We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smokers Paradise, Non-smokers Hell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sailer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sailer
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smokers Paradise, Non-smokers Hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We did not actually stay at the hotel but went to meet family there. The smoke in the bar was vile and we could not stay for a drink. I am sure if you are a smoker you would love the facility but non-smokers should avoid.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slartibartfarst-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Sailer for 4 nights. It's in a great location close to the lifts, very clean with rooms made up every day. There is a ski room on the ground floor, with boot warmers in lockers which use your room key to work them. The only issue for me was the smoking in the bar, which reminded us of the pubs in England pre-ban. It's a plus if you're a smoker!

Not sure the owner is rude as in other reports, he just doesn't speak English. Anyhow he allowed us to keep a room until 4pm on our departure day, run a tab, and the other guys working in the hotel were helpful.

Would I stay here again. Yes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antnic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

such a rude owner which I ever saw. He simply shout on me as I did check out at the end of the day and not at 11:00. But, guess what, I did ask his employee if he needs me to pay now or later and he told me to come back at the end of the day. We also took our stuff from the room early in the morning.
he simply didn't want to listen.
terrible experience. That why trip advisor exist...beware.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

The owner off this hotel is very rude. Although we made a reservation and told the owner that we would arrive late he did not take notice. He told us to look for an other hotel and we were to late, it was 2 o'clock in the morning. It was a suprise trip for my father and did not start so well. It is a shame that this guy owns this hotel in one off the best places in town. The breakfast waiter was not very frendly as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosa01188582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

The hotel is OK, very 80's but clean and rooms OK sized. Location great but issue is the owners who are really really rude and unhelpful.

Told us we could not arrive after 10pm even though our plane only landed in Munich @ 9 and other guests were arriving at 11.

promised us the use of a shower on our last day after check out when we had finished skiing and once paid said they would not do that, and we had 5 rooms so paid nearly €2500 for 5 days!! Just very very unhelpful people

Would not go back simply because of them

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We had reserved 2 nights at this hotel, but the owner was extremely rude and told us we had keept other guests awake??? What? We are two middle age people, and we also heard noise, but the owner would not listen. Nerveless we checked out!
The location is in the pedestrian area with lots of noise at night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkierOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

Have been to St Anton 4 times in the last 5 years, so it's fair to say that I love the place. Go with the boys, so only really need a bed to rest my weary head.

The Hotel Sailer has got to have one of the best locations in St Anton. At 95EUR a night B&B, I thought it was OK value for money bearing in mind its location.

The location however is its best attribute. The bedroom was a decent size and clean and comfy. The bathroon however was pretty dated. In addition the Stube downstairs is where a lot of the ski instructors meet at the start and end of the day and boy do these guys like to smoke. Coming from a country where smoking has been banned in public places for a couple if years, this was a right shock to the system. The place absolutely stank of cigarette smoke.

In addition the manager and waiter were more interested in seeing to the needs of the locals rather than the hotel guests. This is so far removed from the usual Tyrolean hospitallity.

Some of the lads we were away with stayed at the hotel next door and this was absolutely awesome. Only completed in Dec 2007 and was first class and they only paid 75 EUR per night - an absolute steal! Won't disclose the name though for very selfish reasons - sorry folks!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smoke and unattentive staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boabski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#13 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haus Acksteiner
Haus Acksteiner
#12 of 116 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Angelika
Hotel Angelika
#96 of 116 in St. Anton am Arlberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pepis Skihotel
Pepis Skihotel
#7 of 116 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ehrenreich
Hotel Ehrenreich
#102 of 116 in St. Anton am Arlberg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sailer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sailer

Property: Hotel Sailer
Address: Dorfstrasse Nr. 4, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sailer 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sailer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sailer Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing