We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed, private bath and food”
Review of Alpenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhof Hotel
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bed, private bath and food”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Came to St. Anton in 2014 with a ski group from New York. Thirty five adults with lots of baggage and spirit. The hotel was adequate. The staff was very kind and accommodating to our requests and needs. Our costs for the trip was all inclusive so I really don't know the breakdown if it was a deal. Anyways, the place is tired, dark but clean. The carpeting in the bedrooms and all rooms was thin and worn after years of ski boots and gravel. Baths were clean and compact but our lighting was broken. We had a large tub shower but other couples had only a tub or stand up shower stall. Lighting in rooms was low light or overhead ceiling glow. Our room had a new flat screen TV to watch the Olympics and maybe CNN in English if the remote was programmed. You can do it yourself if you are so inclined. We were not there to watch TV but the Olympics were on so it was nice to watch the games live in the AM. The food..... I'm a cook so I will agree it was edible but not exciting. We were all tired from a full day of skiing so we stayed in for dinner most nights. Do NOT order the Racquelette/Fondue special order. Go downtown if you want to experience a racquelette meal!!! Served only in the basement lounge which is hot, smoky and dark. Breakfast was good but always the same. You won't see fresh fruit so practice eating canned fruit before you arrive. No sweet rolls was disappointing. A few reminders of what to bring. Shampoo/Conditioner, soap. Hair dryer is provided. Convenient to town by bus but you can walk if you have good walking shoes. Free shuttle to town is provided but explore using the bus system. Bus 92 takes you to Loch in comfort and is cheap. Cabs are expensive. On a positive note, we had great night sleeps!!! Fresh linens everyday and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ski4fun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great staff, great service (dining room and private shuttle), great location (10 min walk from Zentrum and the basement door gives on the bus stop!), large room (large enough for 2 persons plus huge ski and boot bags). I strongly recommand this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week in feb 2014 and after last years luxury in Switzerland this hotel would have a lot to live up to, and it passed with flying colours. Stayed on a half board basis in a group of 13 guys, rooms were clean and fairly modern , staff couldn't have been more helpful and food was good every night although only one choice. Hotel has sauna steam room and jacuzzi and also a free shuttle to the slopes in the morning or the ski bus stops right outside. St anton has to be one of the best apriski resorts I have been to and although linked by bus skiing was great to. Only negitive I would add is it would have been nice to be a bit closer to the town

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontyclun wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel Feb 2012. A family run hotel who were helpful and pleasant but the hole was run down with thread bare carpets and towels which were only fit to be rags. The food was totally in inedibile, there was no choice and the portions miniscule. We were so glad there was a salad bar. We were a on ski package and I noticed that in the restaurant the food served to the public seemed as if it was from another planet. Given that we paid a fair amount of money I feel that we were conned.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidemon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

As part of a Neilson ski package and you are never sure what to expect! But the Alpenhof exceeded our expectations, with a warm welcome, good food and a relaxed environment. Dont underestimate the location; it may be high above the village but essentially has its own private skibus stop, 'literally' 10m from the skiroom door. Add an excellent free lift transfer in the mornings and a nice sauna/steam room/jacuzzi and this is as pleasant a small hotel as you will find. Its not the Alte Post or the Schwarzer Adler, but if tgars what You want, then go pay their prices. Its lovely and we would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We booked our trip to St Anton last minute and chose this hotel because it was one of the only hotels we could find with a vacancy. We were not sure what to expect but we were happy with the hotel when we arrived. Room was fine, see pictures.

Breakfast: Various cheese, homemade bread, meats, yogurt, Nutella, cereal, eggs

Transportation:
Downtown is 15-20 min walk. Free ski shuttle to St Anton stops directly in front of the hotel. There is also a paid shuttle to Lech/Zurs area. Your St Anton ski pass is valid in Lech/Zurs area and we recommend heading over there for a day during your trip to do the White Ring. You may need to be aggressive flagging down the ski shuttle or it will drive right past you while you stand at the bus stop.

The hotel also offers its own shuttle to town. They also drove us to the train station on our way home.

There is a room in the basement to store your skis & equipment.

There is no soap in the bathroom, so bring your own.

No free internet but the ski shops all have it

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel last March for one week and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were basic but clean and even the shared bathroom wasn't a problem (no waiting lines or left towels in the bathtub). Our rooms were on the hill side, so a bit more quiet than the road side ones.

The staff is very friendly (on request they arranged fresh bread take-away on our departure) and take good care of their guests. The 'Bier Keller' is a cosy, but old-fashioned bar where drinks are served until 23:00. We booked half-pension, so breakfast and evening dinner was included. The food was, compared to the money we paid, decent and filling. The prices for beer or wine are also reasonable. We didn't use the steam bath / sauna, but other (Swedish) guests told us it was quite good.

Every morning the hotel taxi bus transfers you (until 11:00) between the ski lifts and the hotel. If your lucky they will even drop you off during the day if they go out for grocery shopping themselves. To the village center is a 20 minutes-walk, so put on your snow hat when it's cold at night!

We will definitely visit this hotel again when we go for skiing in St. Anton. As said by the other reviewers, this is a clean and good value for money hotel. By the way: don't expect 5 stars service when you are paying for 3 stars....

Room Tip: Roms on the hill side (opposite road side) are quieter. There's no elevator, so maybe you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RutgervDijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.8 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Garni Ernst Falch
Hotel Garni Ernst Falch
#6 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Genusshotel Das Sonnbichl
Genusshotel Das Sonnbichl
#15 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Banyan
Hotel Banyan
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sporthotel St. Anton
Sporthotel St. Anton
#17 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Hotel

Property: Alpenhof Hotel
Address: | Triendl. Fam, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria (Formerly Chalet Alpenhof)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpenhof Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Alpenhof Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing