We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I agree, lovely hotel ruined by new management.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Josl Mountain Lounging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Josl Mountain Lounging
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I agree, lovely hotel ruined by new management.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

As the previous reviewer has explained this once welcoming hotel has been ruined by poor new management who only seem to be comfortable with german speaking customers.

The christmas eve gala dinner.......the dinner itself was a shambles, waiting over 2 1/2 hours for the main meal. As we dont tend to eat 5 courses every night we regularly only ate salad and main meal each night followed by cheese plate. However on christmas eve the salad bar and the cheese board disappeared, with only meat or fish options being available. After nearly 3 hours of just a small vorspeise and an inedible main meal we left the restaurant and seriously considered trying another restaurant to get something to eat. The cheese board usually the saving grace of poorly thought out menus still had not appeared although we had been told it would arrive ' later'.

The waiting staff were pleasant enough but just inexperienced and therefore unfortunately a little incompetent and with no one seemingly in charge,
The daily service in the restaurant was a shambles, with constant checking and rechecking what had been ordered for dinner, courses turning up at the table that had literally 3 minutes earlier been declined, bottled water failed to show up resulting in having to order new bottles then at the end of the meal the bottle from the previous night suddenly arriving at the table.

On the final day completely out of the blue a vegetarian menu arrived for one of us, even though it hadnt been requested and fish had been eaten throughout the week when offered on the menu.
Apparently if you are vegetarian, this means you can only eat fruit as dessert and the usual tarte are not an option. Small things to complain at but when this becomes a daily occurrence it gets to become really annoying

The nightly closing of the Keller at around 3.30am seemed this year to cause more of a disturbance than in previous years, the clientele nightly screaming loudly as they leave. I am not sure if we were unlucky this time or if in previous years clientele were asked to leave quietly.

The usual departure details from crystal were not forthcoming due to a mix up at the front desk, so if you find yourself in this situation, have the patience to keep asking and eventually you will receive them hopefully before departure!

Its a shame, but we will be staying elsewhere when we return next year as the ski ing in Obergurgl is too good to not come back. I guess after 5 years its time for a change.

Room Tip: Higher floors or facing Gamper to avoid nightly being woken by revellers leaving Josl Keller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    25
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our 3rd visit it to Josl, there will not be a 4th, fabulous hotel ruined by new management.

Our 1st visit to Josl was in 2011, we had a marvellous time, the hotel was family run, everything was perfect; lovely rooms, superb food and excellent welcoming service. We returned in Dec 2012, I was a bit concerned that the hotel was no longer family run and was under new ownership, when we arrived many of the excellent original staff were still there and running a tight ship. Monica, head waitress, recognised us and made us feel very welcome, the food and service was still excellent. Prices had risen but we still thought the we were receiving value for money.

We have just come back from our 3rd visit, what a difference, I feel I should write this review as we were so looking forward to this holiday, which was at considerable cost, and feel I should let other travellers avoid such disappointment.

Pros:
* The rooms are still lovely and spotlessly clean
* The Wi-Fi is now free of charge

Cons:
* There was no longer a welcome atmosphere.
For example when we arrived, we were shown to our room and we had to take carry own luggage to our room, which I would not normally mind. However when a Germany couple arrived they were given a champagne welcome, an introduction of the services/facilities etc and their luggage was taken to their room. At dinner we were asked by the head waiter if we would like an aperitif of prosecco before our meal, to which we replied 'thank you very much' , as the way he worded it it seemed that it was complementary, we were surprised to receive a bill the next day at breakfast for €13.60 and to add insult to injury it was only a 3rd of a glass.


* The service is an absolute shambles

The head waitress Monica, who had been with the hotel many years and who ran the dinning room impeccably, was no longer there.

The service was incredibly slow, for example on the 2nd night we were ignored for 45mins by the waiter who could clearly not cope, he looked down at the floor to avoid any eye contact with diners. When he eventually came over to acknowledge our presence, he cleared our salad starter plates, which was self service, and we asked for drinks and English menus (only German menus were available at breakfast, the waiter could not tell us in English what the options were that we were supposed to choose from at breakfast). We eventually received the menus and drinks having to remind him a further time as he had forgotten and then he told us to help ourselves to salad, for which he had cleared our plates earlier. The main course was a very small mediocre single piece of pork medallion, this was the best meal, we had to wait so long we did not bother with dessert. I did feel sorry for the waiter, but then again at such an expensive hotel you would expect a competent level of service.

Every other night that we went down to dinner the service was very slow even by other members of staff (they have clearly cut costs by hiring in experienced waiting staff) we did not bother to go down to dinner on 2 evenings as we could not face waiting so long for the meal to then find out it was awfull.

* The quality and standard of food is very poor

On previous stays the quality and standard of food has been exceptional.
Management have clearly cut costs by sourcing substandard food.

A number of examples; there used to be a very impressive large wheel of Parmesan cheese on the salad table, which is no longer provided. One evening we were served a starter of heart and lung, which was disgusting, something out of a bush tucker trial . Other examples of main courses were tortellini in cream, which was pack tortellini in milk, which did not taste of anything, we had a couple of mouthfuls and left. Another night we were given veal, the veal was stringy and fatty and one piece tasted 'off', after waiting such a long time for awful food it was very frustrating, we did not bother to wait for desert.

* Very over priced drinks

Drinks are very overpriced, for example a large glass of house wine has now doubled to €10.40.
The waiters seem more concerned with taking drink orders rather than serving food.

* Very disorganised

Most mornings there were no English menus only German, on the rare occasion when there was one we chose our option of lamb and hoped it would be better than previous meals, later to find in the evening the menu had changed and we could not have our original order.

* Breakfast

Breakfast was generally fine, my only complaint was that the orange juice seem to run out very frequently.


In conclusion I feel that the new management are treating us as cash cows, their greed has ruined a lovely hotel. We did not see the point of complaining to the new management as we did not want a scene and we did not feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WynWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

All the positives that reviewers refer to still apply despite change of ownership since last year.I did notice that the age policy mentioned in the Crystal brochure seems to have changed\relaxed. There were more children under 12 than before. Not a big problem, but something to be noted if having no children around is one of the reasons for choosing the Josl.There was at least one occasion when one of the children was in the sauna area, despite the notice saying over 16 only.If the policy regarding children in general is changing perhaps it should be mentioned on web site and in travel brochures.
The staff ,particularly the three members from previous trips, were just as brilliant as before.The new people were great also, obviously taking their lead from retained staff.The food was well up to previous standard.The room staff were brilliant and kept the room spotless for the week.
We had no problem with noise but some other guests had horror stories of sleepless nights in rooms above the Cellar night club.This should be addressed by the new management.
The major problem was the smoking in the bar.There was music one night which we went to enjoy in the bar.There were 3 people smoking.One of these was smoking a large smelly cigar.After one drink we were forced to leave.There was a disgusting smell from our clothes and hair the next morning.Still cant understand why the"freedom" of so few is allowed to pollute the air of the vast majority of guests.Hopefully the building work to be started in Spring will include a smoking area for the very few who cause a health hazard for staff and guests.
Josl is a brilliantly located hotel with exceptional staff and facilities.When a non smoking policy is introduced it will warrant 5 circles!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have just returned to the Uk after a weeks stay at the Josl during a late season ski trip to Austria with Crystal ski.
Overall the hotel was extremely good and the food was superb at every mealtime - catering for all tastes often with a 5/6 course evening meal of great standard.
The hotel is "modern" by design and is ok but the main lounge is much smaller than the photos suggest and VERY uncomfortable furniture made worse by the Austrian smoking regime - often making the bar/lounge area impossible to sit in for any period of time.
The room (superior) was fine - plenty of room and very comfortable however the bathroom facilities comprised of a glass cube in the corner of the room which may not be ok for some people but for us was fine and the facilities therein were excellent.
Another personal -ve for me is being charged for WI FI access in the hotel when it is freely available in bars and other hotels in the town - including halfway up the mountain - for free
Please get real hotel people and just provide it
PS some other hotels in the town do not allow smoking in public areas

Room Tip: Superior at least and on the opposite side from the night club - very noist at 3am !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wightgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

After many years of returning to the Josl for our ski holiday- we returned yet again this year in early March and although we missed the family ,we found the hotel to be first rate as before.We found all staff from management down to be friendly polite and helpfull..We had a small problem on our first day which was quickly resolved and did not spoil our holiday.The Hotel location is ideal for the lifts,and we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: South facing room with a balcony on upper floor for the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterinverkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is our second visit to the 40 room Josl in Obergurgl We have stayed in the resort many times and for those who want a relaxing week in guaranteed snow without much shopping or nightlife,Obergurgl hasn't lost its magic There are less English visitors presumably because of the recession The Josl is in the perfect position for the slopes and is a charming but contemporary hotel For those with older teenage children, it has the only place to go at night in its cellar.The indoor / outdoor pool being added this summer will be a great addition.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Three days was far too few. The hotel is situated a stone´s throw from the Obergurgl Ski School and towards the end of Obergurgl. The facility appears to be recently rennovated, is in great shape, extremely clean, very modern, and has a lovely feel to it. The sauna area was fantastic and one of my favorite parts of my visit. Not only is it clean, and well presented but it provides an incredible view from their cool down/relaxation area out over the city and of the peaks at sunset. It has a modern ski/gear room which is easily accessed and an assortment of bar and evening facilities.

My room was good and the bathroom in particular was well designed. My single bed was comfortable but ever so slightly harder than I like. Still, I slept perfectly. Both meals provided- breakfast and dinner were delicious. The quality of the dinner meals were consistant and a great way to recharge after a day on the slopes.

The staff were fantastic. They all knew my name/face by the second day, were responsive, followed up with me regularly and were extremely helpful. I was very, very impressed by their level of service, especially that of the day-manager who was excellent. .

Great location, great facility, great staff, great food.

Room Tip: Sunset from the Sauna´s relaxation area after a sweat in the sauna is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#18 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mathiesn Hotel
Mathiesn Hotel
#24 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Angerer Alm
Hotel Angerer Alm
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#10 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josl Mountain Lounging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josl Mountain Lounging

Property: Josl Mountain Lounging
Address: Ramolweg 18, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#16 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#19 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Josl Mountain Lounging 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Josl Mountain Lounging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josl Mountain Lounging Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing