rooms for us whilst we were shown up to the rooms and a few of the hotel details and times of meals were explained to us.

The hotel itself is beautiful. It is traditional with wood panelled walls and ornate chandeliers and ornaments. The bar is very different and has bar benches with leather backs which makes for a really social drink at the bar, there are also comfy chairs and sofas in the bar/lounge are and a little snug with book shelves as well as a row of armchairs set our in front of a log fire - the perfect spot for a hot chocolate after a hard day's skiing! The rooms are very clean and cosy. We had a big double bed (with two single duvets) as well as a sofa with coffee table, dressing table, TV, huge wardrobe (with safe) minibar and en suite bathroom with separate toilet (bathroom with hairdryer). Our room also had a balcomy are which was lovely to look out on at sunset. We were very hapy with our room and settled in for the week.

We had read a lot of negative reports about the Steiner family and certain members of the management. I must stress that from our experience every member of staff and management we encountered could not have been nicer. The young lady at reception was always ready to help and was very smiley. The gentleman running the bar and who is also the head waiter was lovely and we became very familiar and jokey with him. He always remembered what we liked to drink in the evening and always had a warm greeting for us at the end of the day. We also left our choice of wine up to him at dinner as we don't know much about Austrian wine and wanted to try his recommendations. We were really pleased with all of his choices and he didn't pick the most expensive bottles as some hotels would have done. Our waiters and waitresses were delightful. They were always smiling and seemed relaxed and we built up a rapport with them also. All of the staff were attentive, warm and friendly and this made our experience of the hotel so much better.

It is true that a deposit must be paid for the rental of robes and slippers which must be worn to the pool and spa, these are kept for the week however. The robes were 5 Euros. The spa and pool are accessed by taking the lift from reception to the lower level and then a corridor and another lift. This was not a trek and en route you pass the pool table, internet station, table tennis room, massage area, kids play area and lots more so it is not just a dark, dingy corridor. The pool and spa is actually located at the sister hotel The BelleVue although my boyfriend did not realise this until we told him halfway through the week and we had been there every afternoon...he assumed it was just under our hotel, this lets you know that it doesn't feel as though you are leaving the Hotel Austria at all.

The pool and spa are lovely and although we went at different times of the day it alweays seemed very quiet. My favourite part of the leisure are was the 'surprise' pool. You enter a small pool an approach a glass wall, at this point the sliding doors open and you can swim through into the small outside pool! This was fantastic and very warm and we could relax outside whilst it was snowing! There is a room with several double waterbeds on which to relax, also another swimming pool and a jacuzzi and also a little room with a sunbed which we did not use. Through to the sauna there is another lunging area with sun loungers and another jacuzzi there are then three steam rooms (one cinnamon and one eucalyptus) and two saunas. The only thing that put me off wanting to go in the steam rooms is that swimming costumes are not allowed...you ust be naked. I overcame this however as you are allowed to take towels in with you and so I just wrapped myself in one..problem solved! Overall we loved the spa and pool area and it was a great way to relax and warm up after skiing and before dinner.

OK now onto the food...WOW!
Breakfast is a buffet complete with fruit, yogurt, cereal, nuts and dried fruit, different breads, cheeses, cold meats, juices, many different teas, a toaster and boiled eggs (perfect for soldiers). Aswell as all this if you ask the waiter/waitress you can also have bacon and fried eggs or an omlette to get the day started.

We didn't eat lunch in the hotel although there was complimentary cake ion the afternoons which was a nice touch. The evening meal was always five courses or more! The first course was a salad buffet which had at least ten types of salad ingredient aswell as croutons, bacon, and three types of dressing, next was usually a choice of two different soups one clear and one cream, next a starter, my favourite was the carpaccio of beef with rocket and parmesan, next was a choice of three different main courses and I must say the choice was always difficult but always delicious. Next comes pudding always beautifully presented and yummy and then a cheese and bread buffet. We were all so amazed with the standard of food every evening it really was A+. My mother is vegetarian and so I was slightly concerned that she would have to miss out on a few courses as the Austrians certainly like their meat. Once they knew she was a veggie however, they were always happy to offer an alternative or adapt a dish for her. The food and service really were incredible and I have come home significantly heavier!

The location of the hotel was great. We could ski down to a couple of lifts and also ski right back to outside the hotel. Obergurgle isn't a resort with a huge nightlife...this begins at about 4pm after skiing and ends at 6:30 when everyone returns to their hotels for dinner and drinking. To be honest we were more than happy with this as we were exhausted by about 10:30pm!

Overall myself and my family loved The Hotel Austria and I would not hesitate to return. All the other guests we spoke to were of the same opinion.

One tip, after skiing on Monday Wednesdays and Fridays, head to the Nederhutte halfway up the montain for live music and dancing on tables...lots of fun!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerryj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Austria over Christmas 2008 with my parents who had travelled from abroad to experience a white Christmas with us and to try their hand at skiing (my wife and I live in London).

This is the second time I have stayed there as we first stayed at the Austria in January 2008. We had a great time and thus booked it for our family Christmas.

The hotel itself is great, last time we stayed in the Annex and this was fine even though the ice skating rink did make a lot of noise until 10 pm almost every night. The rooms are spacious, clean and nice. This time we stayed in the main building and had great rooms that are large with large and roomy en-suite bathrooms. The hotel facilities and food are fabulous - the food is particularly good, 5 courses every night and gourmet quality. Certainly no faults with facilities, food and accommodation. It also offers ski-in-ski-out which is handy in Obergurgl as this was the third time we had visited the resort. The skiing is some of the best in Europe!

The main problem is the restaurant / bar manager called Gerhard - watch out for him. At breakfast he tries to sell you a wine package at 31 Euros for a glass of 4 different wines with dinner that night. It is over-priced and definitely not worth it. Stick with house wine and if you want water it is as per other reviews at 5 Euros for a 750ml bottle. No tap water either!

When my wife and I stayed here in January 2008 there was an elderly Austrian couple sitting adjacent to us and they took their own wine to dinner that the manager opened for them. This prompted us to take 4 bottles of pricy Aussie Shiraz with us (as the wine they have is average and over-priced). When we asked the manager if we could pay a corkage to have our own decent wine at dinner he refused and was quite sarcastic about it - great double standards.

The manager was also very friendly on the first two days and when he discovered we weren't going to take his wine packages and weren't going to "spend big" he pretty much ignored us for the rest of the week. This ended up as a great family joke about "mr grumpy".

It was also a little distressing to witness the way that the hotel owner (or overall manager) treated a fellow guest who queried his room cost. He had paid extra for a family room and had received a standard room. We did not deem it very professional witnessing the owner/manager calling a customer a d*** head and then calling the police when he refused to pay his bill as he hadn't received the service he had ordered.

We have skied extensively in Austria for over 10 years and keep going back as we love the friendliness and hospitality of the Austrian people and have never had anything but positive experiences there. Shame then about this one...

Great hotel, great facilities, fantastic food - just a shame about the management!!!

  • Liked — Facilities, Food and Location
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jemstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

The family room was very nice.The food should win a prize it is amazing. If your brining kids tell them that their is a big suprise and bring them to the pool i wont ruin the surpise by telling you why. one piece of advice watch out for the bar man the bill really tots up at the end DONT GET TO MANY DRINK *********

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank bob78987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

My family, 8 people, booked to stay at the Hotel Austria in Obergurgl over Christmas this year, 2008. It was just so disappointing as, despite requesting to be all together, we were split between two rooms in the main hotel building and 3 rooms in the Annexe. This may not have been too bad but access from the Annexe to the Hotel was either across a road or through the hotel's underground garage! So if we wanted to access the hotel's facilities, especially the swimming pool and sauna, then it really was not easy and very cold when in your swimwear! To keep the cold out, a dressing gown was available at a cost of 5 euros!!

The Annexe is also situated next to an outdoor ice rink where the floodlights and music stayed on until past 10pm at night, so if we wanted a snooze during the afternoon after skiing, then it just was not possible unless really tired, which we were.

The hotel manager and staff were very unfriendly, pretending not to speak english, and were very upfront when asking us to order drinks even before we had sat down in the bar to take a rest after skiing.

We had also booked 2 Quad rooms which were in fact a standard double, with no explanation as to the difference, if any, as the hotel manager and staff pretended not to understand us.

The single rooms were either next to the front door of the Annexe or in the eaves of the main hotel!

We could not order tap water in the bar or in the restaurant so were forced to pay 5 euros per bottle of water, which added significantly to the hotel extras bill.

The best part of the hotel were the other guests, who were all very friendly, the food which was excellent, and that the hotel and Annexe were within 50 metres of the ski slope.

The hotel was dreadful, but we would go back to Obergurgl as the skiing was excellent and not too busy even over Xmas.

Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CityLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#12 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haus Gurgl
Haus Gurgl
#9 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria Bellevue

Property: Hotel Austria Bellevue
Address: Kressbrunnenweg 3, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Austria Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Austria Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing