We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay submerged by snow.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Josl Mountain Lounging
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is our second visit to the 40 room Josl in Obergurgl We have stayed in the resort many times and for those who want a relaxing week in guaranteed snow without much shopping or nightlife,Obergurgl hasn't lost its magic There are less English visitors presumably because of the recession The Josl is in the perfect position for the slopes and is a charming but contemporary hotel For those with older teenage children, it has the only place to go at night in its cellar.The indoor / outdoor pool being added this summer will be a great addition.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Three days was far too few. The hotel is situated a stone´s throw from the Obergurgl Ski School and towards the end of Obergurgl. The facility appears to be recently rennovated, is in great shape, extremely clean, very modern, and has a lovely feel to it. The sauna area was fantastic and one of my favorite parts of my visit. Not only is it clean, and well presented but it provides an incredible view from their cool down/relaxation area out over the city and of the peaks at sunset. It has a modern ski/gear room which is easily accessed and an assortment of bar and evening facilities.

My room was good and the bathroom in particular was well designed. My single bed was comfortable but ever so slightly harder than I like. Still, I slept perfectly. Both meals provided- breakfast and dinner were delicious. The quality of the dinner meals were consistant and a great way to recharge after a day on the slopes.

The staff were fantastic. They all knew my name/face by the second day, were responsive, followed up with me regularly and were extremely helpful. I was very, very impressed by their level of service, especially that of the day-manager who was excellent. .

Great location, great facility, great staff, great food.

Room Tip: Sunset from the Sauna´s relaxation area after a sweat in the sauna is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We travelled to the Josl in Feb 2010, and despite not normally re-visiting somewhere (we like to try new places) three years later, Feb half-term 2013, we went back, no doubt because it was so good last time.

Location
Miles from the UK if you’re driving (we did Eurotunnel to Calais) but virtually ski in/out once you’re there. There’s probably only 100m to go before you can stark skiing to the ski lifts, but less coming back due to a slight slope. Couldn’t be better really. We like Obergurgl/Hochgurgl and as advanced/intermediate skiers we thought it was nice and relaxing, but not taxing if you want to get lots of miles under your belt; however our priorities are for the overall holiday not just the skiing, the feeling and ambiance are what makes it for us not just how much skiing can we cram in. The resort is on the small side, but there is a cashpoint (Sparkasse Bank about 200m from the hotel) as well as a couple of ski/rental shops close, and a nearby Spar to get the holiday sweets for the people in the office when you get back home. Pretty much everything we needed.

Accommodation
As with our first visit 3 years ago our room was lovely, it was immaculately clean and the housekeeping staff were great and extremely efficient. It was nice to have access to some UK TV channels so we could keep up with UK news and we even had BBC1 so didn’t miss Holby City (sorry, how sad does that make us sound!). On a serious note this made a welcome change from having just CNN (yuk!) as the only English language channel. The hotel doesn’t do itself justice from the outside, or any pictures you see online/in a brochure, but as the original hotel was knocked down a few years ago and replaced with a modern alternative you’re not getting your typical alpine hotel with wood everywhere etc. For us this was a positive, as we both prefer the clean lines and right angles of the new place as opposed to what some people call ‘character’. This really was exactly the type of hotel that suits us and we had no complaints about the accommodation, not even one minor niggle.

Sky Sphere (wellness centre)
This was still amazing and as nice as we remembered. We loved the whole area and used it every day after skiing. We still can’t understand why people take towels into a steam room (they get wet in 30 seconds) but each unto their own. We think the new 5th floor development that is planned (additional facilities, think you can see plans on the hotel website) sounds like it’ll be a worthy addition to the hotel. Note to people not used to wellness centres in Austria: this is for over 16s only and 95% of people are naked in the saunas and steam rooms – you get a fluffy white bath robe in your room, and slippers, which people wear in the general wellness area, and plentiful towel, but get used to leaving them on the peg outside when you go into the steam room, and taking just a towel to sit on in the sauna. Thought I’d mention it as even though it’s not an issue you might like to avoid shock on your first time, especially as ‘us Brits’ can be a little reserved at times. In reality no-one bats an eyelid and there are all shapes and sizes there, and you really can say to someone in the bar later “sorry, I didn’t recognise you with your clothes on!” 

Bar
As with our last visit 3 years ago this was a nice place but spoiled by smoke; we are non-smokers so this is an issue for us. It was mentioned when we checked out that a ‘Winter Garden’ was being planned which will hopefully make things better if the smokers are kept out of the main bar. I pity the reception/bar staff if they don’t smoke as it can’t be good for their health. As we were generally tired, once we’d returned from skiing, used the Sky Sphere and eaten, we were pretty much ready for bed so not using the bar didn’t really affect us, because we’re moderate drinkers and were there as a couple not part of a group, it was easy to avoid the smoke.

Restaurant
This was fantastic. The staff, particularly Frau Hofer (?) were really friendly and charming, and it was nice to see her still there as we remembered her from our previous visit, and she us. The only negative is the price you pay if you want bottled water with your meal (still or sparkling) which is in our opinion shocking, and they won’t provide a jug of ‘table water’ either. Our advice would be to hydrate fully in your room before you eat otherwise the next morning at breakfast you’ll be asked to sign the previous day’s bar bill and you may get a wee shock – can’t remember exactly but it was something like Euro 4,20 for a 0.7l bottle. On the upside the Austrian house wine (250ml jugs) is surprisingly good and much cheaper than a bottle or glass of anything else from the menu – the red is particularly good, we liked it a lot  The food was really great quality, and you can’t fault the portions or what is made available. This really is a nice place to eat.

Ownership
The hotel has changed hands since our last visit, and we can honestly say that apart from noticing the lack of a rather unhelpful person from 3 years ago (I won't say more except we asked for assistance with something and she point-blank refused which was a bit of a let-down) the entire staff from reception, bar, restaurant, and housekeeping were fantastic. Everyone was friendly, had smiles on their faces, and treated us really well.

Overall
Overall our experience was brilliant: the staff, our room, the food, the Sky Sphere (top floor wellness centre) were all as good as we remembered. It was a long journey as we're suckers with a short memory as to exactly how far a drive this is from the UK, but the moment we arrived we were relaxed. The negatives were minor in comparison to the overwhelming positives, and despite having been there twice now we may well find ourselves back a third time in the future (but we won’t drive again, despite saying the same last time).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iank1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We've just returned from our third visit to Obergurgl & our third stay at the Josl. This hotel is first rate. Small enough to mean that service - across the board - is personal, but large enough to offer all the facilities one could wish for. The addition of a pool and a remodelling of the spa areas due to be in place before the next winter season will only add to the experience. We love the modern style of the bedrooms and the lounge/bar area. The range of options at the breakfast buffet is superb and the dinners are exceptionally good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliadarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a fab time in Obergurgl and would highly recommend this hotel for many reasons...

Short walk (within minutes) to ski lift, ski hire shop and ski school meeting point

Amazing food including breakfast and dinner. There was lots of choice for breakfast and the evening meals were divine. There aren’t that many places to eat out in Obergurgl so if you’re looking for delicious evening meals this is a great place to stay.

The décor is contemporary but cosy; we particularly liked the large open fire in the hotel lobby.

The staff were all lovely and extremely helpful.

Nice bar and extensive bar menu.

Be sure to go to the Nederhutte for après ski as this is definitely the best place to go! There is a live band most nights and everybody dances on the tables and chairs, the place is always packed and has a great atmosphere.

The only down side to Obergurgl is the night life in that there is none. If you’re happy to ski and après ski only then this is the place for you.

This is a great place to learn to ski if you’re a beginner! We only had one lesson in a snow dome before we came but by the end of the week thanks to our brilliant ski instructor Guido we were confidently skiing blue runs and couldn’t believe what we had managed to achieve in such a short space of time. We will definitely be coming back to Obergurgl for learning.

Overall our holiday experience in Obergurgl was amazing, we were very sad to leave and will definitely be back next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Our 4th year in a row at the Josl. Sad to learn that Katarina and her family had sold out to new Russian owners last summer, but fortunately kitchen, bar, restaurant and housekeeping staff have not changed. Food is excellent, Austrian wines are superb. Moijica (excuse the spelling!) Hofer the head waitress is an absolute treasure.

Location could hardly be better - a 20 metre walk to the slopes!

Plans to add another floor to the spa area and include a pool/jacuzzi are welcomed, but just hope the new owners don't alter the winning formula.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su51jsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Not really sure what the Hotel Josl is trying to be. The waitressing, bar and room staff were all very good and friendly but the major drawback was the manager and reception team- everything seemed too much trouble and we were made to feel unwelcome. The hotel charged for tap water and wifi (very poor wifi), the wine was very expensive, and the Josl Keller is a noisy nightclub. No-one bothered displaying a fresh weather report each day, they only do that once a week apparently which is not much use in a ski resort. The manager also seemed proud to tell us there was no luggage service to take our bags to our rooms- very unusual in an hotel charging these prices. Apparently the hotel used to be lovely but is under new ownership. The manager even told us that she did not want children in the hotel- we were on a family holiday with our two teenagers. Needless to say we spent most of our time out of the hotel. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Get a superior room as standards are very small. Higher floor might mean less night club noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#15 of 33 in Obergurgl
107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
#2 of 4 in Hochgurgl
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#9 of 33 in Obergurgl
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josl Mountain Lounging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josl Mountain Lounging

Address: Ramolweg 18, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#16 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#16 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: £269 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Josl Mountain Lounging 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Josl Mountain Lounging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josl Mountain Lounging Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing