We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”
Review of Haus Gurgl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Gurgl
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Haus Gurgl is a friendly, clean, comfortable hotel. It is very well positioned for the ski lift and the rest of the town. The staff were excellent. Friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is plentiful. Belmonte is very good although very busy and we were suprised hotel guests were unable to make a reservation. Also, the bar was always over busy and apart from the bedrooms there is no other public space for guests to sit. However, on balance it was a good choice and we will have no hesitation returning to the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A good , clean , friendly bed and breakfast pension in Obergurgl. Having visited this resort twice now, i would go back to a hotel where meals are included. Restaurants are far and few between. The pizzeria, also owned by Haus Gurgl , which is underneath the property, is lovely, but not for 7 nights, it becomes a bit boring. When the weather is very bad i found this year all i wanted to do was go downstairs for my meal and this is when i missed going half board on a ski holiday. We booked bed and breakfast and were not offered the half board for meals at another hotel which other guests were as quoted on trip advisor.
There was one worry. Keys are left in the small reception during the day whilst the owner is not present. Anyone can walk into this pension and access the keys and go to the rooms. Surely this is not totally safe. The owner usually comes on duty at 5pm so all day keys left on show unguarded is a concern.
The sauna is lovely and there are towels provided. No bath robes so take your own.
Breakfast continental . On the menu was also scrambled egg. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We really liked this family run hotel, service was excellent, rooms were spacious and kept very clean. We opted for bed and breakfast which gave us the opportunity to try the local restaurants. Belmonte Pizza is part of Haus Gurgl with an excellent choice, provided either as a sit down or take away. Prices were better than France and Switzerland, so feeding a family of 5 was reasonable and the size of the meals were huge! Will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vodka&Limes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed at Haus Gurgl on a ski trip with friends and children and it was superb. It is a really easy walk from the nursery slope - almost ski-in-ski-out - and easy access to the town centre.

We were on half-board with dinner provided at a nearby hotel, the Alpenaussicht, which supplied a wonderful buffet and was really close, but we did eat dinner at Haus Gurgl one night. The pizzeria is cosy, pizzas amazing and Erich was a really charming host. We had drinks in the bar several times and it was really friendly.

Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty.

The boot room was large and warm and easy to access.

Our room was just fab - we were staying with our three kids and had what I can only describe as a mini-apartment with entrance hall with HUGE cupboards (ideal for all that ski gear), large bathroom with great oval bath and a separate shower, master bedroom and lounge/second bedroom (sleeper sofas for the kids) AND a mini-bedroom off this with a bunk bed. Room was clean and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a great family ski holiday base.

Room Tip: If you have kids try and get the room with master bed, twin sleeper sofas and bunk room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tkny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We had a lovely stay at Haus Gurgl. The rooms were of a very high standand and the owners were very accommodating. Our parents stayed at the Crystal Sportiv and I have to say that Haus Gurgle is heads and shoulders above that hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diveruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This family run hotel would be ideal if all you want is a small bed and breakfast. The hotel is very well cleaned and the rooms are an ample size. The breakfast served is a typical continental buffet, and the lady who serves you was extremly pleasant. We were let down by the lack of bar and no discount to eat in the hotel's pizzeria. The sauna was nice and very handy after a day on the slopes. We ate dinner across the road and unfortunately they thought we were two people instead of three, therefore for two days we had to eat in a separate room! Somehow after complaining they found us a table ! The resort is amazing and everyone is great. One of the best points about the hotel is there is a ski hire shop right next door and you are a 2min walk from the gondola to the top. Bars around obergurgl are very good and i recommend the 'cu bar' for their hot chocolate :) . I would really recommend obergurgl as a resort but not neccesarily the haus gurgly. Hochfirst looked amazing :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheltenhamfoodseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

This is a good 3 star hotel in quite a small but very freindly resort. The majority of hotels are 4 star because they have a restaurant, with half board at the Haus Gurgl you have to take a short walk over the road (Can't remember the name of the hotel)to have dinner, some go to the Eidelweiss depending on the travel agent. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable although the beds are double with single matress' so you do need to make sure that your room mate doesn't snore! The Hotel staff are really friendly and speak very good English.The T.V. has BBC1 and C4 so on a bad weather day (Or hangover) there is some entertainment. There is a good Sauna (No trunks allowed!) and solarium.
You can ski to the rear of the Hotel and there is a good Ski room with boot warmer. The Nederhutte(check out the web site!) is a brilliant Apres Ski destination on Monday/Wednesday and Friday nights with live music and plenty to drink.
Solden is a worthwile day trip and has some good bars and clubs.
I would definitely go back to the Haus Gurgl hotel.

  • Liked — good sized rooms and freindly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank funkymucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenaussicht
Hotel Alpenaussicht
#16 of 33 in Obergurgl
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#18 of 33 in Obergurgl
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lohmann
Hotel Lohmann
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Gurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Gurgl

Property: Haus Gurgl
Address: Gurglerstrasse 121, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus Gurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopening Winter 2014/2015Having inspired its guests for more than 20 years as a charming B&B, Haus Gurgl will reopen from November 2014 as a standard ski hotel offering unforgettable skiing holidays.Our family-run hotel with a capacity for up to 70 guests is located right in the heart of the Ötztal Alps, at the entrance of Obergurgl which in turn is situated in the picturesque Obergurgl-Hochgurgl skiing and hiking region. Featuring 110 kilometres of perfectly groomed pistes serviced by a state-of-the-art lift system, the Obergurgl-Hochgurgl ski resort is considered to be one of the most snow-sure ski resorts in the Alps. Our hotel is located only 100 metres from the ski lifts in the centre of town and your last run will even take you right back to our hotel.With the hotel located right at the bottom of the ski resort’s final descent, all you need to do after a long day on the pistes is to unstrap your skis or board and put them in our heated storage room which is right in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Haus Gurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing