We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Josl Mountain Lounging
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a fab time in Obergurgl and would highly recommend this hotel for many reasons...

Short walk (within minutes) to ski lift, ski hire shop and ski school meeting point

Amazing food including breakfast and dinner. There was lots of choice for breakfast and the evening meals were divine. There aren’t that many places to eat out in Obergurgl so if you’re looking for delicious evening meals this is a great place to stay.

The décor is contemporary but cosy; we particularly liked the large open fire in the hotel lobby.

The staff were all lovely and extremely helpful.

Nice bar and extensive bar menu.

Be sure to go to the Nederhutte for après ski as this is definitely the best place to go! There is a live band most nights and everybody dances on the tables and chairs, the place is always packed and has a great atmosphere.

The only down side to Obergurgl is the night life in that there is none. If you’re happy to ski and après ski only then this is the place for you.

This is a great place to learn to ski if you’re a beginner! We only had one lesson in a snow dome before we came but by the end of the week thanks to our brilliant ski instructor Guido we were confidently skiing blue runs and couldn’t believe what we had managed to achieve in such a short space of time. We will definitely be coming back to Obergurgl for learning.

Overall our holiday experience in Obergurgl was amazing, we were very sad to leave and will definitely be back next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    25
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Our 4th year in a row at the Josl. Sad to learn that Katarina and her family had sold out to new Russian owners last summer, but fortunately kitchen, bar, restaurant and housekeeping staff have not changed. Food is excellent, Austrian wines are superb. Moijica (excuse the spelling!) Hofer the head waitress is an absolute treasure.

Location could hardly be better - a 20 metre walk to the slopes!

Plans to add another floor to the spa area and include a pool/jacuzzi are welcomed, but just hope the new owners don't alter the winning formula.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su51jsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Not really sure what the Hotel Josl is trying to be. The waitressing, bar and room staff were all very good and friendly but the major drawback was the manager and reception team- everything seemed too much trouble and we were made to feel unwelcome. The hotel charged for tap water and wifi (very poor wifi), the wine was very expensive, and the Josl Keller is a noisy nightclub. No-one bothered displaying a fresh weather report each day, they only do that once a week apparently which is not much use in a ski resort. The manager also seemed proud to tell us there was no luggage service to take our bags to our rooms- very unusual in an hotel charging these prices. Apparently the hotel used to be lovely but is under new ownership. The manager even told us that she did not want children in the hotel- we were on a family holiday with our two teenagers. Needless to say we spent most of our time out of the hotel. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Get a superior room as standards are very small. Higher floor might mean less night club noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
388 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

The ski area is our favorite and each year we have tried a different hotel. Joshl is compact, in a perfect location close to lifts and a part of this small, quiet village's night life history. Wellness area is on the top floor with beautiful views as the sun sets behind the mountains. Key negative points are the smoking in the bar lobby that detracts from a healthy ski atmosphere and music from the night club that could be heard in our first floor room. Meals were fine, but not exceptional and small extras like water and a cappuccino at breakfast are charged extra, which is annoying. Overall price is good for the area, staff are very friendly and we would return, especially as a top floor outdoor/indoor pool will be added by summer 2013.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Spent our third ski holiday in Obergurgl choosing this modern hotel as a change from the normal pine clad Austrian fare. An excellent choice for us with only a couple of minor, petty gripes........the shower head dripped slightly in the night and they served pork and veal in different guises a couple of times during the week !! It really is for us, difficult to fault the Josl. This hotel is probably one of our all time favourites and we have been to many !! It is a refreshing change to the old style Austrian hotels and the wonderfully relaxed, yet sophisticated feel to it, adds to its overall appeal. The staff were all friendly, helpful and quietly professional on all levels. We do not approve of smoking, so we thought the smoking policy in the lounge bar would be a problem. To be fair it wasn't, as only a few people smoked whilst we were there. Smoking occurs in many of the bars in Obergurgl, so it is not an isolated case. Our room was on the upper floor and was excellent, beds were a delight and the pillow choice, fascinating to say the least !! Food was really impressive, with a wide choice for breakfast and the afternoon tea, marvellous. Access to the piste and centre of the village is perfect, just outside the door !! A band called 2FM played one evening in the bar and were very good playing a range of covers making for a great night in !! Would return without any doubt, just hope that next season after the pool is added to the spa, that the price doesn't rise too much, if at all !!

Room Tip: Pay for the most expensive you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel in January for 5 days and had a wonderful time. The service was great, everybody was super friendly and helpful. Food was very nice and diverse and well presented. Spa was good and calming and with the future addition of the pool will be great. Rooms were pretty small and beds only big enough for honeymooners. But nicely decorated. Over all we had a great experience and fun time and hope to returne again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkglauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have just returned from great holiday in the josl hotel. The hotel provided a comfortable and relaxing environment and a great base to enjoy the skiing in obergurgl. the hotel is situated in a quiet end of town where very little traffic passes just next to the slopes. I would split my comments into positives with only a few negatives which were not too much of a problem. firstly to food , which we could only describe as excellent and looked forward to each evening with very efficient waitress, nothing was too much trouble. bar area comfortable and bar staff very friendly and efficient. The room lived up to expectations very modern and glass bathroom area unusual but no problem, TV had plenty of English channels to chose from. Another positive was the entrance to to boot room just across the road from the slopes with boot warmers . Thursday evening enjoyed live music in the bar area. All the above outweighed the few negatives on this trip. firstly no tea or coffee in room , on last morning left early for the flight and no facilities for tea prior to departure, ( did pack a snack but this was given to us the night before and no fridge in room. ) Reception does not open until 8 00 am we found when trying to leave was unable to access the boot room which was locked causing us to panic slightly wandering around a dark reception at 7.00 am everywhere locked including the toilets. If leaving early you need this information. would have been nice to have early breakfast as some other hotels do in this resort. all in all had a lovely holiday, and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crackerkeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mathiesn Hotel
Mathiesn Hotel
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
0.5 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#11 of 33 in Obergurgl
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josl Mountain Lounging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josl Mountain Lounging

Property: Josl Mountain Lounging
Address: Ramolweg 18, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#16 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#17 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Josl Mountain Lounging 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Josl Mountain Lounging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josl Mountain Lounging Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing