We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Lohmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lohmann
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Having stayed in other hotels in Obergurgl , the Lohmann was a new hotel for us and we were not disappointed.

We had ended up booking a family suite but even for a couple this was a great choice with a sofa and coffee table and an additional dining table and bench/seats area which allowed us to entertain on a couple of occasions. The bathroom was a good size with a great shower and bath and plenty of soap , shampoo and hand cream provided along with towelling robes and slippers. The safe in the wardrobe was useful and there was plenty of wardrobe space.
We even watched the Friday night Wales/France rugby international on BBC on the TV (Channel 40)
As we had a family suite, there was even an additional store room/ wardrobe room on the other side of the corridor for our room. - no lack of space.

The location of the hotel is excellent , on the main street only 3 minutes from the centre near the gondola and chair lift or the drag lift to the other gondola.

The boot/ski room is excellent with plenty of heated boot rack space and ski storage - all accessible from within the hotel or from the outside using the magnetic room key - very secure.

The hotel sits on the side of the hill with great balcony views of the mountains opposite and underneath the superb Lohmann Ski Hite and Ski wear shop - top quality products and service with access directly from the hotel.

The bar area is not the largest but does serve up excellent coffee and cake from 4-5 in the afternoon for free.

The food was excellent and was buffet style.

breakfast was the usual array of fruit, yoghurts, chees, meat, bread, jam etc. plus the option of cooked and hot food ( sausages, bacon, occasionally baked beans!, boiled egg) and on the grill freshly cooked pancakes or fried eggs. Plenty of hot fresh coffee and Juice with a choice of teas.
Evening meals were excellent as well - again with a choice of soups, first, then salads with plenty of choice and all help yourself to as much or as little, the main elements changed each day as well so you never had the same thing twice. the man courses were again a choice and you could mix and match as much or as little as you liked and catered for vegetarian and children also. Beer, wine and soft drinks were free from 6:30 to 9pm - as much as you wanted and the beer was on tap, the wine (Red , Rose and White) were all extremely palatable. I would defy anyone to have left feeling hungry - there was so much choice.

To top it off, you get a discount card and voucher book for use in the Lohmann rental and shop. - well worth using if you need to buy anything.

The staff were great - always helpful and pleasant.

We would certainly stay there again if we go back to Obergurgl. Highly recommended Hotel.

thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Use the discount book / vouchers that the hotel provide to get some money off in the Lohmann shop.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lohmann
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Children collected from ski school at lunchtime, fed in the hotel and taken back to ski school for the afternoon session so we could spend the day on the slopes including Hochgurgl which otherwise we would not have had time to do. After ski children's club with enjoyable activities also provided. All free of charge. This service alone would make us go back there. Wonderful.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've just returned from a great week at the Lohmann. The hotel is well located to access the slopes - about 1 minute walk. The hotel is pretty basic but has a good sauna and jacuzzi area. The ski boot room was one of the best I've seen.
The staff were all extremely helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good. There was a buffet at both breakfast and evening meal - so you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. The inclusion of free drinks - (the wine was very palatable) made this hotel very good value for money. Coffee and cake were also served mid afternoon.
Skiing was also very good - snow conditions were perfect for 4 days out of 6 and there were a good selection of intermediate runs. Overall a good week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PBOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great location, ski hire shop attached to hotel which is really convenient. Ski & boot room fantastic with heated boot rail..! All inclusive drinks with evening meal great value. Staff really friendly and helpful. Short walk to slopes and lifts, and to the Ski Bus stop if you wish to go further afield. I would certainly stay at this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The staff were very helpful and friendly, very clean and tidy hotel the beds were very good ,the fact we had English tv bbc1 in the room was a 1st for us in Austria nice , wifi in room two. Excellent breakfast and evening meal lots to choose from and of a high standard .
We stayed at the Lohmann over the new year when the resort was full we had no queues at the ski lifts or on the ski buss at all on this holiday, excellent resort for beginners and intermediate skiers lots of easy blue runs and nice reds that were well prepared each morning we skied hochgurgl in the morning & used the cable car to return to obergurgl to ski in the afternoon ,the hotel is only a 2 min walk to the lift or the bus stop we have skied a lot off resorts this is the best yet we will return next year and will stay in the same hotel .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have just returned from our 5th stay in Obergurgl and 3rd at the Lohmann. As usual the standard of service was excellent, the food and accommodation outstanding and great value for money. The best advert for the hotel is the number of visitors like ourselves who return year after year. It is lovely to return and see a number of familiar friendly faces. The hotel is ideally located for access to the piste and ski school. It is very family friendly but also suited to couples or groups travelling without children. Meals are buffet style which works well if you are hungry and you want to return for seconds! Beer, wine and soft drinks are free until 9pm which also greatly reduces the bar bill. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank murray'saberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having visited Obergurgl many times before we knew what to expect with the resort however this was our first stay at the Lohmann...
We stayed at the Lohmann between the 14th-21st Dec 2013 and we can honestly say what a lovely and pleasant hotel it was with some of the most friendly, helpful and courteous staff we have ever met, especially the ladies on reception and dining staff.
We found its Location to be central, the ski/board shop attached was useful and the food (all inclusive) was ample!! Breakfast ranged from cereals, fruits and breads to a cooked breakfast. Dinner always had a good variety and would I dare anyone to go to bed hungry!
... one thing I would like to point is that this is definitely a family orientated hotel so its worth bearing that mind as it might not be as quiet as some might like, we however as a couple were not put off by this and we would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obergurgl
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
432 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenaussicht
Hotel Alpenaussicht
#16 of 33 in Obergurgl
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
AQUA DOME Hotel
AQUA DOME Hotel
#2 of 9 in Langenfeld
868 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jenewein
Hotel Jenewein
#21 of 33 in Obergurgl
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lohmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lohmann

Address: Gurglerstrasse 108 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Obergurgl
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#6 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#11 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#17 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: £117 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lohmann 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lohmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lohmann Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing