We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun Snow and Comfort”
Review of Hotel Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Madeleine
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sun Snow and Comfort”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Obergurgl where we enjoyed a week skiing. The location of Hotel Madeleine to the gondola was within easy walking distance and the food, service, courtesy of staff and cleanliness throughout the Hotel was second to none. The Wellness Centre at the Hotel was free to use and open from 3.00 pm until 7.00 pm, also very clean and inviting. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. The whole experience was a pleasure. The Family Michael Gstrein made themselves known to their guests on a number of occasions and we would like to congratulate them on their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrenny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    38
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
88
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lidingo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Lowely hotel with a friendly atmosphere, exelent food and wine, large rooms with comfortable beds and very, very clean. A great week with sun and fantastic skiing.
Many thanks to family Gstrein and the whole staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunilla49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have stayed in the Madeleine for skiing holidays many times over the last few years - the last being March 2014.

As usual we had an excellent stay - this really is a lovely hotel. The management and staff are all friendly and everything is top quality from furnishings to food! It doesn't have a swimming pool but the sauna suite and spa pool is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a fantastic week staying at the Hotel Madeleine from 22 March 2014. I definitely recommend this hotel and also skiing in Obergurgl, and hope to go back again soon!

The Madeleine is one of the best located hotels in Obergurgl and is a 3 minute walk to the 2 main lifts, Hohe Mut Bahn I Gondola or Rosskarbahn Charlift. Also just 1 minute from the bus stop, with regular buses to Hochgurgl or to Solden.

Good size clean and modern bedroom with everything you need on a ski holiday, including daily maid service. Lots of choice for breakfast, including some hot food, and excellent evening meals and great service throughout my stay. All hotel staff were friendly and welcoming from the moment I arrived.

Hotel has a nice bar and seating area to relax in after dinner. There is a good size ski and boot room with boot warmers. I never had time to use the spa facilities, although they looked very good too and I heard favourable reports from other guests.

Skiing conditions, especially on the high, quiet and wide slopes at Hochgurgl, were the best I've had for many years, which was helped by the heavy snow on the first day plus cold temperatures and sunny weather that followed. Make sure you pay the extra 10 Euro to upgrade your ski pass at the start of the week, so you can ski in Solden for 1 day (skiing on the glaciers was amazing!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil_Ski2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is our 12th yr.going to Obergurgl and this year we decided to change hotel to the Madeleine which was highly recommended by friends who had stayed there for two consecutive yrs.
We found the location very convenient for two main lifts,ski bus terminus for Hochgurgl and ski hire shops.The room we had was on the 3rd floor and was very well appointed,with separate w/c area,well fitted bathroom with heated towel rail ,bath with excellent shower,and a balcony which conveniently caught the mid afternoon sun - the servicing of the room each day was first class.
We found the breakfast selection to be very good with hot or cold food provided,evening dinner was 5 courses, superb and beautifully presented.
Ski and boot room was easily accessable on the 1st floor and exited by external stair.The adjecent intragal Pizza resturant proved valuable for lunch especially on our day of late departure.
All staff were welcoming,friendly,helpfull and polite,in conclusion we found it to be a very well run family hotel which we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterinverkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Super hotel located in the centre of the villiage. Easy access to both gondola stations ( take the free resort bus if you wish). On arrival we were warmly welcomed and given key to our room. We were on -4 which had good views of the valey mountain. Bed was most comfortable and room ideal size for our ski gear and personal effects. Bathroom and toilet very clean. Daily cleaner tidied up for us and made beds.
Breakfast was a usual mixture of British ( eggs and bacon ) + cold meats and cheeses. Cereal choices, breads and jams. Fresh juice and tea/coffee. A weather update was provided daily on your table. Evening meals were high quality and varied. If you fancy something from the restaurant next door which is connected to the hotel, ask the waitressess in the moring for the menu and select an alternative, we tried the pizza which was heaven.
Our daily beverages bill was left in our key hole which helped keep track of spending which was really useful, no suprises at check out. I drank the house white which was very nice.
Our only disappiotment was the daily ski snack, which was the same throughout the week.and somewhat limited
We were so lucky, on our first day it snowed over 12 inches and that made for spectacluar skiing for the remaining week. The boot staff at Schrieber were helpful when we needed our boots and skis fitted and we left the 5 euro ski pass deposit as a thank you.
The piste are well looked after and there many runs to keep you happy. We skied in Hochgurgl and few days which has great slopes as well as Obergurgl, it was nice to flit between the two, dependent on weather conditions.
The mountain hut provide a good menu and we mostly stuck to white beers and wine.
If you are a couple/family looking for a relaxed resort with a quite evening then go Obergurgl all the time. It is a bout a 1 3/4 hr tranfers but the journey passes quickly through beautiful scenery.
We would definately go back to the Hotel Madeleine.

Room Tip: we were on ground floor but were not dsiturbed by the road, infact we were not woken or distrubed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trikiviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middle england
Level Contributor
226 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our fifth visit which says something! The hotel maintains its charm and high level of service. Many of the rooms have been refurbished making them feel light and airy. It is very close to the lift system so very well located. The food continues to be of high quality with excellent presentation. The breakfast is everything you would wish for before a days skiing. The internet access is free but does not reach all of the bedrooms and requires a login each time it is used, which is annoying. Children are not supposed to be in the spa area but this rule is ignored so the relaxation is not as relaxing as it might be.
But to get us back there yet again they cannot be doing much wrong!!

Room Tip: All pretty much the same and we have now stayed in six different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine

Property: Hotel Madeleine
Address: Gurglerstrasse 116, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#2 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...The charmes of specialness! The wellness area at the Hotel Madeleine Lean back in a comfortable armchair. In front of you, a crackling fire. Feel the warmth. Savour the taste of your drink. The memories of a wonderful day out in nature will remain with you for a long time... Varied living. We will fulfil your every comfort wish. Our suites, apartments and rooms are appointed with a love of detail and personal involvement. Quality and sophisticated standards await you. Immerse yourself in the good feelings of relaxation and enjoyment. Regenerate and reconnect in our leisure area. At the Madeleine**** the sun shines even on cloudy days. Our wellness area is equiped with infrared cabin, whirlpool, steam bath, finnish sauna, biosauna, ice fountain, warm relaxing seats, relaxing area and vitamin bar. We are looking very much Forward to welcome you at the ****Madeleine! Yours Family Michael Gstrein and the whole staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing