We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town but otherwise excellent ski base”
Review of Alpenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpenhof Hotel
Reviewed 26 February 2012

WHY?:We chose this hotel because the half-board rate was lower with our skitour operator than those located in downtown St Anton.

LOCATION: This hotel is located a little way above/beyond the main village/gondola area. It was very easy to get to/from the the hotel in daytime via the free city bus. After 6:30pm a bus ticket was €3.50 or taxi €12. Walking downhill to the village will take only 10 mins, but uphill with skis/boots when the path is icy would take 20 mins and the saving isn't worth the effort. The bus-stop is conveniently located outside the door. Buses to the adjoining resort of Zurs also stop here and take 30 mins.

According to staff, the hotel is not typically accessible by ski unless you are expert and know the area very well. Having checked maps, it might have been shorter to walk from the Mooserweg apres-ski area instead of attempting to walk from the village.

DECOR: The hotel has a traditional alpine wooden decor which I found attractive and cosy.

CHECKIN: Arrived at 12noon and a room was available.

ROOM: Our compact room was at the back of the hotel on the first floor, without a balcony and overlooked by a neighbouring house. We had two single beds, with just enough space to move around. Beds were comfortable but not luxuriant. Very little views. It was one of the rooms with a shared bathroom which was a short distance down the corridor, but it appeared as if all other guests on our floor had their own bathrooms.

ATMOSPHERE: Relaxed and friendly. Comfortable. The stairs were very comfortable to walk on for tired and sore feet. The hotel was full with many happy guests. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

FOOD: Had breakfast buffet and also dined in most evenings. Breakfast was served from 8am only so it was not possible to be first on the slopes when lifts opened at 8:45. The lack of evening meal choice was no problem, and the menu was provided in the morning so you could decide on your evening plans. Staff also made it clear we could ask if we wished to have them prepare an alternative. Would have liked to spend more time in the basement bar but

INTERNET: Wifi was available in the reception area but intermittent in our room. Didn't use it because it was costly - €6 per day.

AGAIN? Yes, the distance from the lifts was very little disadvantage even when going to the village in the evenings. Better value than the central hotels.

Room Tip: Front-room with a balcony and views across the valley to the Rendl ski area but cost more, I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rye1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2010

At first the location seemed a little out of town (10 min walk) but this wasn't a major problem due to their free shuttle bus to the lifts each morning. Also the free ski-bus stops outside the door every 10 mins and taxi's cost about 8 euros (up to six people+skis). The staff are incredibly helpful, the rooms basic but cleaned each day and have plenty of storage space. The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere; we stayed there every evening after dinner, having had a blast of apres-ski in town each day. There is a nice saune available each afternoon and the smartest-warmest ski room I've ever laid eyes on with heated boot inserts and sliding ski-racks! The breakfasts are more than adequate with tea,coffee,juice,cereal/fruit salad/yoghurt,an array of cheeses, meats and unlimited boiled/scrambled eggs. Although there is no choice of evening meal, each day was different and tasty. Usual format; a soup, salad bar, main of meat/fish with veg and potatoes with dessert to finish. Absolutely no complaints at all, especially at the price. The owner and staff can't do enough for you and sometimes even join in the fun in the downstairs bar with shots of schnaps etc. We are planning another trip here with a bigger group next year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barry_In_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

I stayed with a friend at the Alpenhof for one weeks ski holiday which we had booked through a Company called Direct Ski. Having chosen the hotel because of the half board rate advertised in the package, we were both very disappointed with the quality and choice of food. We had both lived in Germany before and had spent a number of holidays skiing in Austria, so we knew generally what to expect from Austrian cuisine...

Breakfast was the standard choice of meats, cheese and scrambled eggs that you find in most Austrian hotels, however dinner was something else. It consisted of the standard Austrian Salad bar, a starter and main with a sweat, but no choice what so ever except what salad to pile on you plate to compensate for the terrible food. For example, one evenings meal comprised sliced artichokes covered in vinegar for the starter, for the main a thin slice of pork covered
by an unidentifiable green sauce with a tiny scoop of potato, then to finish off, a couple of rings of tined pineapple sprinkled with brown sugar, glazed and served with a tiny portion of sorbet. This example was typical of the evening meals and we decided after the third night to spend the rest of the week eating out.

On the good side, the room were clean and the maid did a good job of negotiating the piles of smelly ski kit left around the room. The hotel shuttle service to the ski lifts was ok, but if the driver ever smiled I missed it. There was also an extremely efficient and regular resort ski bus service to and from the bus stop outside the hotel.

This hotel is in desperate need of modernisation, its decor is stuck in the 1930's, but if ugly wood panelling and water stained pictures
is your thing you will be in heaven. The rooms were ok for size but only had a shower, so if you wanted a bath you needed to walk down the corridor. Also, there was no TV in the rooms, the hotel apparently thinks that a good substitute is a 1970's radio cassette player.

The best memory of the place was the receptionist, Bettina, although she had failed the Austrian 'welcome host' humour test, she was a certainly a site for sore eyes.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank colin_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Saya171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GianP1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: found an alternative!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecobravo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
2.8 mi away
Tirolerhof
Tirolerhof
#55 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alkira
Alkira
#39 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Banyan
Hotel Banyan
#23 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
128 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#25 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Hotel

Address: | Triendl. Fam, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria (Formerly Chalet Alpenhof)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 57 Hotels in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: £80 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpenhof Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Alpenhof Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing